We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best view and the best food on Salt Spring but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hastings House

Hastings House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lower Ganges Rd
Transit: Hastings House Dining Room also offers a complimentary ride home after dinner anywhere on Salt Spring Island.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best view and the best food on Salt Spring but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This old house with a dining room that looks out over Ganges harbour is in a wonderful setting with manicured lawns and flower beds extending down to the sea. The menu is usually impressive,
the food preparation better than adequate and the service very competent and attentive but.... the cost is excessive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 22JohnB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and very delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

.my wife and i went here for our tenth anniversary. The restaurant is situated looking out over the harbour, with a beautiful garden out front. The atmosphere is very relaxed, waitress was very friendly and attentive, food was exceptional, wine list was very extensive. Food was served in a very timely fashion even as we were there, a wedding was going on outside in another area. This restaurant is very romantic. Expensive yes, but definitely well worth it if u are celebrating a special occasion. Very memorable!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacehog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

The view was very pretty, and the restaurant was in a charming old house which had an interesting history. Things went downhill from there. The wait for service after we sat down was about 10 minutes. I love seafood and very much enjoy the local seafood in the northwest when I visit that area. I was astounded that none of the menu selections for seafood were local which was a puzzlement. I would say the dinner was fine but nothing memorable whatsoever. When I spend over $700 for dinner for 4, I think it should be something very special. I would not recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tim90nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Michelin Chef's Restaurant in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The views of the harbor from the Hastings House restaurant are magical. The food is on another level to being exceptional. The artistic presentation is very romantic with fresh flowers on each course. Definitely worth every penny.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner, Again Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

For the second year in a row my husband and I visited Hasting House Restaurant for my birthday celebration. Again we had an artfully presented meal, as delicious as it looked. The scenery out the window is enchanting, transporting you to a world away from the shabbier neighborhood it resides in. We always forget to arrive early enough to enjoy a cocktail on the patio, but if you go in the summer months go early. It's a charming setting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susafoxSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hastings House also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing