We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Mackenzie Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacKenzie Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Reviewed 20 July 2007

The reviews of the past couldn't be further from the reality of the present. The new managers, Debbie and Fraser, are as good as they get. Not only are they personable, they made every effort to ensure that we had a great time at their resort.
We stayed in Cabin 1, so we were in direct view of the beach. Just step outside and you're there. The cabin was clean and comfortable and we felt right at home. At nighttime the place was quiet and we were undisturbed.
Be aware that this is not the Ritz! This is more like having your own vacation home - you get what you make of it.
We highly recommend MBR and will definitely stay there again.
Gene/Debbie K and Family

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeneKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2007

read all the reviews on mackenzie beach resort prior to taking the chance to go there (many good many bad) so was very unclear as what to do because as most know once your in tofino and dont have a place to stay you could easily be SOL....first of all the service i received over the phone was very helpfull in picking a tent spot and when was the best time to get there so these sites would be there .....because you cannot reserve tent sites ...upon arival i was up graded to the beach tent sites at same price wich thrilled my girlfriend and her 2 teenage daughters (thanks FRASER you saved my a**) the beach sites are very nice ... and like in the description there are just steps away from the beach...and the beach is beautiful...again getting back to the service ....the service we received was excellent ..the couple that was managing the resort while we were there went out of ther way to make shure everyone enjoyed there stay and were super friendly .....now as for the resort ...if you want a pamperd 5 star resort this is not it !!!! ....if you want a relaxed time and are not botherd by little things ..that arn,t 100% mackenzie beach resort has alot to ofer ......i most certainly will be back

Stayed: July 2007
Thank burntfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at Mackenzie Beach. The resort has really friendly and helpful staff and I couldn't fault the tidyiness of cabin number 4 which we stayed in. Me and my family really enjoyed being close to the beach and using the heated indoor swimming and hot tub at mackenzie (its defintely something to think about if the weather turns). The managers gave us good recommendations for tour companies to go whale watching with and overall we had a really excellent time. I would overwhelmingly suggest to stay here and I will hopefully be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MichelleTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

This resort is a fantastic place to stay in Tofino. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful (we bought a leaking tent and it was raining too hard to cook and they helped us out with both problems tremendously) and the location is amazing - you step off the resort grounds and onto the beach! The facilities are also great - the hot tub and swimming pool are both kept in great condition.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ejaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

We arrived at the Mackenzie Beach Resort as walk in's after Tofino seemed to be booked out. I therefore have seen the reviews only after returning - and have been glad to. The management definitively must have changed, as the actual couple is very kind and helpful, really nice and friendly people. When we first arrived we asked for a cottage they did not have anymore and they sent us to a friend of theirs who has a B&B (Red Crow), but also he was booked. He was very helpful and volunteered to arrange something for us and called around. At the end, he sent us back to Mackenzie where he had arranged the pool cottage for us. We enjoyed this very much, with a kitchen with everything we needed and just a short walk to the beach. Even with the rainy weather we stayed outdoor the whole day fishing in lakes and rivers and our son enjoyed very much the heated indoor pool upon return. We can warmly recommend the resort and thank management for all their efforts to have us have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

We stayed here on a last minute notice. Called two days before and the person I spoke to, "Debbie" was incredibly helpful and got my family the accommodations we needed for Easter weekend. There must have been a huge change over in management from when others on here have stayed, Fraser and Debbie (the new managers, I'm told) were awesome. They helped us with the whale watching tours as well as getting us set up for surfing instructions and rentals. They even went as far as finding us some great dining the first night and some great fresh crab the next!. I can't say enough about what a great time we had there. When we accidently locked ourselves out of our cabin, The manager Fraser, came to our rescue, even at 6am in the morning...what a great guy.
I highly reccommend this as a vacation destination and we will be back. The kids LOVED the pool and the hot tub was perfect..Thank You!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robb2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

It was not until after we returned from our stay at Mackenzie Beach Resort that I read some of the negative Trip Advisor reviews. It was hard to believe we had stayed at the same resort!
We were welcomed warmly and our waterview room was ready for us despite our early arrival. Every effort was made to make our stay enjoyable from advice as to where to eat , to interesting hikes in the area. As often happens in Tofino, it rained throughout our stay and we both enjoyed the warm pool and hot tub after hours of wet walking. The proximity of the beach made a quick walk by the ocean entirely feasible despite inclement weather . One can even walk into Tofino to enjoy the restaurants and stores. Had the weather been better we would have taken a whale watching or Hot Springs Cove trip - but there was still plenty to do and it was always nice to come back to our cozy room to relax. Everything necessary for our stay had been provided. All in all , this was a memorable stay and I would not hesitate to recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 635Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKenzie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range: £54 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool(which is currently down for repairs) and hot tub for guests Resort & camping open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino
MacKenzie Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing