We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, no food, can be pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ILKLEY
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, no food, can be pricey”
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed 3 nights over Thanksgiving. Website encouraged 3 night stay at high prices.
We booked a studio which was small but nice, although outside appearance of block looked very delapidated. The room was ok, but we could not control heating from fire and almost melted during the night.
The next day the room was still not serviced by 3.30pm.
After complaint, we were relocated to larger room, better situated (partly because nearly everyone seemed to leave after Thanksgiving).
New room excellent & views to beach beautiful. We got 1 wonderful sunset in 3 nights.
Beach full of birds & surfers.
A short drive to Pacific Rim Park beaches for which parking is charged, or to Chesterman (?) beach which is slightly more developed.
Wi-Fi (free) only if you are close enough to the office.
Although room contained kitchen with facilties, there is no food onsite, so breakfast/dinner needs mainly to be in Tofino some 10 minutes+ along the road.
Memorable, but not always for the right reasons!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    383
    86
    35
    12
See reviews for
665
862
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The beach is just 20 m from the Villa. The Villa itself was a piece of beauty with a great view over the bay. It was great to watch the surfers and walk along the beach. Perfect place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I recently had the opportunity to travel to Tofino with my 16 year old niece and we spent a wonderful couple of days at the Pacific Sands. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left, everything was just about perfect. The room had a small and well stocked kitchen, the view onto the beach was breathtaking and the beds and all other amenities were wonderful. We literally walked out our door onto the amazing beach and we walked the beach for a good hour enjoying the surfers and the surf. The staff had recommended that we head out to Sunset Point to catch the sun setting over the Pacific, and, even though it was a bit cloudy, the view was wonderful and the hike to get there was most enjoyable. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful - whether it was helping us to choose a restaurant in Tofino or pointing out where the Yahtzee games were stored we were consistently impressed with the friendliness. My only complaint was that our stay was too short but we will definitely be back the next time we are in Tofino.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FavouriteAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed in a Beach Villa (#37). It is a beautiful tri-level, two-bedroom attached villa directly on the beach. Full-height glass windows wrap around the corner of both the living room and master bedroom. The entire villa is designed with a contemporary, natural feel--wood ceilings, slate floors, gas fireplaces in the LR and MB, great furniture. But what you will be drawin to is that remarkable view and the sound of crashing waves right outside your balcony.

Everything you need for an extended stay has been thought of. The kitchen is well stocked with cookware and dishes. There is even a washer and dryer in the unit. The master bedroom has a large soaking tub open to the room and that beautiful view. Towels and linens are very nice quality. One curious omission is the lack of a TV in the second bedroom. I cannot imagine why you would even want to watch TV in this setting. However, it would seem logical to put one in what is undoubtedly used as a children's room.

One should be aware however that this is less of a "resort" as the name implies and more like renting a private villa. There is no daily maid service, no one to help bring your bags to the room (luggage carts are left in the parking lot for your use), no real resort amenities such as a pool or hot tubs or a gym. In fact there is not even a restaurant or lounge or convenience store on the property. It simply a beautiful accomodation on one of the prettiest and dramatic beaches to be found anywhere. I would stay there again in a heartbeat-but i do not require hotel-type amenities to enjoy my stay. Bring your own wine and cheese, coffe and breakfast and enjoy them on your balcony.

The Long Beach Lodge is located immediatley adjacent to the property. you can walk down the beach and enjoy a cocktail or a meal in their wonderful lodge should you wish to go out without driving.

Finally, do not miss taking a walk to Sunset Point. this rocky headland is the private property of the Pacific Sands and offers an astounding view of not only Cox Bay (where the resort is located) but also of Chesterman Beach and the crashing Pacific on the rocks. Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it on one of the many benches the resort has set out to enjoy the spectacular scenery and sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Room was fab. We stayed for 3 nights but should have stayed longer.
Room has great views and we could walk out the 'front door' and almost straight onto the beach. Rooms on the floor above (hotels room only on 2 levels - ground level and one level above) might have had a slightly better view but they only had access to beach from their back door.
Hotel reception office staff were very helpful. DVDs available to rent, body boards available for use, could book whale watching etc etc.
Cox Beach is one of the most beautiful on the coast between Ucluelet and Tofino - we did look at some of the others but they just weren't as good.
Our kids loved the surf and now want to take lessons.
It was also good to be able to do some simple meals in the room and not worry about having to go out anywhere after eating out for many days beforehand.
Overall just a wonderful place to chill out

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The location is great, you're right on the beach! Lots of mix of people staying at the resort, families, couples, group of friends.

The kitchen in the suite was very small, which was fine for a short stay, but I would bring some of my own cooking supplies next time. The stuff provided was rather old and scratched up.

The furniture smelled and which made it unpleasant and the fireplace didn't work. Oh and there is no phone in the room, so if you want to request something, I guess you would have to walk to the front desk or use your cellphone to call them. The internet reception is not good, so I wouldn't bring my own laptop there or count on being able to use internet in my room.

Not the most luxurious suites, and need some updating. Seems like with a bit more effort, this could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TofinoAug2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The Pacific Sands Resort was our favorite location of the 6 stops on our trip to BC and Seattle. While not the most luxurious Resort of the trip (This goes to Beach Club Resort in Parksville – see our review), for enjoying the scenery this was the winner. We had a 1 bedroom ocean view suite. The interior was very well maintained, and had a complete kitchen with full size appliances. Tofino is about 5 miles away if you don’t want to cook, as the hotel does not a have a restaurant. The hotel does a BBQ every other night, also they have gas and charcoal grills.

Visiting Pacific Rim National Park was terrific. I can’t think of many places in the continental US that gives you a feeling of being this far away from things, and being able to return to all the comforts of home within minutes.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
314 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing