We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great!”
Review of Paddlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddlers Inn
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We enjoy this place. It wasn't anything special or fancy but we had no problem sleeping here. It had a nice cafe and patio in the back shared by the shop.

The bathrooms are shared but they were very clean! No problems with hot water, long waits or anything. There is an extra bathroom downstairs by the entrance too.

Loved the make-your-own breakfast. Everything was organic (maybe that is the standard in BC...?) with bread, PB & Jams, Cereals, Juice, Fruit etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k-existence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

I will NOT be staying at the Paddler's Inn again. This place now seems to be very badly managed.
I recently stayed for a few days hoping to re-energize and relax. Instead, and in high season, management considered it appropriate to go ahead with two very noisy maintenance projects. Guest comfort certainly takes second place here.
I arrived to carpet cleaning in progress: very noisy, wet carpet, with a strong scented smell. As I am allergic to scented products and had previously checked that only unscented cleaning products were used, the lingering smell and my allergic reaction were of particular concern.
Power washing the building at 8pm directly beneath guest accommodation is also
totally unacceptable.
Beware of other noise here, too. There is a pub just across the road. When there is a pub band playing expect no sleep. The walls in my room were vibrating the noise was so incredibly loud.
While I received some refund - only for the first disturbance, I would have preferred a healthy and relaxing stay. An expensive stay in poorly managed accommodation! There are many far better places to stay in Tofino!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hornbyisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We had an extremely negative experience here. The walls are paper thin and at $79 a night I don't expect to be asked to don the "complimentary ear-plugs". Noisy would be an understatement - Don't even consider this place during the high season, and I would think hard about staying here again period were it not for my wife's unequivocal ban - "We are never staying there again". Take a note Inn Keeper: Unfriendly is fine but not when you run a business. Being a committed local, involved in key issues (preventing logging on Meares Island) since the 80's doesn't give you the right to treat visitors like dirt. We are all human beings and respect deserves respect. PS - I didn't appreciate the opening line "You didn't say you had a baby! We dont really encourage having children here - it just makes things too noisy. On the plus side - Water view might have been worth the extra $10...I think.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seenitdoneitlivedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Located right in downtown Tofino, this inn was a great stopon our road-trip. I wish we'd stayed here longer. Room was $79, wound up with a room with 2 singles and a loft double. Lots of crisp, clean towels, sitting area, closet. Beds were amazingly comfortable. Street noise was not an issue, and earplugs are provided for those who need them.

Breakfast is included in the price and is self-serve, which was quite helpful. Breakfast includes toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, tea, coffee. Large kitchen where breakfast is available, which was good to socialize in the evening, where we met some nice other guests.

We also did an Islander kayaking tour, which was an unforgettable experience, plus if you stay at Paddler's Inn, you get a 10% discount at Tofino Sea Kayaking which is located downstairs. Lots of free street parking is available.

Overall a super stop for a summer road-trip for those who want a clean, unique, and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This is one of the worst B&B's I've ever seen.
We booked a room for two nights by phone and told the lady on the line that we have a infant with us. She told us, that everything is fine.
On the day we arrived in Paddlers Inn the first words we heared was "oh you have a baby? we dont want babies in our B&B"...
The Owner was so unfriendly, I have never meet a person like this.
And she didnt helped us to find another motel...
Never ever!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dana55blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

On arriving to Paddlers Inn, we found a charming laminated sign in our room stating that since it is a heritage building, the rooms are not sound proofed and that complimentary earplugs are provided.

At 86 dollars per room (75 plus various taxes), I do not expect to don earplugs to avail of some peace and quiet. While I understand that some aspects of heritage buildings cannot be changed, I find it extremelly unfair not to have been informed about this fact when booking. I would definitely reconsider!

Not only you can hear every single floor creak and word spoken in the rooms next to you, the noise from the street is very bad too. Earplugs do not help, only make your ears hurt.

Also, our bedspread had stains on in and the sheets did not look terribly clean, either.

If you want a good night's sleep, stay away from Paddler's Inn! Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Krtek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

The Paddler's Inn is a very well located B&B for the Tofino village. Right above the Sea Kayaking company and just down the street from the government dock means that it is very easy to explore the town and do activities - especially if you don't have a car and have come to Tofino on one of the backpacker buses.

The views over Clayoquot sound from the breakfast room/kitchen are inspiring, especially watching the kayakers get ready!
Breakfast is provided by leaving a "continental style" breakfast in the fridge/cupboards for you to use as you wish - there isn't actually a breakfast prepared for you. This is great for the more independent travellers coming and going early or later than the "breakfast time".

The staff of the Kayak company and bookstore downstairs are around to answer questions or offer advice during store hours. In the evening the verandah is a very nice place to enjoy evening drinks watching the sun head towards the horizon.

The rooms are a good size, and quite varied. There is one large room with a loft/cupboard style double bed in addition to the main double which looked really cosy! Definitely recommended for a family or two couples, so ask them for it! The rooms that face the street can be bothered by the noise from the Legion across the street, but this wasn't a major problem most nights.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank svalbard_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
3.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddlers Inn

Address: 320 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range: £55 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddlers Inn is an affordable oceanfront accommodation in the heart of Tofino's waterfront village. Housed in the town's original hotel, this modest building has five guest rooms that are clean, simple and popularly priced. Rooms feature double or single beds with 100% cotton linens. Group bookings available. The downstairs the Tofino Sea kayaking store offers kayak tour bookings and an excellent espresso bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paddlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddlers Inn Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing