We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pacific Sands, Tofino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pacific Sands, Tofino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Pacific Sands, we had a 2 bedroom Beach House. These Beach Houses are fantastic, great facilities, lots of space and a stunning location overlooking Cox Bay. We stayed in nos 36 which has been refurbished although i am not sure they all have as yet ( worth checking). The bedrooms are large, the beds are Kingsize and the downstairs is large so lots if space for the family. The only minor comment would be the showers, small single showers with a shower curtain is a bit old hat these days in 5 star resorts although if you want a bath and a hottub then the Pacific Sands doesn't disappoint.

Tofino as a resort, in my opinion, does not live up to its reputation. The weather is very changeable and August gets alot of cold fog during some parts of the day. The town of Tofino is a mix of surfer town, fishing trips and whale watching tours, lots of craft shops and restaurants spread out across a few busy roads and the dockside. It has got no real centre to it and is not the sort of resort you stroll about in during the evening - if that's what you like !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    374
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
636
854
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our stay at the Pacific Sands was perfect. e had a ground floor room with a patio that was yards from the beach. The room was sumptuous, and our only wish was that there was a restaurant or "bar" on the premise.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had a two bed beachfront townhouse which was luxurious and huge (easily accommodated five - 2 adults/3 children). The whole setting is absolutely beautiful, right on the beach and you see it all from both the lounge area and the master bedroom including the double soaker tub! Would definitely stay again although it is pricey.

Beach is enormous, plenty of privacy and space although there are a lot of surfers so not really good for swimming (also water is cold!)

Tofino has loads of restaurants - resort is self catering except for beach BBQ once a week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from 4 nights in 2 bedroom beachfront condo, beautiful setting and well appointed and comfortable lodging. Very relaxing, enjoyable stay.
Plenty to do in area and Shelter restaurant in Tofino was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lhshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

So, if you were to say to me, "old chap, you're going to have to spend the next year living in a beach house at Pacific Sands, I think I'd be pretty delighted. Of course, there's Tofino itself, whose restaurants, shops etc we only really scratched the surface of (see other reviews). But with an ocean view from our balconies (one upstairs, one down), a well-fitted kitchen and plenty of room to spread out (there were just three of us), and a heavenly beach right outside, it was hard to justify not staying put.
Pacific Sands is a large complex, smoothly run by polite, helpful staff, with a mix of different accommodations - spend the extra on a beach house, it is worth every penny. There's an onsite shop for food basics, DVD and games library, bikes to hire etc. Some beach chairs would've been nice, but other than that, we had all we wanted.
Downsides? The house was a little tired, but forgivably so for the most part; the bathrooms are sub-par (poor lighting, ageing), but you tend to forget that as soon as you leave the bathroom!
It's very high on my list of places we MUST return to. Just watch the sunset from Pettinger Point, and reflect on how lucky you are!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJD2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beach town houses are pricey but beautiful. Second time here and seldom have had nicer accommodations anywhere.we are a party of 3 - couple and young adult. Easily can sleep 5 very comfortably. Right on beautiful quiet beach. Restaurant would be nice but many are close by and the kitchen and outdoor cooking spaces are great. Highly recommended for the laid back traveler and families. Best fishing on Vancouver Island with biking,kayaking,paddle boarding , and wildlife/whale tours. We have stayed at 2 other fine Tofino hotels -Wickininnish Inn and Long Beach Inn and but prefer this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit here, still love it. Our 1 bed apartment was almost on the beach, fantastic ocean views from balcony. Clean and comfortable. Helpful receptionist. There is no restaurant or bar here, you can self cater and the resort also runs a free first come first served shuttle into Tofino, approx 6 km away, where there are numerous dining options.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing