We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A beautiful place and it was awesome to walk on the beach. We loved that we could bring our 2 dogs as well. The actual condo was huge and wonderful but we did go at Christmas and there were a few small details that could have made it better. The christmas lights on the whole top half of our tree didn't work. Luckily we had brought some lights ourselves. Kitchen is lacking in serving bowls and they did say there was a BBQ although the neighbours did have one.
The one thing that they advertize is internet and that never worked. The phones were not turned on Christmas day so no one could get ahold of us on Christmas which was annoying.
Overall a wonderful place and I would hightly recommend it.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    374
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
634
854
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

There is no comparison! Location, quality, service - everything is the absolute best at Pacific Sands Beach Resort. My wife and I just returned from another fantastic weekend in a beachfront villa (#34), located directly on the best part of Cox Bay. Pacific Sands enjoys the BEST location on the BEST beach in Tofino - bar none.

With floor to ceiling windows, two private fireplaces, a fully stocked private kitchen, and everything else you could possibly require for complete relaxation - this is our favourite escape any time of the year. On this particular trip (January) we had the most incredible experience with weather - blue sky and sun, followed 10 minutes later by a windswept snowstorm, followed again 10 minutes later by more blue sky and sun... Only on the west coast!

What we also love about Pacific Sands, is how the accommodation was built with the surrounding nature in mind. Everything blends perfectly into the trees, sand, and stone, so you can enjoy everything that the spectacular scenery has to offer - while barely noticing the buildings themselves... which themselves are 1st class.

A must-do (besides reading, drinking wine, and relaxing) is the short walk to Pettinger Point along a private boardwalk. Here we were greeted by crashing waves, windswept trees and a complete West Coast experience. Stephen (the general manager) was fantastic, and offered us some great tips on where to pick up fresh local crab, how to cook it, and even some of his personal favourite wine pairings!

With my wifes family all being from back east in Toronto - Pacific Sands is our go-to choice whenever we have visitors, so that we can show them the best of where we live. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Beach Front Villas are our favourite - different room layouts are available depending on who you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is the place to truly relax and enjoy the West Coast. Fantastic beach and ocean views with pet friendly suites. Five to 7 minutes to Tofino, where you can buy fresh seafood and live Dungeness crab to prepare in your condo. Every staff member we met was excellent and very friendly with plenty of local knowledge. The complex is well maintained and is located on a very wide waterfront property, allowing for views from every unit. Many other complexes have less frontage so some units don't have views. Very good surf for the surfer in your family. We've stayed here before and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Beachfront Suites - second floor condos allow for maximum ocean and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent Christmas 2011 here wanting great family time. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we walked into our "house" to find the hotel had placed a lit Christmas tree in the living room. The suites are very comfortable with fully equipped kitchens, super comfortable beds, rain slickers for everyone and the best of all - the beach. Whether you are a storm season lover or summer beach person, this is the spot. We loved our stay and with all the walks on the beach, visiting and shopping in Tofino and Uclulet, and photo ops, it is definitely a place to return to. We even had all the fixings for a traditional Christmas dinner delivered to us on Christmas Eve so we could enjoy our Christmas day like home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babaramdass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
715 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We rented 2 "beach house" units here over Xmas. The resort is situated right on the beach @ Cox Bay on the West Coast of Vancouver Island. The main floors in the great room are slate, thus no worries about wet, sandy boots and dripping coats. There is a gas fireplace in the living room which looks out towards the ocean and another one on the third floor, in the master bedroom suite, which feels like an aerie, all windows amongst the evergreen trees. The kitchen is fully equipped. We had 3 little ones, 5 1/2, 4 1/2. and 2 1/2, and they played, running up and down the carpeted stairs from the main floor to the 2nd floor which had 2 queen beds. In between storms, we explored the beach, wandered along trails, drove into the town of Tofino 7 Km away for coffee and sticky buns. We read, watched the surfers, and the children ate popcorn while they watched a movie in the afternoons. We had lunch twice @ the Wildside Grill, eating amazing fish tacos under cover from the rain in the hobbit-like outside eating area. Long Beach Lodge is a 5 minute walk away on the beach, so we drifted down there one afternoon to sip on a beer in their cozy dining/lounge area. The Resort provides rain slickers and an umbrella for each unit. The units are modern, clean and well cared for. We were checked in before 1 of the units had been cleaned, and the staff came immediately so that we could move in as soon as they were finished.
For our 2 families, this was the perfect place to stay, as we wished to do most of the cooking while we were there. It fulfilled everyone's needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trail, BC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

meant to post this a while back!! For March 2011 break we decided to check out our own Province of BC and take our kids to the ocean. We choose this resorts "storm watching" deal and stayed in a huge 2 bedroom condo with big kitchen and great view for 4 nights and loved it. our girls loved checking out the tidal pools at low tide and the hiking nearby was outstanding. We tried geocaching in a few places and found a few and after falling down a slippery bank gave up on one. Food was very expensive as were the resturants. So we bought fresh seafood and took advantage of our great kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicanbound5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Dreamed for months about staying at this location. When we got there, the place was dirty. On day 3, the water from the upstairs unit kept flowing into our plumbing (sinks, bathtubs, etc). It was never fixed properly and we left 2 days later cutting our vacation short because of the unsanitary conditions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laitblumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortone, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Naturally we were extremely dissapointed to learn of the difficulties during your stay at our Resort. This type of experience is not typical and especially as we have maintained a top two Trip Advisor ranking over the past 5 years. Our business reputation has been built on exceeding our customers expectations time and time again. If you were not offered a full refund, i will make reparations for you. Additionally a 2 night stay as my guest will be afforded you in the future on availability to provide and redeem our reputation with you. Please contact me directly on 250 522 2888. Again our sincere apologies for a less than satisfactory experience. I shall look forward to you call. Stephen Peters.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing