We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, quiet and well located spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great, quiet and well located spot”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Vancouver Island trip to relax and enjoy. The property is pretty new and everything is then also spotless in-and outside. We are 5 so took one of the bigger upstair rooms at the Northside given us great sun on the terrace that is South oriented. There is seperate smaller room downstair, then there is a mezanine upstairs and the sofa downstairs gives you an extra bed. The upstair mezanine bed has the best views and is most pleasant but gives less privacy so kids slept there. Otherwise very well equipped kitchen with dishwash and all you need to do great dining.
Private access to the beach, one of the better ones of Tofino. Hot tub & infra red sauna all available as well as public place, watchtower and common BBQ.
10 minutes drive from downtown Tofino.
Would go here again.

Room Tip: Corner Suite with terrace facing south is great. First floor is more privacy and better views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear TheFoxies,

Thanks for posting your comments about the resort and your recent stay with us. I am happy that your family of 5 enjoyed the resort and the fully equipped and self-contained suites.

Being now only 6 years old, Cox Bay Beach Resort is the newest build resort in Tofino and you are correct that our north side buildings do receive wonderful afternoon sun!

In future if looking for a little bit more privacy for your family our two bedroom beach house units located on the south side of the property do have two bedrooms which are fully enclosed along with the sofa bed in the living area.

We hope that you are able to join us again on the beautiful West Coast on your next visit to Tofino and Canada.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    98
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
91
154
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had a group of 6 for our trip to Tofino so we ended up booking Cox Bay Beach Resort in one of the two bedroom loft apartments. There were two seperate bedrooms plus a pull out sofa in the living room which slept 6 comfortably. The apartment also had two bathrooms plus a washer, dryer and a dishwasher along with a patio and fireplace. All the amenities we needed were in the apartment and the resort including a hot tub and BBQ area as well as a lounge are which was nice for chilling out in the evening whilst we used the BBQ. We were there to surf and it is located on the most consistant surfing beach in Tofino which was fantastic. There was no need to travel any where else. The resort does not have a restaurant but it is located next door to the Long Beach Resort which has a lovely restaurant and bar as well as a beach bistro. It is about 5km from town however we rented bicycles and commuted into town via the bike path that begins out the front of the resort and goes straight into town. Very convenient. All in all a great experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Kate H,

Thank you for taking time to share a review of your recent stay here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. I am happy that your group of 6 found the accommodations comfortable and that you enjoyed the amenities both in the units as well as on the property.

We agree that if you are here to surf, Cox Bay Beach is definitely the most consistently good location for both beginners and those more advanced.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again on your return trip to the resort and Tofino!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The resort is in a great location on Cox Bay which is a stunning beach popular with surfers. It is a 15 minute drive from the centre of Tofino or alternatively there is a cycle path that runs alongside the road and takes you all the way into Tofino. We found the resort to be very peaceful - there isn't much here apart from a hot-tub, fitness room (which our teenagers appreciated), shared BBQ and the beach - which was just what we were looking for. The accommodation was well laid out, clean and comfortable. Our loft suite included a small double bedroom, lovely airy and spacious double 'loft' room which is above the lounge/kitchen, 2 large bathrooms, outdoor patio.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor and we did not notice any noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Andy B,

Thank you sharing a review on your recent stay here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property. We are excellently located just outside of the Pacific Rim National Park where many beautiful walking trails can be located, as well as the Tofino Village is a close 7km journey by bicycle or car.

I am glad that the peaceful tranquility of the resort was exactly what you were looking for on your vacation to Tofino and that your teenagers appreciated the hot tub.

Myself and all of the staff hope that you are able to join us again on your next visit to the wild West Coast!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After extensively considering many accommodations, in the end chose the C.B.B.R. Exceptional location with stylish, distinctive and, well-equipped suites. Excellent amenities and grounds are well maintained. Thoughtful layout allowing for wonderful views. Surpassed expectations of a critical traveler. After seeing other resorts in the area, I believe this resort is under- rated and could benefit from more marketing exposure. So glad that we had the opportunity to experience this amazing resort.

Lisa R

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Lisa R,

Thank you very much for your glowing review of your recent stay at Cox Bay Beach Resort!

It always excites myself and the staff to hear such warm words about the property and an exceptional guest experience.

The architect who designed the resort put great thought into ways to utilize the property whilst still complimenting the wild and amazingly beautiful coastline.

We are happy that you chose Cox Bay Beach Resort and hope that you are able to join us again on your next vacation to Tofino.

Kindest Regards,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice location and good sized suites. Not overly clean but decent (tables were very dusty). We were very disappointed that the main hotel amenity (hot tub) was out of service during our stay. We chose this hotel based on the location but also because of the hot tub (we knew we would be sore after hiking) We felt they should have notified us that this service was out of commission during booking and at minimum advise us at check-in. We learned the hot tub was out of service once we got settled in as they had yellow tape and a sign saying they are working on the area. Obviously, this was planned construction so even more reason why they should have notified their guests. Not sure I would return to be honest as this is basic customer service and courtesy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Angie L,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay here at the resort. By now you will have received my direct response to your personal e-mail regarding the issues noted here.

I would again like to extend my apologies and ask that you contact me personally should you wish to have further discussion or if you would like to join us here again on your next visit to beautiful Tofino. I would ensure that your next visit to Cox Bay Beach Resort would be without disappointment.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

great location, great rooms, wish the house keeping was a bit more attentive. all the kids that work there are so lazy and cut corners and don't maintain the room. I realize it is hard to remove sand etc, but it is their job to maintain the place

Room Tip: make sure you ask for housekeeping at least an hour before going back to the room because if it isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DevenSN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear DevenSN123,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding you recent experience at the resort. I apologize for the substandard attentiveness that you received during your stay on our property.

I will be addressing your comments with the housekeeping team to ensure that they are reminded of the high level of cleanliness that is expected here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We do pride ourselves on having the opposite of what you have noted; an energetic, young and hard-working team. That being said there will always be occasions where small details are missed and I again apologize that you experienced one of those occasions during your time with us.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself directly should you have any other comments or concerns. Our hope is that should you return to our area, we would be given the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not represent our brand.

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent one night with visiting friends in early June . We both found our units to be very well appointed and clean . The location of the property was exactly what we were looking for and the last minute rate we received was very reasonable in comparison to other similar properties .

The only suggestion I would make is to somehow dim the porch security light . With both the opaque entry and bedroom doors it is quite bright in the bedroom .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Trego,

Thank you for sharing a review on your recent stay here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are happy that you had a “great stay” and found our units to be well appointed and clean. Our location on the beautiful Cox Bay Beach is an ideal spot for surfing and beach combing while still being within a 10 minute drive to the village of Tofino.

I appreciate your suggestion regarding the lighting outside the units. These lights are on a timer and are there to ensure safe entrance and exit for guests while staying on our property; however for future we are happy to remove and or replace individual lights with lower wattage bulbs to allow for a more restful sleep. I will take your comments and look at options in regards to changing bulbs/lighting fixtures that may cause a disturbance in guest’s suites whilst still keeping pathways lit for safety.

We hope that you are able to join us again on the Wild West Coast and thank you for choosing Cox Bay Beach Resort!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Property: Cox Bay Beach Resort
Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino
Cox Bay Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing