We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fish and chips”
Review of Seaside Kitchen

Seaside Kitchen
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

NIce view of Vancouver island, too. Friendly staff and service. Will go back again for all you can eat fish and chips on Wednesday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    71
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent lunch”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had lunch on the outdoor patio on a sunny day. Beautiful view and the food was fantastic too. We had the halibut and cod fish and chips and my daughter had a salad. The fish and chips was perfect. A nice size portion and a thin crispy batter. Everything was excellent and the staff were all friendly. Looking forward to visiting this restaurant again on our next trip to Saltspring.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Sussex
Level Contributor
172 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Try the Halibut”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a great meal here a week ago. The fish and chips are very good, especially the halibut. Living in the UK, one tires of the cod and haddock options when it comes to fried fish. The halibut did not disappoint. Lovely views from the outdoor seating area and the service is great and the staff friendly. Prices are reasonable as well. Five of us ate and drank for a shade over $100 CAD.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrNBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Only the locals know about this restaurant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spoke with a local in Ganges and asked where they would go if they wanted to impress someone with a nice dinner. They asked us if we minded driving, we said no problem and they directed us too the Seaside Restaurant at Vesuvius Bay.

We drove out to book a reservation, upon entering you are not going to be blown away by the decor. The building has a rustic feel about it; the walls are adorned with old photographs. Reservation made.

Later that night, we sat down for dinner. The restaurant serves local fresh seafood and some non-seafood items. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the Samson Narrows.

I had the fresh Sockeye Salmon, and Nova Scotia scallops. My wife had the Caesar Salad with scallops, prawns, and halibut. My Mother had the Curry Seafood bowl. Two bottles of a local SaltSpring wine. Dessert was a blueberry crisp served in a jar. We loved our dinner.

Total just under two hundred dollars.

This restaurant is a hidden gem, as most of the tourists will not drive the short distance from Ganges.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Waterfront”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an excellent lunch at the Seaside Kitchen. The staff were wonderful and the manager even offered to take our photo. Amazing onion rings and perfectly cooked cod! Wish I lived closer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mossylog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaside Kitchen also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Seaside Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing