We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Moby's Pub

Moby's Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Moby's Pub is a great place for gathering with friends! Enjoy the stellar harbour views, catch the big game, celebrate an event, or dance to your favourite band! Moby's Pub is perfect for any day!
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went here for dinner one night and ended up being wing Wednesday. We ate our way through several different varieties of wings, which were very tasty. It also happened to be a sing-along night which was highly entertaining. The waitstaff is fantastic and really friendly. Definitely worth a visit and a good view too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I'm glad you had a great time... Yes SONGJAM is getting really popular for us on Wednesdays...
It's a great atmosphere and so much fun! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    126
    40
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Solid pub fare great service”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The service was excellent. Food was usual pub fare and good. Great location
My son and I like an adult beverage and they had our favourites Hoyne for me and Molson's for him

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vicvolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Well, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit... Stop by again on your next visit to Salt Spring...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
716 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“fast service, friendly, good food, nice view of water”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

its good value, good service, great menu. right over looking the harbour. I had the baked macaroni , my friend had the clubhouse

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for the great review! Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Proper pub fare”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Popped in for a Saturday evening something and we were happy to have amazing Salt Spring Island mussels, some fish and chips and consistent service to go with the spectacular marina view. If I were to go back to the island, this would be my go to for straight forward good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I appreciate your kind words and will definitely share them with the staff... Our Chef, Ian Dufton, has made a big difference in the quality and consistency of the food. Hats off to him! Please stop in on your next visit to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really great food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

As other reviewers have noted, Moby's is under new management and what a positive difference this has made! After a considerable absence we've returned to try the lunch menu several times this year, and almost without exception the food has been superb. The regular menu has a great range of food choices from vegetarian to omnivore, and this is supplemented with a specials list that can be fairly extensive and usually quite imaginative. The food is fresh & delicious, and our top choice for lunch on Salt Spring.

The veggie burger is well worth trying, with great spicing from somewhere between the Middle East & India. The blue cheese burger is notable for having a topping of pulled brisket on top of the regular patty, to add great flavour and an extra dimension of texture. There are other great choices we've tried, too, from salads to desserts. The single disappointment has been the chicken wings.

The views are among the best on the island, looking straight down Ganges Harbour, and the lunch-time service has been excellent. The prices are slightly on the high side for a pub setting, but the quality more than justifies the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Entendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. As a regular customer, you feedback is especially important to me.
I hope that you have taken the opportunity to become a member of our lunch card program... This helps a little with the price. Please introduce yourself on your next visit and we can discuss chicken wings... Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby's Pub also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Moby's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing