We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wetherly Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wetherly Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My three girlfriends and I ended our wine tour of the Okanagon Valley at this gem of a bed and breakfast . The ferry ride to the island was interesting and as we started our drive to find our accommodations, our first thought was "Where are we?" We arrived at our destination to find aprox 30 acres of meadows, forest and gardens, Wetherly Inn is isolated and offers an elegant, adult-oriented retreat in the heart of Salt Spring Island — a perfect choice to enjoy a truly relaxing, luxurious and quiet time with friends. The gardens are done superbly. The accommodations are very tastefully done and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and prepared and served by the wonderful owners. The hiking, though can be strenuous, is beautiful with such clean air. At one point we were actually above the clouds! I Highly recommend this wonderful hideaway for friends, couples and those that want to hike and enjoy the beautiful outdoors in this area.

Room Tip: Each room has its own private bath and well appointed with private balconies overlooking the swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherly, Manager at Wetherly Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you Elaine - it was lovely to meet some Newfoundlanders here. Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
143
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladner, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We rely on Trip Advisor to find exceptional accommodations and the Wetherly Inn is truly a jewel on Salt Spring Island.
Our week in the cottage was spent hiking Mt. Maxwell, strolling the fabulous gardens and reading by the warm swimming pool :) The hot tub was also great for unwinding after exploring around the Island seeing the sights.
Samantha and Peter are the most gracious hosts one could hope for and we look forward to returning for another relaxing visit soon.
Be sure to give Waffle a scratch under the chin for us!

Room Tip: The Cottage is cosy and private. All of the lovely amenities are close at hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savagefineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherly, Manager at Wetherly Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for this review; it really was a pleasure meeting you both. And by the way, after you left we checked your website, and your art work is beautiful! Is it in any of the galleries on Salt Spring? All the best from Samantha, Peter and Waffle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I have visited the Wetherly Inn several times over the past few years. We just
love it and look forward to going back again. It is in a very beautiful and peaceful setting.
The en suite rooms have elegant decor, are very comfortable and all have fireplaces.
Starting the day with a tray delivered to our room with coffee/tea and cookies is perfect followed
by a delicious breakfast in the lovely diningroom overlooking the spectacular gardens.
Samantha and Peter and the perfect hosts and Samantha is always happy to part with her
recipies if asked.
The gardens cover about 5 acres and are beautifully landscaped with swimming pool, hot tub,
lily pond, waterfall and lake with a dock. There are also walking trails through the forest around
the gardens. Who could ask for more. It really is the most perfect spot to relax and be spoiled.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ONfornow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently stayed for a weekend at the Wetherly. Interestingly, when we asked for directions in nearby Ganges Harbour (note: cell phone reception for maps is not the greatest on Salt Spring!), none of the locals knew where it was. But what a great find!
Most of our other trips to Salt Spring have involved being near the ocean, but being inland on this gorgeous property was such a treat! The tea and cookies delivered to our room in the morning were a lovely way to start the day. Being able to help ourselves to anything - the heated pool, the hot tub, drinks in the upstairs room, movies in the lounge, etc - made this a luxurious and easy place to enjoy. The room was very well finished with a sophisticated, contemporary feel - as opposed to the "country charm" that many B&B or small Inns on the west coast seem to adopt. We actually really enjoyed just hanging out in our room! Samantha and Peter were friendly and generous hosts, and were the perfect combination of helpful but still left us with a sense of privacy. We are definitely going to recommend this place to others and will certainly stay here again for our next visit to Salt Spring!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_She_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband arranged for our children to stay with their grandparents and whisked me away to the Wetherly Inn for our ninth wedding anniversary. It was superb! Peter and Samantha are warm, thoughtful, and generous hosts, and the grounds are heavenly. It is clear that Samantha and Peter have planned every detail with care and dedication.

Upon arrival, Peter greeted us and showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the main house. There is a lounge (with tv, games, and books), a beautiful breakfast room which looks out onto the gardens, and on the topmost floor a spa room and a kitchenette with coffee- and tea-making supplies and water and soft drinks in a fridge.

Our room had a comfortable queen-sized bed, a walk-in shower and spacious soaker tub, a fireplace, and a balcony. With a peaked roof and lots of windows, it was bright and airy and a real retreat. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Samantha is an excellent cook, and Peter an attentive host. We were delighted with the wake-up tray provided each morning - what a wonderful way to start the morning!

The gardens are stunning. We enjoyed exploring the grounds, smelling the lavender and exploring the paths, relaxing on the dock in the pond, and enjoying the tranquility. The pool is heated, and even the pool house is adorable. Samantha and Peter have given thought to every last detail! And as a cat-lover, I was happy to make friends with Waffle, their friendly cat who enjoys patrolling the gardens.

High on a hillside, the Wetherly briefly confounded our GPS, but it is a quick hop to Ganges and other Saltspring attractions. It was an ideal retreat for us, perfect for some rare couple time and somewhere neither of us wanted to leave and are eager to return.

Thank you to Peter and Samantha for sharing your beautiful place with us - we can hardly wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherly, Manager at Wetherly Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary here, for taking time out to write this generous review, and for giving Waffle a moment of internet fame! Warm wishes to you both! Samantha & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The lovliest room, grounds and hosts anywhere! Absolutely prisitine. Our oom was beautiful, with a balcony looking out over the gardens, a gas fireplace and a bathroom to die for. (huge soaker tub etc!!) The whole place is so well appointed, I wanted to snoop everywhere!! The ktichen is a cooks dream. . The pond features are so well done, and the gardens incredible............clearly a labour of love. It is indeed a very special getaway!!
Thank you Peter and Samantha for sharing your vision with us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherly, Manager at Wetherly Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you Kathy! This kitchen is a dream to work in - come back and see us again and I'll show you round the rest of the place! So glad you enjoyed your visit - Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My fiancée and I stayed two nights and we found it very hard to leave. The property is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are top notch. Beautifully decorated and the bed is very comfortable. We had a very nice balcony and made use of the swimming pool. It was extremely relaxing! The hosts are very friendly and they make an excellent hot breakfast. We will be returning on our next trip to the island. Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmacrae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherly, Manager at Wetherly Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you so much for this review - we do hope you will be back to see us again! Samantha & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
#30 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wetherly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherly Inn

Property: Wetherly Inn
Address: 169 Armand Way, British Columbia V8K 2B6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing