We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total dump”
Review of Schooner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schooner Motel
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have stayed in better camping barns than this place, with no faculties i.e coffee machine or kettle in my room and the bed was so hard and uncomfortable the floor was a better option.
to be honest bring your own tent rather than stay in this dump

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluedragon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

A small motel which seems to struggle to provide services. "We are a small motel so if someone does not answer when calling the front desk please come to the desk" probably says it all. However room was spacious and clean and staff helpful. We had a second floor room which gave us views over the bay (when it was not raining). Location was right in the centre of Tofino. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mach0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Clean and big 1 bedroom suites... right in the heart of town across from the coop....water views, full kitchen with dishes etc....second queen bed in the living- kitchen area.... good rates for the area and time of year....120.00 september... 89.00 starting October... nice folks too I travel there on business and it is a good find when you compare to the ridiculous rates at Tin Wis and all the other beach side resorts

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadNanImoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Comparing this Motel with the others in Tofino, the room rates are great. For my taste, they could renovate it in near future, that's why only 4/5 stars in "Value".

Free coffee and tee till 11AM and very nice staff. Everything was really good at the Schooner Motel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHeigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Three nights in Tofino, stayed indoors most of the time because of continous rain. First night was on groundfloor, no view (wall of office) but we accepted to stay here because two remaining nights were on first floor with view of the bay. Well, I say view but it was a small world with diminishing visibility due low ceiling, clouds and rain, rain, rain...
Across the road a good, well-stocked supermarket.
The electric fireplace in both rooms gave a cosy atmosphere. The first floor room had a kitchenette, good value as restaurants are expensive here in Tofino. A bit arty, Tofino did not really rock my world.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Bring your own pillows. We three poor authors were travelling to present and talk about our just-released books at Darwin's Café, but with two of us being seniors, we had to share and economise. I felt as if we were in a time warp. It was clean, but rather spartan. Luckily the food was good next door.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

If it the last thing you do - don't go there!!! Apart from the clean linen & towels - that was it!! Had to sleep with a towel over my pillow because of the smell, electric sockets did not work, bad crack in window, etc dare I go on - dosen't that say it all! Please do not go there. Luckily my tour Co moved us on to our next hotel the next day a day early.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrellady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Motel

Address: 311 Campbell, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range: £51 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schooner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Motel Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing