We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

All in all just really disappointed with room.
Lighthouse suites - cannot access patio door when sofa bed made up. Cannot sit 3 let alone 4 at the table when sofa bed set up. No dishwasher, which I am not opposed to at all, but for rate of $315/night?? Also some better lighting in the kitchen would have sufficed to see what one was doing.
Otherwise, room was very clean - even for a 'pet friendly' suite. Bedding was lovely. And sofa bed was actually comfortable. S'mores offered in the evening for kids was a nice touch.
We were a party of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids), had rezy for 3 nights. Tried to leave after check-in and was told we would not be reimbursed if we left, so stayed for one night, then left. And while I understand cancellation policies, why would they want us to stay and have housekeeping tend to bedding, towels, cleaning after only one night when we are all trying to be a little 'greener' these days... ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Liz O,

Thank you for your message. I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. The Lighthouse suites are our entry level suites and are frequently booked by families of 4ppl; I apologize if the configuration of the room was misleading when you made your reservation however, our website has a full description of each suite with layout and square footage.
Thank you for your feedback about the cleanliness and bedding. I am happy that your children were able to experience and enjoyed the nightly S’mores roast, we also offer a wonderful educational children’s program during the day during the summer months hosted by the Rain Coast Educational Society.
Our cancellation policy at time of booking is that the first nights room and tax is non-refundable if cancelled within 14 days. This is to avoid the potential of not being able to resell the room on short notice.
Again, I sincerely apologize for the disappointment as we strive to make everyone’s stay an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Lara Kemps
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This resort is located on a stunningly beautiful beach. The house is very comfortable, well equipped and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is friendly and professional. Everything you need for a great beach vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank turtlezurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked our visit to Tofino and the Pacific Sands Beach Resort three and half months in advance of our stay. We spoke directly to the hotel in early March and were assured of an ocean front room for our end of June vacation. Upon our arrival, we were checked-in by a new employee at the front desk. They were pleasant and efficient, just a bit inexperienced. When we went to our room we were shocked.

The room overlooked parking lots and other buildings. There was one window that you could see a distant view of the ocean, but this room clearly was not an ocean view room. I went back to the front desk to see if there was a mistake. There I met a person who represented herself as a supervisor - Jasmin. Jasmin was disinterested and unapologetic. She spoke to me as though I was not important and my concerns were of no interest to her. She was plain rude.

During our two night stay, no one contacted from the hotel contacted us to offer an explanation or an apology. While Tofino and Pacific Rim Park are wonderful to visit, the Pacific Sands Beach Resort is not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortone, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear John K, Thank you for your message. Whislt we are genuinely disappointed that your expectations were not met, we wish to assure you that we have not had previous comments concerning the Ocean view status of your particular suite. The design of the majority of our suites is to fully benefit from an Ocean view experience from the living areas, therefore the bedrooms are typically located in the rear of each suite (With Exception of our Beach Houses). Concerning your service experience with Guest Services and Jasmin, we are surprised to learn of this, as she has been a top performer at the Resort for 6 years, most recently being voted Employee of the month by our guests. She was recently promoted to a supervisory role. I would be delighted to speak with you in person to hopefully resolve your concerns and can be reached directly at 250 522 2888. Sincerely yours, Stephen J. Peters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and three late teens/early 20s kids spent 3 nights in one of the beach houses. Beautiful propert, great staff, close to Tofino (8 min drive). Can't imagine a more beautiful resort in the Pacific Northwest.

Room Tip: If staying in one of the beach houses, check out the house before you take it. Some have a slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LovingLifeAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent several days at the resort in one of the townhouses. I loved everything. The townhouse in located right on Cox Bay and had great views from the living room and bedroom. The house was well appointed and there were rain coats provided as it rained while we were there. The main house has frozen food for purchase from Sobo in Tofino and that was very convenient. The food from Sobo was fantastic. It exceeded my expectations after visiting the site and reading other reviews. It was the perfect ending to our 2 week trek across Canada.

Room Tip: The townhouses are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The setting of cabin 41 is amazing with nature trails next door and easy access to beach even with a walker. My husband was able to maneuver the hard packed sand beach quite well. The cabin is luxurious with all the tools and necessities better than at home. We had a hot tub and BBQ on a wrap around deck with views of the beach. And the bedrooms are to die for with their fluffy duvets. Loved our family stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert & Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our second trip to Tofino and Pacific Sands and it didn't disappoint! Enjoyed the beautiful beach and the sound of the waves at night. Our dog had a fabulous time on the beach, basically getting as sandy and wet as possible. The pet washing stations came in handy to get some of the sand out before bringing him back to the unit. The unit we stayed in was an ocean view king, it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom area was a bit small but the view and the bed/sitting area made up for it. We were happy to get our room cleaned since it seemed like we couldn't avoid getting sand everywhere. My only issue was that none of the surfaces were wiped down, and the sink still had our dirty mugs/cups in it. Perhaps that's not included with the cleaning service? Overall we had a great stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
329 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £113 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing