We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Problems at the Pacific Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some Problems at the Pacific Sands”
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We stayed at the Pacific Sands for one week in July. We stayed in a beachfront suite. The building itself is older (built in the 60's I think?) and in need of some repairs.
The suites have been renovated and are tastefully decorated however don't judge a book by its cover. We could hear absolutely EVERY single step that was taken in the suite above us. So when they got up at 6am, so did we because it was so loud it sounded like they were in the room with us.
One night, my husband and I were trying to get to sleep despite all the noise above us, when we heard drip, drip, drip which progressively was getting louder and faster. When we went to see what was going on, there was water pouring through the light fixture in the ceiling. I ran to the front desk (because the rooms don't have phones) and was told "oh ya, the people above you must have forgotten to put the shower curtain inside the shower) and was given a few towels to mop it up myself.
Certainly not what you would expect from "a resort" that costs $300/night! Not to mention, the complete electrical shock hazard if I was to turn on the light!!!
Another night I could hear some kind of noise in the kitchen that I was sure was a mouse (hopefully not bigger).
The room also had a spot close to the fireplace that had a terrible "fishy" smell. We had no idea what it was.
The pull out bed was horrible with a terrible mattress.
The housekeeping service does not include doing dishes or sweeping, essentially they just make the beds and exchange the towels. Your dirty dishes are left in the sink for you to do.
You should also note there is no restaurant at the Pacific Sands.
Despite all of this, the property is beautiful and on a really great surfing beach. The beach here is quite windy, there are other more sheltered beaches if you aren't surfing. There are some great activities for kids and a covered shelter with an open fire for roasting marshmallows.
We have stayed in Tofino at other places and this was not our favourite. If you are looking for kitchenettes, the Tin Wis Resort is a better bang for your buck and has better housekeeping and a restaurant on a beautiful sheltered beach. Or better yet, rent a house or cabin through one of the vacation companies!
Another favourite of ours is the Long Beach Lodge (right next door to the Pacific Sands) but I don't believe they have kitchenettes.
Regardless of where you stay, the Pacific Rim has the most beautiful beaches in Canada and Tofino is a very special place worth the visit (even though we wish it was a secret).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WeLoveCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    375
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
639
856
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We recently stayed at the Pacific Sands resort for 3 nights and we really loved it! The weather was pretty miserable every day and yet the hotel really compensated for it. We stayed in a Ocean View Suite, allowing us to look out over the beach and watch the crazy surfers brave the rough weather. The room was a good size for the 2 of us, the bed was really comfy and the bathroom was small but clean with a good shower. The kitchen area was also well equipped.

In the wardrobe were 2 bright yellow rainproof jackets for us to use, which was a nice touch, as nothing we had packed was really suitable for rain that heavy! It was nice, after coming back from being totally soaked, to be able to sit down in front of our fire and just watch a bit of TV (there were plenty of channels to choose from). The hotel also had a small selection of DVDs to rent and free wireless internet access, which was handy for us to get weather updates and info on our ipod. In addition, all the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself was about 10 minutes drive from the main centre of Tofino. (We would definitely recommend Café Vincente for snacks – they did great take-out sandwiches – and the Schooner restaurant had a cozy atmosphere and really lovely food for when you don’t want to cook back at the apartment.) The entrance to the resort is just over the road from the Visitor Centre, which was handy for picking up info about the park and purchasing day passes.

Overall, the location was remote enough for you to feel that you had escaped from it all for a while, but close enough to the village to pick up anything you might need or for an evening out. Being right on the beach, it was a fantastic spot and even the poor weather couldn’t detract from our fond memories of our stay here. We definitely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon on Vancouver Island. We had previously stayed in a condo in Tofino, and decided this time to stay at a resort property.

We stayed in one of the one bedroom beachfront suites. It was clean and very comfortable. It looked just like the website photos, which is always a good thing.. It did infact have a very nice ocean view and quite a large balcony (we were on the 2nd floor) with patio chairs.

The beach was great and is so large that even if many people are walking along, you feel like you have the beach to yourself.

Our only complaints with Pacific Sands are the following:
- there is no restaurant or store to purchase small food items. This was not a huge issue, but it would have been nice to take a short walk to dinner, or to pick up something needed, instead of having to drive off the property.
- the noise in our section of the property. Although not overly annoying or enjoyment-ruining, we could hear people and movement occassionally, coming from the rooms around us. Honestly, not a big deal.. More annoying however, was the noise of people (guests and staff) moving along the corridors by the front doors. The bedrooms in this part of the property are next to the outdoor corridors, and we could hear EVERYTHING from our bedroom: housekeeping staff, guests banging their suitcases up and down the stairs, etc.. we didn't get to sleep past 7:30am most mornings because of all the noise outside. This may only be an issue with these particular rooms, or just more noisy-than-usual guests..

But we did have a good stay, the area is wondeful. When we return to Tofino, I may choose to stay elsewhere, to see what else the area has to offer, but would still consider Pacific Sands again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — morning noise and no food facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vulpecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

I booked a 'One bedroom beach front suite', which wasn't the most expensive option by far, but it was superb!

Very close to the beach itself (closer would have been scary!), about 5 meters of grass, a row of trees, then sand, beautiful views.

All the similar suites are designed so you enter from the rear, and all have balconies or decks facing the waves.
All must have been modernized recently - very high standards, with a modern and clean bathroom and full kitchen.
A separate bedroom, and pull-out double bed in the living area.

Perfect for walks on the beach, watching the sunset, and in a wonderful location. Check out the national park info centre, there are lots of worthwhile trails close by.
Tofino offers restaurants and whale-watching centres.

The weather can be variable, but even in light rain, just wrap-up in the all-weather raincoats provided by the resort, and get out there and enjoy it!
A surfers paradise, watching them is fun in itself!

The only shortcoming - there is no general store or restaurant on-site - you must travel into Tofino for that, although the 'Long beach resort' (which is next door to pacific sands on Cox bay, not long beach, strangely!), has an amazing, but expensive restaurant which we used. Literally a 5 min stroll along the sand.

The long beach resort seemed to have the feel of a high-quality hotel, and it looked very impressive. However, all their villas are set back from the beach, behind the main lodge.
Although they looked smarter from outside than pacific sands, I think I'd still choose pacific sands, for the proximity to the beach and views.

  • Liked — Amazing location and quality of accom.
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant or general store for self catering
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
303 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Stayed here with my 2 boys and Husband. It is in a beautiful part of the world, with plenty of activities organized for the kids. The property is located outside Tofino. We weren't in the new section as stated by another reviewer but our chalet was clean and did the job. Would love to go back again.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

I spent a few nights in Tofino last week. The first hotel wasn't up to much (Tin Wis) so I decided to move down the coast and walked in to the Pacific Sands after checking out a number of other hotel on the coast. The Pacific Sands is beautifully located and deals specifically for the self caterers; no restraunt, no shop, no room service. However, this is the best part about the resort - they cater for your privacy and independednce; BBQs, fire pits are all available for you to cook on. All of the units have fabulously equiped kitchens with very homely lodges. You're no cut off though; free Wifi, DVD, big TVs in every lodge. Plus a stocked log fire ready to go. My lodge had a view direct out to the sea. It was warm, clean and very comfortable. The check in staff were courteous, helpful and efficient. Whilst it's not the cheapest location in the Tofino area I throughougly recommend it. A little ove £100 a night for a lovely log cabin on the beach in June - Bargin! The rock pools at the sands were fantastic and there are a couple of pairs of Bald Eagles nesting right next to the lodge. Bears aren't uncommon on the beach either.

  • Liked — Location and homely feel
  • Disliked — No shop to buy food, you must drive/walk to local town
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We have been staying in Tofino for the past 25 years and have stayed at many different properites. We have finally found where we will always stay.

Like other reviewers we were completely impressed with the new Villas at Pacific Sands. We stayed in #33 (which we surmised is the Villa used in most of their advertising). In fact we loved the Villa so much that we will be incorporating many of the design features, colors and woods in the renovation of our post and beam home in Nanaimo!

The Villa was spotless. The amenities were right. The beds comfortable. The decor was gorgeous. The colors and wood treatments were beautiful. The view impeccable and the atmosphere perfect.

We shared the two bedroom villa with our friend's parents who came from England to celebrate their 50th anniversary in Canada. We could not have made a better choice for them. They absolutely loved their king sized bedroom with the fantastic view of the beach and small island in front. They loved the Villa and view so much we stayed in for dinner the first night and our friend's mother stayed in most of the next day to enjoy the Villa. And they thought it was good value for money. Perfect!

The second night we enjoyed cocktails at the Wick and then walked from Pacific Sands to the Long Beach Lodge (just next door) for a fantastic dinner. Followed by watching the sunset and after dinner drinks in our beautiful room.

The Pettinger's have done an outstanding job and one should look no further for accommodation in Tofino.

Can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Everything but especially the design and decor of the Villas
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing