We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coastal Tree House with Wonderful Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coastal Tree House with Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Clean comfortable room, welcoming friendly hosts, and fabulous breakfast just across the lane from a beautiful beach and only minutes to town as well as hiking in the forest or on beaches. We couldn't have wanted more in a B&B. We loved watching evening fall or the morning fog lift from our room in the trees. Robin and Duncan are wonderful hosts who can recommend local restaurants in addition to great hiking opportunities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyndeyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
156
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This B&B is a wonderful place because of the warm and helpful hosts, very comfortable and very clean rooms and home location, and fantastic gourmet breakfasts. Duncan and Robin (and the pups) share their home which is located across a small road and down a lane from one of the best beaches in the world -- Chesterman Beach. When you 'get tired' of the beach, the B&B is just a few steps away. The bedrooms are located on the second floor so because of the forested location of the house, it's like sleeping in a treehouse BUT you can still hear the surf that will lull you to sleep. Have to mention the breakfasts, of course!! Full bacon and eggs (Day 1), blueberry pancakes (Day 2), Mango and ginger crisp (Day 3) -- and fruit, toast and heaps of really really good coffee. This is a true B&B breakfast -- no continental style here. Thank you Duncan and Robin for a wonderful 3 days!! See you again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently visited Tofino for the first time. What a beautiful spot. Stayed at Gull Cottage mere steps from Chesterman Beach. This is a lovely spot. The rooms are spacious, clean and very well kept. The hosts, Robin and Duncan made us very welcome and started our day with an excellent breakfast. If your looking for a B&B near Tofino I don't think you can go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a great stay. Very clean & comfortable accommodations just steps from the short trail leading to Chestermans Beach. TV room. Reading room. Sitting room upstairs with bedrooms has a fridge,coffee maker and kettle. Good hot breakfasts to start the day in a very quaint & homey breakfast room. Just minutes from Tofino for lunch, dinner or tours. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour they recommended with Browning Passage to the floating farm for something completely different and unique. Robin& Duncan were most accommodating hosts & just wish we had more days for our girlfriends getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful few days at the very start of the season at Gull Cottage in April 2014. Robin and Duncan are great hosts and wonderful cooks, and their border terriers Bodie and Tarka were very welcoming to our dog. Gull Cottage is perfectly designed - a block from Chesterman's beach, the house has a dedicated TV room and sitting room for guests, as well as a lovely area upstairs for a cup of tea. We found the beds comfortable, the selection of DVDs and books was incredible, and best of all, Robin and Duncan really made our stay with their conversation and advice about what to do while we were in Tofino. Sadly, I fell ill while we were there, and Robin was very kind, making sure I had cups of tea and a radio to listen to while the others enjoyed the waves and walked the dog. Hands down the nicest stay we have ever had in Tofino, chest infection and all!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms is lovely but the Rainforest room is certainly the biggest and would be perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0bbledeg00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you want a clean quiet and comfortable place near the beach, a great breakfast, and a short drive to town, this is the place to stay. This was our second time staying here and would stay again. Robin and Duncan are gracious and helpful hosts.
Patrick and Paulette

Room Tip: If you want a larger room for 3 or 4 with a big soaker tub try the Rainforest Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We drove across the island through showers but the sun shone as we approached Lynn Rd. Arriving at Robin and Duncan's thrilled again to be there. They are the best hosts and great cooks. It's a joy to stay at Gull Cottage and explore Chesterman Beach only steps away. Everything about their home makes us feel totally comfortable. Conversations shared at breakfast with guests only added to our joy in being in Tofino. The time is never long enough and we begin planning our next trip and stay at Gull Cootage, the best B&B in the area. Thank you for everything Robin and Dunc
Till next time...

Room Tip: If your planning a visit to Tofino chose Gull Cottage. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1254 Lynn Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian cottage in woodland setting. Just 200 feet from Chesterman Beach. Gourmet cooked breakfast included. TV lounge/library, sun deck, guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing