We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cox Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Cox Bay resort but once the month of May hits Tofino, the price of resorts becomes unbelievably high. Would we stay again, probably not, silly prices in the high season.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carwinbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    97
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
87
154
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for a week in July 2011, and had a great time. The view from the main building is amazing, as well as from our patio. The rooms are small but fairly spacious and were extremely comfortable.

The resort has some great amenities such as a reading room (with a breath taking view), lockers for your surf boards, BBQ's, and more.

The drawbacks included an extremely dirty hot tub ... probably the grossest, most neglected hot tub I've ever seen at a hotel/resort. The house keeping doesn't come until 4 or even 5 most days which was a bit of a pain.

Overall I'd recommend this place to friends and family, however the next trip I'll probably try out a new beachside resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I am so happy we stayed at the Cox Bay Resort! It was attractive, clean and well located. I booked our trip to Tofino late and had initially thought this place was a compromise. I was so wrong. Everything from the fresh "newness" of the property to the lovely toiletries suited us perfectly. Our lovely two bedroom loft was bright and allowed us to enjoy a peak at the gorgeous beach. We all want to go back to Tofino and intend to stay at Cox Bay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We just returned from a trip to beautiful Tofino that included a trip to the lovely Cox Bay Beach Resort. I have to give our room and the property itself very high marks. It is actually much more beautiful in person than it is in the pictures, and the room was quite spacious for two people. I especially appreciated the well-equipped kitchen as well as the in-room washer-dryer.

What I didn't appreciate was the noise factor. We stayed in a ground floor unit and it sounded like there was a zoo full of elephants residing above us. Many people don't have experience living in condos or apartments and they just have no understanding that letting their kids stomp and scream is annoying to people in adjacent rooms - that's just reality, unfortunately, but prepare to have such guests in the rooms next to yours if you stay at this resort.

To add insult to injury, our room was right under the staircase leading to the second level, so incessant clomping up and down by other guests was also an issue. That such a beautiful property could be so skimpy on the insulation and sound proofing is really too bad, because we probably won't stay here again for that reason.

Another gripe was the $10 for wireless access. Really?! Why not just tack another buck or two on the room rate and call it good? Nickle-and-diming people already forking out about $300 a night for a room is tacky.

If you do book here, make sure to request (or demand, actually) an upper level room. Otherwise, prepare to be disappointed by the lack of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed 3 nights in a second floor, 2 bedroom loft unit. When we walked in, it smelled like wet seaweed even though all the windows were open! The place was really attractive though, nice finishings and furnishings. The beds were comfy, nice towels, robes and amenities in the bathrooms.
A big complaint for us was even though we were paying extra for a third person, the place was not equipped enough for more than two people. We only had 2 chairs for the balcony so we called the front desk. We were told since the units were privately owned it was the owners responsibility for how many chairs there were. When we asked them several times, could they not find us a chair from their main building or borrow one from another unit, they made no effort to assist our request.
I can't imagine 6 people (as it claims it will sleep) managing comfortably here. We were forever washing dishes to have enough to use, the kitchen had only the very, very basics. The little coffee pot was one that you find in a hotel room that only makes a couple cups at a time and we had to use paper towels for filters. Be warned, bring utensils and bowls with you!
We were prepared to not have a lot of housekeeping done ( we had read others comments on here) but when they did come they were quite lame. One day we had just returned to our room when they showed up so we asked them to come back in 5 minutes once we could get out of the way. They didn't come back until 2 hours later. The next day they checked off a little form of what they had done but half of the items had not been. They took our dirty towels and did not replace them in the upper bathroom.
We were also pretty turned off by the 2 communal BBQs. Other guests left disgusting messes behind that didn't get cleaned up.
The lower bedroom is on the second floor walkway side and my sister in law was repeatedly awakened by people going by.
We had a positive experience bringing our dog (an extra charge). They brought cookies, poop bags and towels for her. In fact, she got more fresh towels than we did!
The direct access to the beach was great. We did enjoy ourselves but for what you pay, we expected the suite to be better equipped.
Tofino is a beautiful place but it has gotten absurdly expensive!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunChickRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

They upgraded us to a two bedroom suite without asking or charging extra. They carried our bags to the room ( we are in our 70's) and had treats for our two dogs.The beds have feather overlays,which they will remove if a firmer mattress is required.The kitchen and other facilities were of top quality and the gas fireplace added to the comfort of the suite. Housekeeping services were offered daily as part of the package. No hidden charges when we settled our account!. The resort is right on the beach and the sound of the breakers was soothing..Yes,we shall definitely return to this paradise. They don't have a restaurant but two minutes down the road to Tofino is a "Wild Cafe" which serves grilled sockeye salmon and homemade chips as well as a wide variety of other foods.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite offer a better view. . They are open to negotiations on price and upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chumleyNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear chumleyNanaimo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you are able to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kristen Graff
Manager
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here over Easter Weekend and really enjoyed our time there. The location is lovely, the staff, helpful and kind, the accomodation was perfect for us. The location is only 5 minutes from the village in Tofino so it's easy to bomb in and get supplies, visit shops, see the Galleries. We booked a one bedroom unit....our room was closest to the water and ultimately worth the wait. The sunsets were beautiful and the walk to Pettinger Point was worth the wander.

The Good:
Location
Full Kitchen
Helpful staff
Hot-tub
Gym
BBQ's

The needs improvement:
The mattress was so uncomfortable so we flipped it for mild improvement
check in was at 3pm... period
no restaurant or pub on site (But one next door at LB Lodge +$$)
Wi-fi was non-existent in our room.

Ultimately we really did love the location and the set-up at Cox Bay and have re-booked in a 2 bedroom loft for August with family for a surf lesson adventure :) we've booked with Pacific Surf School which is recommended by the resort and gives 10% off for guest...we'll review them when we get back. I would recommend other folks go and enjoy the peace and tranquility there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Happyroo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you plan to stay with us once again in the future. We appreciate the constructive criticism that you have provided and will do our best to rectify these issues. If you do have any further feedback or would like to discuss ways in which we can make your next stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact our reception.

We look forward to seeing you in August and would once again like to thank you for reviewing our property.

Kind Regards,

Kristen Graff
Manager
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Property: Cox Bay Beach Resort
Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino
Cox Bay Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing