We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. It is in a great location: just steps away from the beach and Wickaninnish Inn, and a short drive into downtown Tofino.
Robin and Duncan prepared some delicious breakfasts and were ready to help with suggestions for dinner. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We enjoyed a delightful 4 night stay at Gull Cottage Bed and Breakfast. Robin and Duncan are great hosts. Robin is as cheerful as her name and made us feel at home immediately. We were a group of 4 - two couples. My husband and I stayed in the Rainforest Room which had the bathroom ensuite. Our friends stayed in the Blue Jay room with the bathroom adjoining. Our rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. There is a library to enjoy and watch a movie and also a music room to relax in as well. We also made use of a small sitting area upstairs with a coffee station and small fridge to use. We put our supplies for happy hour there and Robin was kind enough to supply some ice cubes for drinks.

Our breakfasts were delicious. Duncan is a fabulous cook and Robin makes great smoothies.
We enjoyed great conversations each morning and lots of light-hearted banter! That is part of the charm of bed and breakfasts for my husband and I.
.
Robin and Duncan offered us lots of information on what to see in the area and tips on how to get the most out of our time there. They had several suggestions for restaurants as well. The B&B is literally steps from Chesterman Beach and it is truly lovely as are all the beaches in the area. The Rainforest Loop is a must see especially the upper loop as well as the Wild Pacific Trail at Ucluelet.

We had good weather for the entire stay which was abit unusual. Lots of sun, no rain, and a light jacket with summer attire. The Tofino area is a beautiful part of Canada and we are glad we had the opportunity to visit and stay at the Gull Cottage B&B. We will definitely return and will recommend them to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskatoonSunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My two teenagers and I spent 4 nights at this lovely cottage. All our needs were taken care of and we did have some special requests that came up. The owners are very friendly and thoughtful and do everything they can to make you feel at home. The room was perfect for three of us; very comfortable and spacious. Breakfasts were healthy and hearty and kept us going through mid day. Very nice to have a kettle and tea on hand as well as a small shared fridge. Also very handy for surfing. Big thanks for making our vacation special!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzindy8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A wonderful little B&B. Great breakfast! Robin and Duncan are wonderful hosts! They know the area and can suggest what to do and where to grab a bite. Just steps from the beach! Even if it is a rainy day there is a cozy library where you can grab a book. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Robin and Duncan made us feel right at home in their cozy house which is just across the street and a short path to the beautiful Chesterman Beach. A quiet place to relax in their comfy den and/or the amazing library! Homemade breakfast was not to be missed - absolutely delish!! They gave us good information about the trails, activities and restaurants in the area. We stayed in the spacious and clean Rainforest room that had a huge soaker tub in it's private bathroom. A bar fridge and tea kettle were just outside our door in the hallway - perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We woke up early each morning, walked across the road to North Chesterman's for an early surf session, and came back to a warm, delicious breakfast and friendly conversation. Robin and Duncan were full of tips about where to eat, where to grab a coffee, and where to spend an afternoon. Between the B&B itself and the beach, we barely needed to leave. It's a short walk to the Wildside Grill, Tacofino, Live to Surf, etc. and easily within biking distance of the townsite itself. We were in the Rainforest room with huge windows that let in the sound of the ocean waves, and a lovely soaker tub that came in handy after spending time in the chilly Pacific. There was also a place to rinse, dry, and safely store surf gear. Absolutely no complaints, we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Staying at Gull Cottage has become an annual event when attending the Tofino Food and Wine Festival. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Robin and Duncan are excellent hosts....entertaining, informative and will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy the wonders of Tofino and surrounding area. Close access to Chesterman Beach allows you to hear the surf at night in your cosy, comfy room. The breakfasts are outstanding and they will accommodate any dietary restrictions...no one goes hungry or unsatisfied. The common areas provide lots of amenities, and best of all, it's Pet Friendly. I can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.3 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1254 Lynn Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian cottage in woodland setting. Just 200 feet from Chesterman Beach. Gourmet cooked breakfast included. TV lounge/library, sun deck, guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing