We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chips!!”
Review of Seaside Kitchen

Seaside Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A lovely location..sit out on the patio...great service, and yes, I agree, the best fish and chips! Very handy to the Crofton ferry,
In Vesuvius.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LavenderladyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    74
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
859 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“The view is worth the wait!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Dropped by for a sunset dinner, without a reservation. Wanted to dine on the patio to enjoy the fresh air and setting sun. There was nothing, and we said we'd try back the next day with a reservation, but as we were leaving the hostess indicated that if we could wait for just a few minutes, she did have a table we could have. Got a nice table for two just in time for the ensuing setting. Enjoyed the one piece halibut and chips. Large portion, very good fish!
Returned the next day for a lunch snack and to enjoy the view one last time before leaving the island. Had a glass of wine and order of calamari while waiting for the Crofton Ferry. Calamari was very large ring pieces, but very tender and nicely seasoned. Great little spot!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Oyster Burger”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fine halibut and chips. They make a great Oyster Burger when in season. All else is very tasty but a reservation is good in the high season !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great views, good food, fun place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Salt Spring is not the greatest restaurant place, which is strange, because so many great foods are produced there! I think everyone just gets by on the view. OK, so given that, Seaside is a good option. The view is great, and you should reserve ahead of time in the summer to make sure you get an outside table. The food is solid, unambitious but well prepared. I don't really do seafood, which is the specialty, but I hear good things about the fish and chips and the ribs I had were good. Their poutine is awesome. Great service. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

NIce view of Vancouver island, too. Friendly staff and service. Will go back again for all you can eat fish and chips on Wednesday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaside Kitchen also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Seaside Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing