We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“smelly room”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As I walked in I smelt the pungent odor of fish. I had to clean the fridge and spray deodorizer throughout the room. The view would have been amazing if the window seals in the room weren't damaged. The tub drained faster than I could put water in it. The check out lady could care less how my stay was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Clayton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Wow, I fully understand your disappointment, however I assure you that your experience with our housekeeping and indeed the entire team is not at all usual or like us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We recently spoke and I know we resolved this issue with you in person.
We care! Lou R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    486
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
329
617
41
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visit Tofino every year and have been going to the Tin Wis for the past 4 years! I can only say great things! Amazing customer service, amazing views of the ocean, great restaurant with awesome view and very pet friendly!! We have 2 large dogs and they love coming here as much as we do!! We cannot wait to visit this July (for 10 days yay! )!! I've been counting down the days since well over 100 days ago when we booked!! Thank you Tin Wis for making our yearly Tofino trips so memorable!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tararbertrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

On your next trip, please call me directly when making your reservation.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We just had an incredible stay at Tin Wis! The views from the room were so beautiful it was hard to leave. The hotel is situated right on MacKenzie Beach. This is a fantastic place to say as a couple or a family. Friendly, polite staff willing to help however they can. Clean, newly renovated rooms and very comfy beds. Amenities include fitness room, hot tub, rooms with small kitchenette, restaurant, beach access, and more! We stayed with our family of 5 and had an all-around fantastic time. We highly recommend staying at Tin Wis. Read our full review here on Traveling Islanders - Travel Blog: http://www.travelingislanders.com/tin-wis-best-western-resort-•-tofino-bc/

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. Pick the bottom level if you have kids for easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

On your next trip, please call me directly when making your reservation.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Front desk staff and housekeepers are very friendly and always smiling. They make you feel at home at this resort. This is our second time at this hotel and we'd go back in a heartbeat! We love that the Best Western Tin Wis accommodates dogs, has great views, and that the sliding door opens right onto the lawn in front of the beach! 2 thumbs up to Paul Dodds- you run an amazing hotel!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to a small amount of noise, request an upper floor room. On the other hand I li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wonderful location. Great beach Great staff at the Hotel and good service in the restaurant Nice to be able to have a fire on the beach. Makes such a difference So nice to see working aboriginals producing such a high standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BillBo-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The Beachside Bistro is open to non guests and had fantastic views of the ocean, very friendly service and great food. This was a surprise find on our recent whale watching trip and much more upmarket than you would expect at a Best Western without the prices of a higher end resort. The dinner menu is varied, very well priced and served piping hot. The steak, salmon and ribs were delicious and the crab specials looked amazing. We were so impressed we headed back for breakfast the next morning and were equally impressed. Killer views from all the tables. Smiling staff made us feel most welcome. Well done Tin Wis!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A very nice Best Western. We booked early with a 24 hour room sale online. Rooms newly renovated and very clean. All with good views. Wish they had a scale in the gym area but other than that can't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canabrit2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We appreciate your very kind comments.
Thank you
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Property: Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western
Best Western Tin Wis Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing