We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wildlife watching!”
Review of Ocean Outfitters

Ocean Outfitters
Ranked #5 of 50 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tofino's award winning whale watching company- voted #1 Readers Choice Award for six years! Join Ocean Outfitters for adventures in Clayoquot Sound including guaranteed whale watching, bear watching, coastal hotsprings tours, private charters, sea to sky tours and Meares Island walks. Comfortable covered vessels and zodiacs equipped with washrooms. Free parking. On site gallery and espresso bar. Open year round for hotsprings tours. Book online and save!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wildlife watching!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We took a whale watching tour with our two boys (3 & 6) and our friendly, enthusiastic and hugely knowledgeable guide Misty Lawson. She opened the tour saying that she loved questions and true to her word, she did. And she had answers as well - to questions about whales, birds, sea anemone, starfish and pretty much whatever came to our minds.
We saw 3 California Grey Whales, Ospreys, California and Steller's Sea Lions, Guillemots, Oystercatchers, Auklets and even a Harbour Porpoise - to name the ones I remember. Misty even let our boys pilot the boat, which they really enjoyed!
Highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ananda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    41
    14
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Today we went on a whale watch tour/ to the Hot Springs and we decided to return via the float plane. It was definately worth while as the views are amazing. Our skipper was Misty who is a local and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We saw sea otters, sea lions and even a California whale breeching. Once on the island there is a boardwalk through the rainforest to the hot springs. This walk takes around 30 minutes and has lots of steps so it is not advisable for everone. The plane with Dan was a great finish to the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Great tour to see the bears!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very pleasant tour and very professionally equipped and organized!!! we saw two bears!! one with 3 cubs and one with two! we had plenty of time to observe them with full respect of them. But we also see other wildlife such as seals, eagles and gigantic starfishes!!!

thanks a lot for the awsome tour!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great tour of the coast!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We took a whale-watching excursion with Ocean Outfitters with our teen and tween daughters - what a great way to spend a morning! We saw three grey whales, sea lions, sea otters, bald eagles and got a great look at the landscape.

The boat was small, but had a cabin with fairly comfortable seats - best option, we thought, since zodiac tours were too open, but you got a better look at things than in one of the larger excursion boats. You could step outside to the back deck if you wanted a clearer view of things as well.

I can't say enough good things about our captain and guide, Brady. He had an excellent knowledge of the coast and the ecology and was very personable and great talking with the kids, explaining how the sea otters live in the kelp beds and even pulled in some kelp for us to sample (not an offensive taste, but a bit slimy on the texture side!) and examine.

I would highly recommend this tour company!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 24fps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“MORE THAN PROMISED BY FAR!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I took their Hot Springs Cove trip. This trip is a little over 6 hours and we did and saw more than promised. We took the outside route in the open ocean and saw sea otters and grey whales. Our captain, Mike, was very knowledgeable and provided us with a running commentary during the marine part of the trip. The hot springs are about a 25 to 30 minute walk on a well maintained boardwalk with a multitude of marked steps up and down. Being part mountain goat for the hot springs would be an advantage, since the rocks are slippery and steep. The view is excellent and the exercise both ways welcome. Mike was at the dock to pick us up promptly, and took the inside passage on the way back. We saw more otters, a bald eagle and two or three killer whales. The real bonus was a black bear with what I would guess would be a two year old cub. Mike spotted it at a great distance, then rapidly brought us in very close. The mother bear was teaching the cub how to crab, and it was truly amazing to watch. The mother would effortlessly move large rocks (small boulders) and we got close enough to see both of them eat. We got back to the dock shortly after 4 PM as promised. Excellent outfitters offering a memorable trip of exceptional value!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gmdalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing