We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, very good for what I paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacKenzie Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Kent
2 reviews
“Excellent location, very good for what I paid”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have just returned from Tofino and stayed at Macknezies 16th,17th and 18th Sept 2013. Before I went I had read the reviews, good and bad so wasn’t quite sure but had a feeling all would be good-and I was right. First off I found the lady who checked me in as very polite and helpful. I was given cabin 7. Absolutely spotless, the stone tiled floor there was no dust built up, the bathroom shower too- normally you would have a slight discolouring or evidence of lime scale - but none. Nice toilettes which I was not expecting.
The microwave, kettle, coffee machine(with coffee) utensils all clean.The bed was very comfortable, sheets clean with no smell!(as mentioned in another review on here) It is dated, the windows sliding type and basic- but you have to remember the price is cheaper, and if you want Best Western up dated style etc.....go to Best Western, and pay the price !
I had a lovely view though trees facing the sea, and 20 seconds down some steps I was on the beach. At night the sound of the sea was lovely. Ideal location, 35mins walk from Tofino and there is a cycle track you can walk all rather than on the road. Also within 15 minutes walk form the resort is a small but great grocery store, smoothie place, grill take out, couple of clothing stores and bike hire. There is a coast walk being built from Mckenzies to Tofino, but its not yet complete
On my check out I promised to write a review, it is my honest reflection of a great stay and would recommend the cabins. I paid £208 for the three nights,Very good, great location. You've got to go and see the sunsets on the beach!

Room Tip: I would recommend Cabin 7, which is a double room . I was travelling on my own and this was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    53
    26
    35
    98
See reviews for
81
91
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The cabin is nice enough, wood for fire was wet though, pool not open. Just think people of tofino should feel guilty for the price charged! $800 for 2 nights on a rainy September?? You could almost build a cabin for that price. Last year we went to Washington and got a cabin on the beach for $60..... Less than 10 percent of the price...fishing was better also.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geodiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I never ended up staying here as I was completely put off by the appalling customer service during the booking process.

I booked a 3 bedroomed cabin via their website and received an email confirmation, only to hear later that they were not taking bookings and they would not honour my existing booking.

They were rude and unapologetic and I have no intention of considering this resort in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I’ve been camping my fair share over the years and have been to many many many campsites all over and I have never been to a place as bad as this. I’m laid back when it comes to camping and expect very little when living the tent site lifestyle but this place pushed it to the max. I can only be thankful from this experience is that we only had to endure one night. If
Our original spot was in the back lot. When we went to our assigned spot the ground was nothing but rocks, not gravel or reasonable smooth stones but small sharp rocks. It was very small and far away from the bathrooms. We played the game and forked out the extra money to camp on the beach to at least have a reasonable surface to sleep on.
Bathrooms were small cramped and disgusting. There are only three bathrooms for all campers. One of the bathrooms had human waste smeared on the walls. The walls are also full of graffiti including inappropriate language. The bathrooms are also so small and cramped that trying to change close is nearly impossible without leaning up against a wall. Also, there is no soap so bring your own to wash your hands.
Showers…we never got to see or use the showers. Though we paid the fee for the night we never got to use this amenity. We got in later than expected and were denied access to the showers unless we gave a cash only deposit for a key. Being it was late and we had no cash on us we lost out on our paid for showers.
In regards to parking, there was very little parking for beach campsites. You have to haul everything for your campsite with you and find a random place to park your car. There was little parking space that was near the road that led to the campsite.
BEARS! Bears are common to be seen or observed around the area and wilderness of Vancouver Island (hence the offered bear watching tours). This place did not have a bear proof dumpster. How that’s even a possibility to not have one in an area that is known to have bears is irresponsible. As I was walking to the bathroom at night I found myself crossing paths with a bear who was on his way to visiting the dumpster. Fortunately he took off when we made eye contact, but later in the morning I found he had returned by seeing the entire dumpster emptied out and smeared across the parking lot. How can a place that offers camping be so irresponsible?

Don’t stay here or camp here. The photos on their website are misleading or as we call selective photography. Go somewhere else. There are plenty of other places to stay with a beach view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhotoJAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

MBR is located right at the beach and close to Tofino. We stayed 3 nights in suite 14, part of the pool building. The suite was clean and convenient and the BR was quiet. Linens weren't new but everything was very clean. The salt water pool and hot tub were immaculately clean. Service was friendly and helpful.
The beach is sheltered by a group of small islands near shore. The sunsets are stunning, just like a Roy Henry Vickers print. It's very popular with dog owners who mostly let their dogs run free. To escape the dogs and find the open ocean, Chesterman Beach is a 2 minute drive south and Incinerator Rock at Long Beach is about 10 minutes away.
Note: Value rating is based on Tofino prices during the warm season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blvd_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in Cabin #1 for three nights with guests from the UK (a total of 6 people). We all enjoyed our stay - the location is perfect, right on the beach. The cabin is comfortable and tidy and we had no problems. It's not upscale but it's totally acceptable. Towels are not new; bedding is not new; but everything's clean and perfectly serviceable. Being right on the water on the edge of a rainforest, things get damp and don't dry easily but that's an outcome of the climate. Staff are friendly and helpful; no problems there. We had free Wifi, firewood, and all our questions were answered in a courteous manner. We very much enjoyed the hot tub!

The only drawback, and this is not specific to the resort, is that MacKenzie Beach is over-run with dogs! With several properties on the beach that accommodate dogs, it's basically turned the beach into a big dog park. Most are off leash and a lot of the owners don't pick up after them. I am a dog owner and I love dogs but I don't appreciate off-leash dogs in a place that's important habitat for shorebirds. I feel that users of the resort should leash their dogs and not allow them to roam free and that goes for EVERYONE who brings their dogs to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_n_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked this hotel for a one-night stay in Tofino in August. We accidentally drove past the facilities and ended up at Middle Beach Resort, where the receptionist directed us to "go back to where all the potholes are in the road".

When we entered the office, we immediately understood why we had never gotten the confirmation email that we had requested. There were signs listing the cost to pay for wifi and an additional cost if you needed to plug in any of your devices to charge them.

We were shown to our room, which we were told was one of the nicest they had, and it was absolutely filthy. We did not even need to unmake the bed or inspect behind the furniture to see that it hadn't been properly cleaned or maintained. We decided right away to cut our losses and find somewhere else to spend the night.

We were not looking for anything fancy or upscale, just somewhere clean to sleep. This was not it. The Mackenzie Beach Resort has a good location and would gain a lot from a thorough cleaning and some maintenance of their grounds and units.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an ocean-view room. Some cabins may have ocean-view rooms but our view was impeded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKenzie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Property: MacKenzie Beach Resort
Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool(which is currently down for repairs) and hot tub for guests Resort & camping open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino
MacKenzie Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing