We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pasta and right next to the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auntie Pesto's Cafe

Auntie Pesto's Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$36
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Auntie Pesto's is a family owned waterfront cafe that serves lunch and dinner Monday-Saturday from 11am to 9pm.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good pasta and right next to the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Yummy Italian food, nice wine list. We both had pastas and they were very good. Ask to sit outside on the patio.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morandi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    131
    42
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very good food, friendly service and very appealing waterside deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The general quality is good, but some dishes are great, and some are less great and could stand for a redo. The freshly prepared seafood was very good on our last two visits, but the smoked salmon (home made gravlax?) was just so so, as was the mushy beef carpaccio. Both of the lesser dishes seem to have sat out for awhile longer than they should have. The pasta was good, but not great, and though the sauces like the puttanesca were excellent would have benefitted by an upgrade of the pasta itself from dried to fresh. Stand out dishes were the incredible scallops, fresh fish and awesome homemade desserts, like the intense chocolate pate that is both rich and moist. The Cesar salad was also excellent, ample, freshly tossed and crisp, especially if you like a not super punchy recipe that goes light on the garlic and anchovy. We suggest that if you order the Cesar, use juice from the lemon slices (supplied) to bring out the flavor. The wine choices are very limited, but reasonable, and they have a full bar with excellent margaritas on the rocks. Service was very accommodating and friendly and the atmosphere, especially the deck that sits over the water, is very quiet and pleasant. Could be the best restaurant on the island if it were more consistent across the entire menu, every visit, but is very good and highly recommended as it is today.

Helpful?
Thank Dane94306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Got there just as the kitchen took it's break after lunch/before dinner. That's ok. Seated us right by the waterfront on the deck, we order a couple of glasses of SSI white, some bread & olives and we people watched the boardwalk. Nice! When the menus came so did the daily specials. Good choices. Went for pasta with a little Sangiovese. Food...good and fresh. Service...attentive & friendly. All in all a nice dinner. Note, come hungry. Portions are huge.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thedonohues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fail ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I've been to auntie pesto's about ten times in the last five years. Usually it is fantastic. Used to be delicious pasta every time. There must be a new chef or something because this time it was bland and was made with zero passion. The only reason I ate it was because I was hungry and it wasn't awful. I'm used to explosions of flavour in my mouth every time I come here. Instead I was presented with a twenty dollar pasta that was only slightly worse than kraft dinner. Also, the owner was there and he seemed like he HATED being there. Maybe he needs a vacation or something. I really really hope that things pick back up. This place used to be amazing. All five of us were disappointed with our meals. It sucks when you brag about how good a place is and bring your friends and then you arrive and are treated to a lack luster affair on all fronts. No one is happy or excited to be there. Time to shake things up auntie pesto!

Helpful?
4 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice setting, locally sourced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We dined hear the 2nd night of our stay on Salt Spring Island. Enjoyed the meal and our server was really friendly and accommodating, especially when the halibut entree came out severely over cooked - she took the pains to make sure I received a freshly prepared one even though the kitchen was almost closing (and I am sure the chef was grumbling). My salad was HUGE so if you order a salad as a 1st course or appetizer you can definitely share or split it. They specialize in pasta dishes - which unfortunately we didn't try - probably should have on second thought.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodcriticwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auntie Pesto's Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Auntie Pesto's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing