We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Vista Hermosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista Hermosa
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We are a family from Langley and Tofino is one of our favourite places to visit. We choose Vista Hermosa for its convenient location, great space and all the great amenities they have listed on their website, the private hot tub is definitely a bonus. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, a bit earlier then 4 pm check in. Barbara was nice to accommodate our early arrival with no problem. We found the house was very well appointed. The spacious living room with the exceptional view of the harbor and plenty of boat activity provided hours of entertainment. The kitchen is very well stocked with lots of pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, crab pot, you name it and a kitchen gadget galore.
Overall the home is great, clean and spacious and we will be back for another visit to our beloved Tofino and Vista Hermosa

Room Tip: The masterbedroom overlooking the ocean is the best one of the three
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Well where do I start? I took my girlfriend to Tofino to have a romantic weekend but man did we get a ruff start. We got to the property and alarm bells started to go off. There were cigarette butts on the deck (right outside the patio door), BBQ was dirty (And I mean filthy), used towel beside the hot tub, sand in the hot tub, dog hair all over the carpet in the living room, the fireplace mantel was dirty and one of the bath tubs was dirty. I don't know how all this was missed. The furnace also made a high pitch noise which we couldn't find a way to get rid of. So annoying. All in all we decided to get a refund and stay somewhere else and man are we glad we did. Vista Hermosa could be a nice property if it was cleaned. Poor experience

Room Tip: Make sure it's clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleTofino, Owner at Vista Hermosa, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
We are sincerely sorry for the negative experience at Vista Hermosa. When I was contacted by this guest on check-in to voice his concern about cleanliness, he appeared to be quite apologetic but I had assured him that was perfectly fine to let me know his concerns. I immediately responded by asking my assistant to meet him at Vista Hermosa and inspect the house. My Assistant did (unfortunately and no excuses) validate some of his concerns and I immediately offered the guest a full refund if he was uncomfortable staying.

Our home is cleaned by professional, well trained housekeepers. I have no real answer as to why this housekeeper did such inadequate work. She had been with us for a long time and there was no reason not to trust her. We as vacation home owners, managers and housekeeper care a great deal about our guests and work diligent to avoid these and any unpleasant situations and guests always come first.

I would like to say this, the guest had initially offered to vacuum. Thus I was rather disappointed at the "Terrible" review and was assuming it wasn't as "Terrible". However I declined the offer as I did not feel this to be appropriate and offered him a full refund for his trouble. He was very appreciative for the refund which was the least we could do, again our sincere apology for the less than pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Vista Hermosa was the perfect setting for two couples on a brief holiday. We loved the convenient town location and the wonderful view of the ocean, islands, mountains and wharf , (where there was always something going on) We also appreciated the well-equipped kitchen, deck, hot tub, fireplace, and two full baths. Vista Hermosa was a wonderful place to come home to after a day of exploring the forest or the beach ( or the shops!) Were we disappointed that we couldn't "storm watch" from the large windows? No, because the view in the sunshine was a wonderful, multi-coloured surprise at every time of the day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank greenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Bank
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We were a group of 4 adults touring BC and Alberta. We arrived in Tofino on day 13 of our adventure. What a treat it was to have a " house" to relax and spread out in. As others have stated, the " house" portion is 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a full living room, dining room and kitchen. There is a hot tub and BBQ dedicated for your use. The kitchen is completely and fully equipped. Aside from food and beverage, I can not think of one thing you would need. The house is about a 3 minute stroll from the heart of Tofino and overllooks the government warf. It is most intriguing to watch the virtually continous water taxi activity. Everything in the house was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Towels etc were large and numerous. I understand that since our stay oin October that the house has been totally refurbished with new windows, flooring and furnishings, therefore it must be absolutley stunning now.

I would recommend this to anyone. Go and enjoy the House and Tofino. You will love both.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ametsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We just recently did a trip to Vancouver Island with a 4 day stay in Tofino. I searched the internet prior to going for accommodation for our 6 member party and found the Vista Hermosa House. We were looking for a reasonable priced accommodation that would fit our party and we found that in the Vista Hermosa. Because we went in the "off season" the price was outstanding. I dealt with Barbara Lamarche through phone and emails and she was very pleasant. Looking at the pictures on their website do not do the house justice! When we arrived at the house we felt as though we were royalty upon entering. The house is large, bright, spacious and very tastefully decorated. All the bedrooms were large, beds were comfortable, including the bunk beds that accommodated 2 adults. There are 2 large decks, one with a hot tub and the other that over looks the Tofino Harbor and Clayoquot Sound. The patio furniture included a large table with enough chairs for our party and 2 very comfortable loungers to sit, relax and watch the beautiful sunsets. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the deck watching all the boats go out and a light fog move in. There is also a large BBQ which we used both nights. We ran out of propane the first night and my husband found a fully filled replacement bottle in the storage under the house. This house had everything a person could ask for from movie dvds, music cassettes, board games, salt, pepper and other spices, coffee, tea, sugar and even shampoo and conditioner in the 2 large bathrooms. I can't say enough good things about the house and would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a home away from home while staying in Tofino.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sportyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Hermosa Suite is excellent accommodation if you prefer self catering. This is a house built on the cliff above the harbour with fantastic views of Meares Island and Clayoquot Sound. The upstairs is let as Hermosa Vista but we stayed in Hermosa Suite which is a 1 bedroom apartment. There is a large lounge/dining room which has a double sofa bed. There is a very well equipped kitchen, bathroom and shower room. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well appointed. The best part is the large deck with barbeque and hot tub looking over the ocean where bald eagles soar above.
Below is the tiny harbour and there are always small boats arriving and leaving as well as the odd float plane.
The house is within easy walking distance of the local shops and restaurants. We would recommend the bear watching trip, you will see bears!

Helpful?
3 Thank cds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Hermosa

Property: Vista Hermosa
Address: 250 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tofino
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tofino's Vista Hermosa is a combination of two distinctive suites with stunning unparalleled views of the picturesque Tofino Harbour. Choose from either the beautiful studio Oceanfront Suite or the stunning spacious 3 bedroom Captains Quarters Suite. Its the place to be in Tofino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Hermosa Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing