We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A very nice B&B situated right on the water and easily accessible for kayaking. Colleen prepared and delivered tasty breakfasts each of the 4 mornings we were there. We were happy she allowed us ( 5 women! ) to stay together in the suite really meant for maximum of 4.
SaltSpring is such an interesting place to visit and as well as spending many hours on
the water kayaking, we did take time to explore both ends of the island and partake of
the many food items available, such as fresh bread, fresh tarts and good goat cheese.
A lovely time was had by all!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at the Bed and Breakfast a few weeks ago. It was our first visit to Salt Spring Island and we weren't sure what to expect, but it was lovely. The island itself is amazing, but so was our accommodation.

Colleen greeted us upon arrival and showed us our room: The Sunrise Suite. There was a kitchen, spacious living room, bedroom and bathroom and even access to a wonderful hot tub. Everything was provided: towels, coffee, tea, movies,... The breakfast was fantastic! Lots of delicious food.

We really enjoyed our stay and the service was wonderful!

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dark_Angl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were greeted warmly by our hosts, Colleen and Kevin, who are so knowledgeable and helpful in recommending restaurants and artists' studios as well as the famous Farmers' Market on Saturdays. The breakfasts were scrumptious and well presented with our perennial favorite being the Ginger Pumpkin Pancakes! The Adirondack lawn chairs called out for us to sit while watching ferries and sailboats in the distance. The kayak there provided us with exercise and new vistas on warm summer days. The beds are comfy and the robes cosy so one can just relax with a good book or video.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

what i wrote to Christine, the owner: The suite was PERFECT, comfortable, clean, and pretty. We very much enjoyed the hot tub each day and on Saturday I even got to eat my breakfast on the lawn chairs down by the water (was finally warm and sunny enough)! We walked the beach enjoying the purple and orange sea stars very much and kayaked numerous days right off your beach - once into Ganges harbour, once into long harbour, and one day out around past long harbour along the coast of the island itself. We hiked to the top of Mt Erskine, drove to the top of Mt Maxwell, hiked in Ryckle Park and ate at some wonderful places. We really like the Oyster Bar and Cafe, had one absolutely lovely meal (and so tasty!!) at Calvin's, tried the Treehouse (nice spot, didn't like that food that much), and loved Raven Street Cafe one evening. Thanks for your suggestions. On Friday we went out Whale Watching and saw lots of whales with Ian Gidney - what a great guy.
Thanks so much for hosting us (at such a great price!!) for a week (the banana bread was VERY good) while we completely forgot about our work at home!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C. Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My friend and I were feeling like we needed a break from our hectic lives, so we booked this B and B based on a recommendation from another B and B. I had an immediate connection with the hostess, Colleen. Upon arrival, Kevin ran the operation. He was very kind. We met a lovely couple from the states, and enjoyed a paddle in the kayak as well as a walk on the inn's beach. It was too hot to go in the hot tub, although we thought it looked inviting. The breakfast was phenomenal, served with lovely presentation. The room, which was decorated in a French style with lovely antique style furniture, had everything one could want: television, movies, small fridge, coffee and tea, our own private deck with a waterfront view, and a jacuzzi bath tub. It was very quiet there, and the bed was soooo comfortable, I slept like I was at home. We have come back to our crazy everyday existence, refreshed and wishing we could have stayed longer.
We enjoyed the offbeat vibe of Saltspring, and had two enchanting evenings being entertained by numerous folk and blues singers at the Tree House Cafe. That is probably one of the best kept secrets around, that only Saltspringers and special guests can take in, and Colleen was kind enough to let us in on their little secret. Thanks Colleen and Kevin. Good luck to you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cold lake alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This was a fantastic experience. We stayed here with friends and rented both of the two available rooms. Both rooms were clean and exteremly comfortable. Everyone found the beds to be unusually comfy. We stayed in the ocean suite which was the smaller of the two rooms. It had a private balcony overlooking the ocean with a picturesque view of the bay. It was avereage hotel room size but had lots of windows and was cheerful and well lit and very nicely decorated. It had a double jacuzzi tub in the bathroom excellent for sharing. Our room was extremely comfortable and private and we had a private entance.

Our friends stayed in the larger sunrise suite. It was more like a small apartment. It was on its own level towards the front facing the ocean. There was a private deck with a BBQ and the views from the room and deck were fantastic. The suite had a separate bedroom with a king size bed. Our friends said they had one of their best sleeps ever while travelling in the room.

The breakfasts (full meals not the continental mentioned in the website) were delicious.

Thre were lots of nice little extras here. Really fast high speed internet.movies the full breakfast, movies, bikes and theres a double kayak. We took the kayak out and it was SPECTACULAR. The owner was really nice and gave us all kinds of tips about the island.

Our favourite part though was spending hours on the front lawn sitting in the chairs under the arbutus tree looking out at the ocean. Either that or doing the same thing from the outdoor hot tub.

We will absolutely be going back and so will our friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrabblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This is a really pretty spot on Saltspring. The bay is very quiet and tranquil. Our room had a very picturesque ocean view. We had some utterly stunning sunrises. The suite was very comfortable- super comfy couch and bed. It has a mini kitchen and a private deck. Outdoor hot-tub is shared but private to the suite we had after 10 which was nice. The breakfasts were a nice surprise. They advertise continental but we got a hot entree every morning. Apparently they usually do this. The ginger pumpkin pancakes were fantastic and the hosts were really nice.

Our room was clean and had lots of little free extras movies, wireless, books etc...bikes and a kayak too. You can walk on the beach but it's rocky. Kayaking was amazing.

This was a very romantic spot

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodyguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
430 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
#4 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#9 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Address: 215 Welbury Dr, British Columbia V8K 2L7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Point Oceanfront B and B is a private, quiet oceanfront bed and breakfast offering many amenities for guests including private entrances, hottub, kayak, high-speed wifi, fireplace, kitchenette, barbeque and hot delicious breakfasts! We are located on a quiet Bay but also close to the town of Ganges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing