We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & delicious food”
Review of Calvin's Bistro1 - CLOSED

Calvin's Bistro1
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service & delicious food”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been going to Calvin's since they opened 13 years ago. It is our favourite restaurant on Salt Spring. The service that Hermann & Renee give to their customers is first class.They have trained the other wait staff to be excellent as well. The food is delicious & always consistent.You always know you are going to have an amazing dinner or lunch when you go there.Their Seafood Crepes are so delicious as are the crab cakes & fresh fish dishes...all my favourites.They have amazing 3 course dinners as well for a great price & guarantee to fill you.
The view out to Ganges Harbour is lovely & on summer days the patio is the place to be. This is a great restaurant highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saltspring Is.
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have never had a bad meal or experience at this restaurant. The owners/waiters are always pleasant, the food is always well presented in a timely fashion and it is always delicious. It is my #1 choice for dinner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We've been going to Calvin's for over 6 years now. Renee and Hermann are both Swiss trained chefs. The kitchen staff are great as is the wait staff and ambiance. They always make you feel welcome. The price is right too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SEASPREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
“Looking for great food with great service?”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We eat regularly at Calvin's - have done once a week at least for the 13 years they have been open - and we are NEVER disappointed. Drinks are served right away - none of this hanging around trying to catch the waiter's eye. Menu is extensive and we've worked our way through most of it: great seafood, especially the curried seafood crepes. Excellent prices starting at $19.99 for a 3-course dinner. And desserts? Terrific: try the creme brulee - a real treat, as are the Swiss meringue and the tiramisu. And there's lots more to choose from. Overall, best restaurant on Salt Spring and one favoured by Island residents like us, not just visitors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently quality meals and excellent service”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is my go-to place for lunch and dinner when visiting Salt Spring. The food is consistently well prepared, fresh and flavourful. Staff and owners are always welcoming. Relaxed atmosphere and never feel rushed. Attracts a diverse range of diners which speaks volumes. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calvin's Bistro1 also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing