We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We recently just stayed and had a wonderful relaxing stay that exceeded my expectations. We were in one of the one bedroom lighthouse suites which offered a great view overlooking Cox Bay and the beach. Hearing the sound of the waves from our suite was a definite highlight and we enjoyed the fireplace. The ladies in the lobby were excellant. It was my first trip to Tofino and won't be my last and Pacific Sands will be my first choice of accomodation. They have a wonderful outdoor Gazebo area where you can start your own fire and use their BBQ's. We visited during slower season so it was quiet, peaceful and serene. I would highly recommend visiting in the fall. The raincoats that were provided in our suite was a lovely added touch. Pacific Sands provided us with a home away from home in an ideal setting with memories to last a lifetime. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Picking a place to stay for our first trip to Tofino was difficult even with the help from TripAdvisor reviews. Our expectations were exceeded at Pacific Sands. Our oceanview suite was comfy with a kitchenette and deck with a great view of Cox Bay and the Pacific Ocean. It is only steps to a huge sandy beach to watch the surf and the surfers. The front desk was helpful in culling our list of prospective eating establishments. Upon arrival the power was out throughout Tofino (a not uncommon occurrence during the winter storm season) but candles were already supplied in the rooms. A car is definitely needed as there is no food service on the property and is a ten minute drive into town. A return to Pacific Sands is definite when we revisit Tofino.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Not that we have a soft spot for Pacific Sands Resort in Tofino but we have figured out that since 1977 we have stayed there over 20 times. It has definitely grown up in that time. We usually stay in one of the Lighthouse Suites and try to stay four or five nights each time. Awesome views are just about everywhere. Every now and then stop looking out at the ocean and check out the forests and tree tops. We saw some great views. Normally it is nice to hike some of the trails but this visit it was just a matter of holding up inside in front of the fireplace. Marla tackled doing a puzzle on the table, I spent the week reading. This is one of the most relaxing holidays.
The rooms are comfortable and cabin like appointed. My idea of roughing it means there is no dishwasher in the unit. We find that we do have to do a little re-arranging in the room. The table needs to be pulled out so we can puzzle, the really ugly plaster shell needs to hide in a window, the pole lamp moves over to behind the couch, and a blanket or two needs to be added to the bed.
We always pick up enough food and treats for the first night but we make every effort to go into Tofino or Uclulet to go to the co-op and buy local groceries. For $10 you can buy a membership, help out the community and get some discounts along the way. After we have stocked up there is some great and interesting shopping around town.
We really like our annual visits to Tofino and Pacific Sands Resort. We are already planning to go back next year.
Something new has been added to the resort this year and that is they have a coffee bar in the hotel's reception area. Marla really enjoyed her Cafe Mocha.

Room Tip: Take time to listen to the waves. Take rubber boots and a flashlight for night strolls on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed here for three nights over Canadian Thanksgiving 2011 in a one bedroom suite. Our room had an amazing beach view where you could watch the waves roll in. The unit comfortable for 4 adults, separate bedroom with a pull-out sofa in the living room, both beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was surprisingly well equipped and I had no problem cooking a full turkey dinner for 6. Large crab pots are available from the front desk if you plan on enjoying Dungeness crab - and you should! The staff were amazing, friendly and extremely helpful. I love Tofino and have stayed at a number of different properties there and this is definitely my favourite, I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The most fantastic place I've ever stayed. We stay at Pacific Sands every year and will continue to do so. Dispite the rain at times, Pacific Sands is a great place to relax and the beauty of the resort and surrounding area is breathtaking. See you again next year!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here with our two kids, 11 and 13, as part of a 3 week touring vacation in the Vancouver area in August 2011. We had originally booked and pre paid for 6 nights, but left after only 3. We could not fault the location of the resort, set on a stunning beach between rocky outcrops where you can walk out via a boardwalk to sit and watch the dolphins and the sunset. Nor could we fault the service, which was friendly and welcoming. The resort is well set up for children, with loads of space, bikes for hire and a great selection of DVDs to borrow, essential given the normal summer weather in Tofino (cold fog, which we had expected and were prepared for). The kids especially enjoyed the free supervised marshmallow toasting around the fire pit each evening.

However, we had booked a Lighthouse one bedroom suite with kitchen, and found it was much too small for a family of 4. It looks bigger on the website but the suite was the size of a standard hotel room, just divided up into living area/kitchen/small bedroom. The children were sharing a sofa bed and when it was open it filled the entire floor space of the living room, leaving us nowhere to sit of an evening unless we also went to bed or else sat in bed with the children to watch TV. Summer nights in Tofino are far too cold to sit outside and use the patio area. The dining table was too small for 4 and was pushed into a corner, so you couldn't sit around it. Bizarrely, most of the table top was taken up by a 2 ft long, 1ft wide plaster of Paris shell and it was impossible to find space to put it elsewhere. We were on the ground floor and the noise insulation from the floor above was very poor. When the man upstairs went to use the bathroom at 6 am it sounded like he was using ours! We did ask to be moved but the resort was full.

Most of the accommodation at the resort is more like a motel than the luxury resort you might expect from viewing their website. It's perfectly adequate, especially for surfers and families with little kids who can use a cot, but in our view the suites we stayed in are fairly basic for the price. The 2 bedroom villas however, looked absolutely lovely, from the outside at least, and would have been a much better option for us had they been available.

Tofino is an amazing place, hauntingly beautiful and with a very special atmosphere. Stay at the Pacific Sands for the fantastic location and the friendly service but make sure you ask about the space available if you are a family with larger kids and never accept a ground floor suite if you are disturbed by noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was our first visit to Pacific Sands Resort. The room was a fabulous one bedroom unit, full kitchen, living room with fireplace and a fantastic deck to watch the sunset from. Really enjoyed how accessible the beach was, especially since we had a three year old with us and could easily head back into our unit to prepare food.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They have an espresso machine in the lobby and every one of the staff could make a fantastic latte. (Important for those of us with a coffee fetish).

Loved the gazebo with the BBQ's and huge fire pit. Saturday night the staff put out the "smores" ingredients and we met lots of other families toasting marshmallows around the firepit.

We will definitely be back to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are located right on the beach, but if you can, rent a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.1 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £111 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing