We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I wanted to experience Tofino for a couple of days and weren't sure where to stay. I found this place online and the pictures looked very nice and the rates were reasonable so we thought we'd try it out. We were not disappointed (other than the weather). THe property is very nice and the full kitchen including dishes & appliances were great. Loved having the fireplace and the heated floor in the washroom was a real treat. Watching the surfers was a treat. We'd definitely recommend this property to anyone and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Andrea O,

Thank you for sharing a review on your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. I am sorry to hear that the weather wasn’t what you were hoping for on your visit to Tofino, but am happy that you found comfort here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. The well-equipped units with the gas fireplace and heated floors definitely make for a pleasant and snug vacation when bearing the rain.

We look forward to hosting you again at Cox Bay Beach Resort on your next visit to Tofino and hope that the weather is more pleasing the next time around!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    98
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
93
154
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We hadn't booked a place to stay so went to the nearby tourist info centre and it was recommended. We were not disappointed and booked two, 1 bed apartments they were beautiful one on the top floor and one on the ground floor. The standard of rooms and all it's amenities including the log fire , cooker and laundry facilities were great. The staff were helpful and very pleasant . We would recommend this to friends and if we venture back we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent visit to Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are glad to hear that the recommendation from the Tofino Information Center did not disappoint you!

We appreciate your future recommendation to friends and hope to host you again should you return to the wild and wonderful Tofino.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The past few times I'd visited Tofino, I stayed in tents or in a panel van so for this trip I wanted to sleep somewhere nicer than my own home. I found it at Cox Bay Resort. It was the photos from the website and the reasonable price that convinced me this was the place for me.

The photos showed a modern & cool, comfortable and convenient place right on the beach. When we arrived (three of us) it was an easy, quick & friendly check-in. They have tons of free parking and nice wooden carts to roll your luggage to your room. The rooms are either one level suites on the ground level or two storey (with loft) from the 2nd floor up. There's a covered walkway to all the rooms or you can walk in the front or rear of both buildings. Our room was clean and comfortable. Heated bathroom floors and nice blinds. Big soaker tubs with nice water-pressure in showers. Partial view of the ocean from Room 30. Small balcony. Full kitchen and two bathrooms. Bonus....Free Wi-fi !! (most nice hotels like this charge for Wi-Fi)

The staff, (who we only saw a few times the whole three days we were there) were friendly and efficient. We saw only a handful of other guests. The place was quiet and secluded.

There's a hot tub, reading lounge and other amenities that we didn't check out. Only a ten minute drive to Tofino.


We checked out other hotels in Tofino and Ucluelet and this was by far the best value and location. If you're a surfer, I think this place would be ideal - right on the beach.

Room Tip: More likely to get a glimpse of the ocean from a Loft-style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALKamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear ALKamino,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed the property and found the check in process quick and efficient as well enjoyed the comfort of the units, their amenities and the friendly staff.

Our property is ideal for both those here to enjoy a surfing vacation or those simply looking to get away and relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery that Tofino and the Pacific Rim National Park have to offer.

We do often offer last minute booking deals, which make the modern and well equipped units very good value for Tofino accommodation.

Again we thank you for your review and hope that you can join us again on your next visit to Tofino.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Beautiful grounds, nice location (close but not right in town), RIGHT on the beach - and a good one to surf at. Shower room and hot tub are a treat after a cold water surf. The unit was clean, well decorated, spacious and had EVERYthing we needed - fireplace, right down to a blender :) Would highly recommend this to couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear VeryUpsetTourist,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are thrilled that you found our grounds, location and facilities to be pleasing. Our units are fully equipped to ensure that people visiting the resort find themselves relaxed, with all of the amenities that one could need in a “home away from home” surrounding.

We appreciate your recommendation to others and hope that you will join us again on your next visit to the beautiful Tofino!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

4 of us shared a 2 bedroom suite for a Super Bowl Sunday night get away. The large TV hangs over the gas fireplace in a very comfortable 2 story living room. It was all very enjoyable and not just because Seattle won. These suites are extremely well designed. The 2 couples have separate bedrooms with ensuite bathroom. Nice touches like heated tile floors, plush bathrobes and high interior windows for light make you want to just soak longer. My wife and I had the the loft bedroom with huge window everywhere. At night, powered window shades come down for privacy and complete darkness. The beds are extremely comfortable. The end tables and headboards are made from blocks of BC fir. It is nice to see that Cox Bay Resorrt furnished these suites with locally made furniture. I liked the end tables so much I am making a set for our bedroom at home. The kitchen had everything we needed. Our dilemma was do we eat in out or out at one of the many restaurants close by. So we did both. Our only regret was that we could only stayed just the one night. Oh yea the beach is incredible!

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom loft and share the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaynardRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear MaynardRob,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We here at the resort are so happy that you had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay for the Super bowl!

We love that you are taking inspiration from the furniture and décor inside our units to coordinate into your own home. All the best with your side tables!

We hope to see you again on the beautiful West Coast and for longer than one night next time.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I recently spent two nights at Cox Bay Beach Resort and found the accommodations to be very good. The suites were new and very clean and it was affordable. We especially loved the heated tile floor in the bathroom. Although we did not have a view we were steps from the hot tub and the beach. They also have very nice common spaces that you can utilize. I found that staff to be very helpful and accommodating. I had forgotten something in the room and went back the next day and although the room was occupied the staff did not hesitate to retrieve the item for me. The only thing that would like to have seen different was their choice in beds, as the bed was more like a futon than a regular bed. Regardless, I would highly recommend Cox Bay Beach Resort as a place to stay in Tofino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear June H,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on your recent visit to Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are happy that you found the accommodations to be “very good” and “very clean”, as we pride ourselves on having units that are so fully equipped that they make our guests feel like they are in a home away from home. The heated floors in the bathrooms are definitely a favorite feature of many guests of the resort!

I am sorry to hear that you found our beds to be less than satisfactory. We do use high quality Sealy Posturpedic mattresses with additional microfiber mattress pads for added comfort inside all of our units, but I do understand that not everyone has like preferences when it comes to sleeping situations and for this we apologize.

We thank you again for your high recommendation and hope that you are able to join us again here at Cox Bay Beach Resort in the future!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed many times through the past three years and love that it contains everything you need. Great beach access, washer/dryer, kitchen, big tub, fireplace and great common areas! Something for most anyone and our favourite combination of comfort, accessibility and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRO6011CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear PaulRO6011CT,

Thank you very much for sharing a review on Trip Advisor for Cox Bay Beach Resort and returning to our property for three years consecutively!

We greatly value your business and are very happy that you enjoy the facilities, location, comfort of the units and property here at the resort.

We greatly look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Tofino!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Property: Cox Bay Beach Resort
Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino
Cox Bay Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing