We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas holidays at Arbutus Point B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas holidays at Arbutus Point B and B”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The flowering plant growing beside the front door let me know that we had arrived at the perfect place for a winter retreat. What followed did not disappoint. The lovely views through the Blue Room suite windows to the water and trees were wonderful. Having complete access to the water for kayaking or just shore strolling was a highlight. Breakfast was tasty and Colleen was a perfect hostess, friendly and helpful but not intrusive on our privacy. The ambience was soothing and refreshing. All in all a great place for a time out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one Saturday night after a great trip to the Market held each weekend till the end of October. The cottage is lovely - very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and cozy. There is a living room with a gas fireplace, small kitchen with coffee and tea and a good sized bedroom with a very comfortable King bed. There is even a soaker tub in the bathroom. Out front is a good sized deck with a table & chairs and a hot tub, all looking out on the water. There are 2 Adirondack chairs on a grassy patch also looking out to the cove. Idyllic!
We spent a lovely evening enjoying local foods, sipping wine and watching a movie on the small TV in front of the fire. The couch is big and comfy & there are CD's, DVD's & books. A little home away from home. Colleen the host is a gracious & welcoming. She was so accommodating on our last-minute stay! Next morning we enjoyed a delicious frittata and fruit. Colleen very kindly made sure everything was gluten-free for my Celiac daughter. If I had one complaint, it was that we could not stay for a week!
The location is great - only 10 minutes from Ganges, facing a lovely cove & right by the Long Harbour ferry that goes to Vancouver. I would not hesitate to recommend Sunrise Cottage for a a lovely escape!

Room Tip: Sunrise Cottage is lovely and even has a murphy bed in the living room. Very quiet and private with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadicCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have been to Salt Spring a number of times and we have not found a B and B to beat this one. It's extremely charming. The location is ocean front but in a woodsy place. Colleen has very good taste in decor and she is an excellent cook. She is always ready to help with ideas and suggestions. The outdoor hot tub is lovely. It's a very romantic place.

Room Tip: The sunrise suite is the nicest with a small kitchenette and a living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed at Arbutus Point with my bf in June 2013 for a few days, while visiting Salt Spring Island. It was recommended to us by friends of us who live in B.C..

We got the Sunrise Suite and could not be happier about it! It's a really romantic location: you have your own private piece of garden and can watch the sunset there each night.
Service is excellent, both Colleen and her husband are at all times ready to answer every question, give tips about sightseeing in the neighbourhood etcetera!
Breakfast was freshly made, delicious and brought up to our room every morning at an hour of our choosing.
Arbutus Point is conveniently located very close (short drive by car) to Long Harbour, the ferry terminal where you arrive when coming from the mainland. Driving up to Ganges, the village and centre of Salt Spring Island takes max. 10 minutes.

We would certainly stay here again when visiting Salt Spring Island anew!

Room Tip: The Sunrise Room! Beautiful view at night, great terrace to enjoy breakfast on a sunny morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorine1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July. The first thing we noticed when driving there was that the property is for sale. (It will depend on the new owners whether or not this stays a B&B.) Colleen, who spoke with me when I made the booking, seems sweet. We didn't end up meeting her. Kevin, her husband, was the one who welcomed us and asked if there was anything we needed. He served us breakfast the next morning. It was lovely eating out on the deck with the water facing us. The omelets were chock full of veggies.
We did not think to ask if this is a nonsmoking property. We smelled cigarettes from the other guests outside.
Our room was comfortable and everything we used was in good working order. The bed mattress was very soft. Some drawers in the sink area need to be fixed, but this didn't affect us.
We think the price for staying here reflects the location rather than the room itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed at Arbutus four times. It is truly lovely and a very romantic place to stay. Very private, overlooking the water, surrounded by some very stately trees and yet still light and bright. The rooms are charming without being hokey and Coleen is a doll. She and her husband are always happy to help and their breakfasts are delicious. Be careful of the deer crossing the road on your way in!

Room Tip: The sunset suite is the nicest but every room is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have stayed at Arbutus Point on several occasions and love the proximity to Ganges (but yet on a quiet serene Bay)

We found the host to be very helpful in her recommendations and there are always little extras in the the large Sunrise suite. We especlally love the pumpkin ginger pancakes which are delivered when you like in the morning.

We love both Salt Spring and this B and B which is our home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BichonmomCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
421 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
#4 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Address: 215 Welbury Dr, British Columbia V8K 2L7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Point Oceanfront B and B is a private, quiet oceanfront bed and breakfast offering many amenities for guests including private entrances, hottub, kayak, high-speed wifi, fireplace, kitchenette, barbeque and hot delicious breakfasts! We are located on a quiet Bay but also close to the town of Ganges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing