We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We return year after year after year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Mary Lake Resort
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We return year after year after year”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We've been coming to Saltspring Island for 6 years and have stayed at St. Mary Lake Resort for the past 12+ years. The cottages are maintained beautifully. They are clean and have everything you need to cook in every day, even a propane barbeque. The views of the lake are amazing. Great beach area for kids and adults. If you're looking for a cottage, this is the best place to stay on St. Mary Lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ex_NYCerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I’ve stayed here several times over the years, always in September (usually for the weekend, though my last time I was there for a whole week), and I have every intention of returning for years to come. The cabins are clean and spacious, with everything you need to look after yourself. The lake is beautiful and perfect for fishing and, thanks to the no gas-powered motor regulation, perfect for swimming. In short, I cannot recommend St. Mary Lake Resort highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silent_ibis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Mainland, BC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We return to this resort year after year and love a lot of things about it. The lake is great for swimming and for paddling a canoe or kayak. It's a really nice quiet location and the owners of the resort keep it in really good condition. If you need a good quality bed though, consider going somewhere else. If the beds were comfy I would give this resort a 5, but until that happens I can't recommend waking up sore every morning. Choose cabins 9, 10 or 11 and bring a foam mattress pad. You'll love it!

Room Tip: Cabins 9, 10 and 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoTravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We've been coming to Salt SPring Island every few years since 1999, but have never stayed in the same place twice. This year we tried St Mary's Lake Resort and stayed in Cabin 9. The cabin is very well situated with a great view of the lake, and the resort is in a great spot, just north of Ganges with easy access to all the lovely corners of the island.

We were a group of 4 - 2 adults, a 13 year old and an 11 year old. In the living room, there is a small sofa (a loveseat, really) and one armchair. If all four of us wanted to read at the same time, someone was in bed or at the dining table. Another comfortable place to sit would be a real help here. Similarly, there were exactly 4 cups, spoons, forks and knives, very little in the way of cookware, and no salt or pepper or any of the basic condiments that we generally find in the kitchen when we travel to cabins with kitchens. There was one roll of toilet paper in the cabin, as well as one roll of paper towels, and two dish towels. We booked for and stayed for six nights and made it on what was provided - of course we could have asked our hosts for more, but why not put a reasonable amount of supplies in the cabin? There's not even a plunger in the bathroom, and there really should be as the septic system is temperamental.

There are paddle boats, rowboats, canoes and kayaks that the guests can use at no additional charge and St Mary Lake is a nice safe place for casual paddling about. The barbecue on the deck worked beautifully, as did all the appliances. We were the only visitors at the resort for most of the 6 nights we stayed and we interacted very little with the hosts - they were approachable but not outgoing, never asking us if things were good or if they could do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. If you mostly want to enjoy your privacy and the beauty of the surroundings, this is a good spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sgsterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is my second time here at this st mary lake resort and i love it!! celebrated my 30th bday here with friends and family! We stayed at cabins 7 and 8 and what a spectacular view of the lake! These cabins have been fully renovated!!! bigger kitchens and complete cutlery with tons of kitchen appliances!! this lake is great for some R&R and for those bass anglers out there haha. i would definitely come back later this fall. epic!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waylonang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This place is great. The cabins are off the beaten track, cozy and have everything you could need. We stayed for two nights and were sad to leave. Each cabin has a decent if not great view of the lake, unlike nearby properties, and each cabin is equipped with a deck facing the lake and a full size BBQ and patio table for 4. The bed was comfy, we could have used one more pillow each, but that's a personal preference more than anything. The cabin was spotless and stocked with lots of fresh clean towels.
We took advantage of the boats available to guests - a few metal rowboats, a kayak, and a pedal boat and took both the row boat and pedal boat out for an hour each (the maximum at one time). The only complaint is that there were more pedal boats that were broken that the one pedal boat was in high demand in the evening!
Harold the owner gave us everything we needed and stayed behind the scenes the rest of the time, which fine by me.
I'm surprised there aren't more reviews here because the place was busy and everyone seemed happy with their surroundings.
We will be going back next year for at least a week next time!

Room Tip: Check out the cabins' views and details online - it was really helpful for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were looking for somewhere different to stay on Salt Spring Island. We booked St Mary Lake Resort with a little trepidation as it had very few reviews here on TA. We should not have worried - despite its low-key profile, it's a fantastic place, and was definitely one of the highlights of our 2-week tour of the Pacific NW region.

We stayed in Cottage #9, which had a wonderful view overlooking the lake and the forested hills beyond. We were impressed to see how spacious and modern the cottage was with a large living room, adjoining kitchen/diner and 2 bedrooms (one of which is locked in the case of only 2-person occupancy. It was also spotlessly clean with everything in a good state of repair, which shows the hard work put in by the people that run the resort. There was also a large outside deck complete with good quality all-weather table and chairs and large propane barbeque. We were particularly pleased to see the barbeque as we'd had in mind having a barbeque when we made the booking. Note that there is a large supermarket (Country Market?) on the road into Ganges which has everything you could possibly need for a wonderful barbeque at St Mary Lake. Ganges itself is but an easy 10 minute drive from the resort, and there are additional shops and restaurants located there about the very scenic little harbour.

We virtually had the place to ourselves, as it is a small resort and there were only another two cottages in occupation the night we stayed. The tranquil atmosphere that sunny evening as we cooked our dinner outdoors and watched the sun go down over the lake was really special, and is right up there with some of the great barbeques we've done on previous expeditions in Africa.

I'd strongly recommend this resort without hesitation to anyone looking for a unique experience in a beautiful and peaceful part of British Columbia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#10 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary Lake Resort

Property: St Mary Lake Resort
Address: 1170 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Mary Lake Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing