We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“epic stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Mary Lake Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“epic stay!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is my second time here at this st mary lake resort and i love it!! celebrated my 30th bday here with friends and family! We stayed at cabins 7 and 8 and what a spectacular view of the lake! These cabins have been fully renovated!!! bigger kitchens and complete cutlery with tons of kitchen appliances!! this lake is great for some R&R and for those bass anglers out there haha. i would definitely come back later this fall. epic!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waylonang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This place is great. The cabins are off the beaten track, cozy and have everything you could need. We stayed for two nights and were sad to leave. Each cabin has a decent if not great view of the lake, unlike nearby properties, and each cabin is equipped with a deck facing the lake and a full size BBQ and patio table for 4. The bed was comfy, we could have used one more pillow each, but that's a personal preference more than anything. The cabin was spotless and stocked with lots of fresh clean towels.
We took advantage of the boats available to guests - a few metal rowboats, a kayak, and a pedal boat and took both the row boat and pedal boat out for an hour each (the maximum at one time). The only complaint is that there were more pedal boats that were broken that the one pedal boat was in high demand in the evening!
Harold the owner gave us everything we needed and stayed behind the scenes the rest of the time, which fine by me.
I'm surprised there aren't more reviews here because the place was busy and everyone seemed happy with their surroundings.
We will be going back next year for at least a week next time!

Room Tip: Check out the cabins' views and details online - it was really helpful for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were looking for somewhere different to stay on Salt Spring Island. We booked St Mary Lake Resort with a little trepidation as it had very few reviews here on TA. We should not have worried - despite its low-key profile, it's a fantastic place, and was definitely one of the highlights of our 2-week tour of the Pacific NW region.

We stayed in Cottage #9, which had a wonderful view overlooking the lake and the forested hills beyond. We were impressed to see how spacious and modern the cottage was with a large living room, adjoining kitchen/diner and 2 bedrooms (one of which is locked in the case of only 2-person occupancy. It was also spotlessly clean with everything in a good state of repair, which shows the hard work put in by the people that run the resort. There was also a large outside deck complete with good quality all-weather table and chairs and large propane barbeque. We were particularly pleased to see the barbeque as we'd had in mind having a barbeque when we made the booking. Note that there is a large supermarket (Country Market?) on the road into Ganges which has everything you could possibly need for a wonderful barbeque at St Mary Lake. Ganges itself is but an easy 10 minute drive from the resort, and there are additional shops and restaurants located there about the very scenic little harbour.

We virtually had the place to ourselves, as it is a small resort and there were only another two cottages in occupation the night we stayed. The tranquil atmosphere that sunny evening as we cooked our dinner outdoors and watched the sun go down over the lake was really special, and is right up there with some of the great barbeques we've done on previous expeditions in Africa.

I'd strongly recommend this resort without hesitation to anyone looking for a unique experience in a beautiful and peaceful part of British Columbia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed here three nights during the "off season." This place must be hoppin' busy in the summer, but in mid March we had it pretty much to ourselves. Their Web site does not do it justice- the cabins are very nice and ours was brand new inside with a full kitchen, fireplace and view of the lake. The hosts were very accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Just a heads up when booking this resort. They do not tell you at time of booking that it is non refundable. We had to cancel 4 days after booking and they would not refund our $$$. This was with over a
months notice. The frustrating thing is that we were going to rebook for another time for a family reunion. Unfortunately due to the extremely rude treatment we received we will definately not be going back. I'm sure its a lovely resort but customer service is not their strong point!!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trippinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#10 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary Lake Resort

Property: St Mary Lake Resort
Address: 1170 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Mary Lake Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing