We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cox Bay Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

4 of us did the girls weekend package, so two nights in number 32 and an hour long treatment included (a spa about 10 mins drive away). We all had a great time, the room was amazing - with a great view. The reception was helpful, and you could borrow all sorts of things (including rain jacket/boots, playing cards, flashlights). The only down side was that the hot tub wasn't working! Great 2 minute walk along the beach to a great bar next door too. Best bed I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Annabel H,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort during your Girls Getaway weekend. We are delighted that you enjoyed the unit, amenities and items available along with the beautiful view from unit #32!

We do apologize that the hot tub was under repair during your stay. I hope that you are able to take advantage of it on your return trip to gorgeous Tofino.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    97
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
87
154
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have been coming to Tofino regularly over the past decade and thought I'd give a new place a try.

Upon arrival, I had read reviews that said that parking was not close to the units, but didn't really find this to be a problem. Spaces are not reserved and if I found that if I left to go into town, a spot close to the front would be available when I got back. Learned that we would be in a one bedroom suite that was closest to the office, which was fine, but had booked almost 4 months in advance and despite requesting to be as close to the beach as possible, I quickly forgot about it.

The unit itself was beautiful. Brand new, and tastefully done but decorated in a way that captures Tofino's unique feel. The provided everything we could have needed for three nights. The dishwasher, candles, gas range and lots of extra pillows were all unexpected bonuses. The location too can't be beat - Cox Bay is by far the most beautiful spot in all of Tofino.

My only real issue with the resort was the lack of soundproofing. I was surprised to find that with a brand new development how much I could hear from all my upstairs neighbours. Every time someone and their dog walked up the stairs and to their two bedroom unit located above us sounded like a horse race commencing. I am personally a light sleeper and found this really hard to get around. For the amount of money I was spending and how excited I was to be back in my favourite spot, I was disappointed that I didn't really sleep for 3 nights. For this reason, I probably would not return unless I were on the top level, but then would be concerned that with each move I make I would be disturbing someone else's vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somethingblithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Somethingblithe,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not completely restful, as a trip to Tofino should be nothing but. Our property prides itself on being a peaceful and rejuvenating oasis and we extend our apologies that we did not live up to that in your case.

Unfortunately due to the proximity of the neighboring units and the fact that the buildings are all interconnected sometimes noise can travel from stairways and common pathways. We offer our apologies for the disturbances that you encountered during your stay.

We thank you for your comments on the units and are happy that you found them to be beautiful and capture Tofino’s unique feel.

Should you decide to join us here at Cox Bay Beach Resort on your next visit to Tofino I encourage you to get in touch with myself directly. I will personally ensure that your stay is nothing but wonderful the second time around!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Cox Beach Resort for the first time this fall based on the recommendation of a friend and I think it will become our go-to accommodation in Tofino from now on!

We had booked a One Bedroom Beach House but were upgraded to Two Bedroom on arrival – a very pleasant surprise!
The two bedroom units were extremely spacious with a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen, dining area and living room on the main floor. There is a spacious private deck as well. The second floor loft had the second bedroom (open to below), bathroom and laundry facilities. The unit was very well appointed – right down to luxurious robes!
The resort is new and everything is meticulously clean and well maintained.

We stayed with our two large dogs. Their pet charges were extremely reasonable and they were extremely welcoming to our pets. Many other guests had pets as well. The Cox Bay beach is the ultimate off-leash park.

Our only complaint was that the hot tub closes at 9PM which made it difficult to utilize in the evenings because we were often not done dinner in time. It was fantastic to be able to stumble off the beach after morning surf right into the hot tub however!

Especially at Storm Season rates, this resort cannot be beat for value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arohof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear arohof,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate your friends referral and are so very happy that our property will now be your "go-to accommodation" here in Tofino!

Like you, we agree that Cox Bay Beach is the ultimate location to spend time with your furry friends and we are glad that you and your pooch's enjoyed your time here.

Unfortunately our hot tub does close at 9:00pm, which can be found slightly early for those hoping for a late night soak. We will take your feedback into consideration when looking at our hours of operation in the future. I am happy that you did however get to enjoy it after a morning surf.

We hope that you and your furry friends join us here at Cox Bay Beach Resort on your next visit to beautiful Tofino!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a great surprise. Well appointed with everything we needed. The kitchen had all the cooking utensils we needed and a shared BBQ made for a nice evening in the unit after a day on the beach. Everything is well maintained. The only inconvenience and it really wasn't is that you can't park near the units so you have to carry your things to your room. They provide carts that made moving everything fairly easy. Definitely would return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear BudgetTraveler010,

Thank you for taking the time to share insight into your recent stay at Cox Bay Beach Resort. Myself and staff are thrilled to hear that you found our property to be a "great surprise" and that you enjoyed the well equipped unit and additional areas such as the provided BBQ's. The communal lounge and BBQ area is a great spot to relax and cook a meal after a day at the beach!

Our parking area is indeed further from the units than a typical Hotel or Resort, as the designer of the property wanted to refrain from intruding on the natural beauty and surroundings of the units. Should you decide to join us on your next visit to Tofino, our staff would be more than happy to assist you with your luggage.

We hope to see you again at Cox Bay Beach Resort on the Beautiful West Coast!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights last week to celebrate a birthday. Stayed in a ground floor one bedroom unit closest to the beach. Unit featured a well appointed kitchen with a gas range, nice sized living room and dining area. The bathroom was just as nice with lovely bathrobes. The bedroom featured a comfy king sized bed with lots of pillows and lots of space.

This resort provides lots of extras that other resorts may not think of...cozy throws, candles, wonderful local coffee, providing the option of coffee press or a drip coffee maker, laundry soap, rain gear etc. There is a outdoor hot tub which is my only complaint as they could easily quardruple the size of it. There is a lovely lounge for all guests to utilize and two huge bbqs. Also for surf gear...great storage and well thought out areas for cleaning everything.

The resort is right on Cox Bay Beach (hence the resort name) which is spectacular with tons of low tide explorations and marine life. In my opinion, the best beach in the area.

Staff is warm and friendly. They make you feel welcome and its easy to tell they enjoy working at the resort. A very relaxing visit and highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoriaflower_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Victoriaflower_123,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your birthday celebration weekend in Tofino!

Your review will be very helpful; informing future guests on what they might expect during their visit to our resort. We hope that others will also enjoy the amenities, comfortable robes and the delicious Tofino Coffee, as much as you did.

We appreciate and thank you again for your comments and hope that you will join us at Cox Bay Beach Resort during your next visit to Tofino.

Warm Regards,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
480 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The resort protects it's lighting by putting 200 lb rocks in front of some of the lights in the parking lot. These are about a foot high and difficult to see at night. They do considerable damage to the front of your car if hit, as I discovered the hard way. Other than that, this resort is very quiet, clean, and beautiful. The spa, staff and common areas are outstanding. There is no breakfast but the units have a kitchen. Eat dinner next door at the Long Beach Resort at sunset. The food and service is quite good. The beach is wonderful. This is a peaceful and romantic place to unwind, relax, and do nothing.

Room Tip: ask for a unit on the "sunny" side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodness4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear 371MikeB371,

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the incident that occurred in our parking area, as we understand how frustrating this situation would be. Because of your comment we will be looking into either removing the rocks from our parking area's or making them more visible to ensure that this does not happen to any of our future guests.

I thank you for sharing the positive feedback in regards to the resort and am very happy that apart from the incident in the parking area, you thoroughly enjoyed our property and found it to be peaceful and romantic.

Our wonderful staff, common areas and facilities are what keep guests coming back to the Resort and I hope that on your next visit to Tofino you decide to do the same.

Please get in touch with me personally when you are planning a return trip and I will ensure that we make your next visit exceptionally special.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a trip!! great drive across Van Island and a lovely location looking out into the Pacific! Apartment was gorgeous. Two level upper duplex with 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms. There were 5 adults staying there and 2 couples and a single on the pull out sofa and there was plenty of room!! kitchen facilities were brilliant, cooked in the apartment every night and also used the communal BBQ for steaks, fish and ribs!
You are right on the beach so it was perfect. It was very misty though when we were there and chilly but you drive 15-20 minutes inland and its nothing but blue skies and hothothot.
I would most definitely recommend TACOFINO for a fish taco and inland to Kennedy Lake and Wally Creek.

Driving home one afternoon to Cox Bay and a black bear just strolled out in front of the car and crossed the road!! EPIC!!!

Room Tip: I would suggest an upper duplex apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philodriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Philodriscoll,

Thank you so much for your sharing your wonderful stay here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the units to be "gorgeous" and found there to be ample room with 5 people staying inside.

The fish, steak and rib dinners that you were able to cook while utilizing the kitchen and our common BBQ area sounds lovely. Also delicious is the locals favourite, Tacofino that you mentioned in your review.

Having encountered a black bear on your journey home is very memorable, which few people get to experience in Tofino, neverless in a lifetime.

We hope that you choose to join us here at Cox Bay Beach Resort on your next visit to Tofino.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Property: Cox Bay Beach Resort
Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino
Cox Bay Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing