We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary
1 review
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in the Beach Houses which were wonderful. This was for a family celebration. Beautifully equipped kitchen. Housekeeping Staff outstanding. We were in 2 Units and had 7 adults, 2 children and 4 dogs and the staff never minded the mess or confusion,of which there was a lot. We have stayed at Pacific Sands before and have always been pleased with the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    370
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
627
848
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Provides all the comfort of home without pretense or commercial cues. Lots and lots of room to spread out in extraordinary setting on gorgeous, surfer-friendly Beach. Focus on nature. No restaurant or pool. Well-equipped kitchenettes. Gas fireplace. Water taps by beach entrances. Short drive into Tofino. Walking trails and biking at the door.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Randal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was only there for 18 hrs , For what i paid $500 for a room with a hot tub . Not a good deal . I was on the 3rd floor . Someone from the hotel should have taken my bags up to my room .No Resturant on site . I an on a Business trip . I an not here to cook .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Mi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

OK, so the reviews are amazing for this property, but I cannot join the crowd. While the hotel is nice, there are many things that would make it better, and we did not have a five star stay. As someone who stays at many hotels, I cannot rate this anywhere near my top hotels.
The good: First: It has a great, I mean fabulous, location with beautiful beach setting. Second, great kids' camp with Angus. Third, more free s'mores! Fourth, free DVDs and games for a rainy day.
Now the bad: First, we stayed in a second floor lighthouse suite. The walls are paper thin and couldn't sleep the first night due to our noisy neighbors - they were just talking but we could hear everything. Our bed was terribly soft, the sheets were pilled and the towels were very hard and rough. Housekeeping: never cleaned the counter nor the stove top once during our stay, would not wash any dishes and even when we washed them would not put them away, but they left us a note thanking us for our stay, hoping for a tip. Second, the front desk gave us bad information, twice. We asked for a breakfast place that opened at 6 AM due to an early excursion, and they sent us to a coffee shop that opened at 730AM. Next day, they sent us to the Red Can which isn't open on Mondays, and, yes, it was a Monday. Third, tried to book excursions with concierge ahead of time, she couldn't answer our questions such as if our 6 year old could go on the Zodiac. Told her not to make any reservations, as I would book it directly myself, yet she left the reservations on our bill and this created a problem at check out (although it was finally resolved).
Given the price of the property, we really expected better service, housekeeping, and room. I cannot compare this to the rest of Tofino hotels, as this may be the standard for the area. BTW, Tofino and environs was fabulous!! Overall, great place to "get away from it all,"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank exobscurislux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Exobscurislux,

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the West Coast during your time here, but we are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations in Housekeeping and Guest services during your stay. Our team prides itself on providing superior service to our guests, which we certainly did not meet every one of those during your stay, for which we profusely apologize for. We can assure you that we take our guests’ feedback very seriously, there are several areas we obviously need to pay closer attention to. We are truly sorry that Pacific Sands did not live up to the reputation you anticipated. As a token, we have taken the Liberty of refunding 50% of your Hotel stay, in the hope that you will consider revisiting Tofino in the future.

Sincerely,

Lara Kemps
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved the beach houses. Wonderful views. Only complaint was poor lighting in master bath. Enjoyed both balconies and even provided an ashtray to smoke outside. Long drive from Victoria so suggest fly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patz525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The property is in a very good spot near Schooner Cove, Long Beach, Chesterman Beach and Tofino. The property is maintained well and the bedroom/living areas are adequate size. Stayed in a 'lighthouse suite'. The kitchen is fairly well stocked (unfortunately did not realize you could get additional kitchen supplies at office until after we purchased cookie sheet in Tofino). It was a little frustrating that we had a room at the very back of the building with a balcony sandwiched between a long wall of our condo building and the building next door (so only a sliver of a view of Cox Bay). If you stay more than one night here (we spent three) you will definitely want to go to visit other parts of the coastline as there is not more than a few hours of things to do there. Visit Pettinger Point (short walk from resort) every evening for the sunsets. I would like to rate a five but at over $300 per night it was only average value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the ocean side of the condo complex to get best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a wonderful beachfront location, the accommodation is good. We stayed in a nice suite; clean and well equipped and the staff are helpful and friendly. Highly recommend it! Always look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing