We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another great visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yet another great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Another great visit with Robin and Duncan at Gull Cottage on Chesterman beach in Tofino. As always - a real treat. Rooms are cozy and comfortable with lots of room in the shared areas to read, watch tv, relax, visit. You are always warmly greeted and made to feel welcome and helped with many suggestions of what to see and do. Breakfast is wonderful, always different - as many days as we have spent with Robin and Duncan, we have never had a repeat breakfast. And we find that we always meet interesting fellow guests, this being no different. I will highly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the rooms and each of them have their own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
156
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I have now stayed at the Gull Cottage B&B 3 times, and we will definitely continue to stay here as long as this B&B exists. Duncan and Robin are the warmest, most hospitable hosts. The level of customer service you receive here is equal to or even higher than any 5 star resort in the area. The property is only a hop to Chesterman beach, and for anyone who is new to visiting the Tofino area, they can get several great suggestions for restaurants, hikes and special local attractions from Robin and Duncan. What I like most about B&B's in general, is the nice hot breakfast each morning, and I can confidently say that this Bed & Breakfast has a delicious, healthy selection.
I also want everyone to know that I work in the Hospitality/ Restaurant industry and know great customer service when I experience it, not to mention great food! Thanks Robin & Duncan for another great summer get away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a great stay here with my parents. Fantastic location just 2 mins walk from the beach. Excellent breakfasts- different every day. Robin and Duncan were great hosts and gave good advice re things to do in Tofino and the area. Lovely dogs too (and cats but didn't manage to see much of them). Would love to go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ella089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I absolutely loved staying at Gull Cottage! I cannot say enough about Robin and Duncan, very warm and inviting people. They were such a pleasure to stay with. They offered great recommendations for the area and were extremely helpful and accommodating with everything. The house is comfortable and clean and surrounded by woods. It's super close to the beach. Really an ideal stay, I couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corbin_kira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saronno
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found it on the website of B&B Canada, we read some review and then we crossed our fingers. It was a really nice surprise because the review were related. We stay in the Jay room, very confortable, for us the surprise was sleeping with the sound of the Ocean, it was quite and relaxing. Very close to the beach, in my opinion the best beach in Tofino much better than the famous "longh beach of Tofino". The breakfast was delicious and accurate by chef Duncan, we stay 2 nights so we tasted two different special breakfast menu. Duncun and Robin were very nice to suggest us what to do, what to see and what to eat in Tofino.

Room Tip: We stay in Jay room, very quite and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Wonderfully welcoming home just steps from the Pacific Ocean. Long walks with Osprey and crustaceans on a wild beach only make the stay even more utopian. Breakfast was yummy and took place in a homey dining room! In the Jay room, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful and the view was relaxing. We enjoyed the TV room one night of our stay and if we hadn't had such a full schedule would have enjoyed the library! Robin was an hostess extraordinaire and was extremely helpful in planning our sight seeing and also helped us plan an alternate trip back through British Columbia. Duncan was a great chef and conversationalist. We hope to go again one day soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent two nights in Tofino during our honeymoon and it was definitely a dream come true... We were heartily welcome by our hosts, Robin and Duncan, who made us feel at home and, well, almost in heaven. The cottage is only a minute away from the beach (walking), the room we had was lovely and very cosy. Definitely go and spend some time there !!!! We would certainly... Julie & Ismaël

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1254 Lynn Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian cottage in woodland setting. Just 200 feet from Chesterman Beach. Gourmet cooked breakfast included. TV lounge/library, sun deck, guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing