We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refund still pending”
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina West Motel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refund still pending”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I purchased a voucher via Living Social to stay at Marina West for myself and my fiancee for Valentine's Day

After reading some of the review here, we decided to cancel our stay

The manager Brialyn Roberts accepted immediately and offered to process our refund - however, I have yet to receive it and have since emailed management chasing up the request

Will happily report back here further pending the outcome of my inquiry

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optifitdotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    108
    93
    54
    45
See reviews for
59
169
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been to Tofino on many occasions. Usually the weather is something out of Whuthering Heights or a recreation of the Battle of the North Atlantic. In those conditions you definitely prefer something on the west side of town looking into the weather. In this instance in the month of July 2013 we were faced with the unlikely scenario of sustained very warm weather in southwestern British Columbia. This prompted the decision for three days sojourn over to Tofino. We booked the Marina West Motel online.

Price was quite reasonable for the height of summer. This is a really nice facility with a pub and fishing charters, whale watching etc. charters available on-site. The combination was a good value for the price, particularly in summertime. This would not be the ideal location for a off-season storm watching trip but for the height of summer you can't beat the value.

Room Tip: The queen bed for two people was ideal. This room would be squishy with more then two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We visited Tofino as part of our 25th Anniversary trip to Canada. The price of the hotels in the area are quite high so we quickly ruled out some of the more 'classy' numbers as over budget. Our agent (Brewsters) recommended Marina West as a good option within our price range.

The location is great with excellent views from our top floor room. It was nice to have comfy chairs to sit in and watch the world go by on the water below. The room was clean if a little basic (smallest bed of the holiday - just a plain double) but the facilities all did what you would expect and we weren't there to sit all day in the room when all the wildlife was calling. We used Jamies Whaling Station and had great whale and bear watching trips over two mornings.

We ate in the Green Room Diner for two meals and a breakfast. The food was good, the girls serving were friendly and helpful so all in all a pretty good experience.

Room Tip: We were in the top floor of the building closest to reception and got excellent views over the harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed a week at Marina West - in a nice, big apartment with 2 rooms (1 living room with small kitchen and a bedroom), with quite a big balcony including view on the ocean. Staff was very nice, the price reasonable and everything else in town is only a short walk away.

Further, we booked a Hot Springs tour right down at the dock, which was great. Our tour guide - Ike - was doing all the extras our group enjoyed. He fished (in less than 1 minute!) a rock fish and fed it to an eagle who was flying by - amazing! We also saw lots of sea lions and grey whales. But the best was that we went further out on the ocean to look for humpback whales. We stayed close to one that was jumping out of the water, showed his fins, turned around... it was impressive. Our guide had the "good eyes" to spot everything and made our tour so special. Hot Springs is definitively the best tour in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If you are looking for a top of the line resort, this is not your place. Rooms are comfortable and clean and close to everything. The diner and bar that are with the motel are good, food is tasty and service is quick. Only complaint, the room they advertise that is "Two Queens" is not...more like two Double beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelilahL231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I will look into the bed size as we do have queen sized beds. Look forward to seeing you back on the coast soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

First, I will say this is NOT one of those posh, exclusive out-of-town resorts - Marina West Motel is right on the main road entering Tofino, easily found, and so easy from which to explore Tofino, itself. And yet, you will experience almost no road noise or interruptions, as the rooms' backs and entrance doors face toward the road, and their fronts, most with balconies, face the ever-changing and delightful views of the working harbour and the wild lands just beyond.

Complete with a separate bedroom, our third-floor, two-queen-bed room (VERY comfortable beds) enjoyed a corner fireplace, a bar fridge, and full coffee and tea-making facilities; the bathroom was a little 'retro', with only a shower stall, but it was spotlessly clean; the concrete balcony (completely private due to tall partitions, and accessed via huge sliding glass doors) was in need of a thoroughly bleaching to remove mildew discolouration (admittedly rampant in this marine climate), but was equipped with simple colourful deck chairs, all of which were forgotten in the pleasure of taking in the ever-changing views.

With the bar fridge to store food, it was possible to stroll the 10-15 minute walk to the Co-op store for breakfast or lunch things, which we did. On our last day, it was an even easier stroll over to one of the many eateries close by (and there are many) for a full breakfast to last us for the day's travel back home. Along the way are all kinds of artisans' shops, gift shops, and at least one major bank that we saw (CIBC)... along with all kinds of surfing shops for those who've come to the West Coast for waves!

The Marina West also offers its own restaurant and pub right on-site (a steep walk downhill from your room, then back up after), in a delightful building built on wharf pilings, right at the shore. And such a view from all the windows!

There are also all kinds of tour companies in Tofino for heading out to watch whales, seals, sea lions, eagles, and all kinds of other wild birds. The Marina West Motel offers their own services, and we took advantage of their special guest rates to head out for a 2 1/2 hour tour in an open Zodiac (available in the late spring/summer season; they also have a larger enclosed boat). Ensconced in marine safety suits, we revelled in the wind and waves struck by brilliant sunshine (we were so lucky!); and especially, we were thrilled by several close sightings of a mama whale and baby, at times not far off our bow! What an experience, even for someone who grew up on boats on this west coast!

Yes, we sure will go back to the Marina West (but be sure to ask for a room on the second or third floor - I suspect the lower rooms may have little more than a view of the parking lot).

Room Tip: As I mentioned above, choose a room on the second or third floor for a balcony and view! Also ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybug_and_BigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and have always prided ourselves on delivering best economical stay in Tofino as well as the convenience of being downtown so you can walk everywhere. Glad to hear our new mattresses were enjoyed. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I travelled to Tofino for the first time this past weekend for an overnight adventure. I wasn't sure what to expect as my travel buddy booked the room, but I was pleasently surprised. The hotel has a ton of character, the evening front desk staff were very friendly & helpful, the room itself was spacious & had a great view of the habour. Plus we were steps away from the only late night pub in town.

I definitely reccomend taking part in some sort of island tour if your visiting for the first time, we chose the hotsprings boat tour, (I'm pretty sure there's a couple different companies that offer it) which included a boat tour accross the ocean to a beautiful island, and amazing hike through the rain forest down to a natural hot springs pool, it was amazing!

Needless to say I can't wait to return, and the Marina West hotel will be my first choice for accomadations :D

Room Tip: Harbour View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabbyLey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,030 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Property: Marina West Motel
Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino
Marina West Motel Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing