We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven in a Blizzard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Crow Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Haven in a Blizzard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2006

After nearly 6 hours of dangerous driving conditions through hwy 4 the Red Crow was like the bright light at the end of our tunnel. The owner stayed up late to let us in (and served us breakfast earlier when we had to checkout sooner than planned 3 days later.) The King room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable with all sorts of thoughful knick knacks supplied (ie: alarm clock, beach mat, etc...) The view of the ocean from the private entrance is breathtaking and the seats were comfortable (although it snowed when we were there so didn't get to take advantage of it). The breakfast brought to your door is delicious and healthy. Would recommend the Red Crow and would return to stay here if we ever find ourselves in Tofino again.

  • Liked — Quiet Atmosphere, food service, scenery, location convenience
  • Disliked — Minor, can hear noises from upstairs kitchen
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank En_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
105
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

A perfect location to stay - overlooking the water. After a long journey we arrived and instantly relaxed with the peace and quiet. We had a large comfortable room (with art!) and a delicious breakfast each morning (served either in the room or outside)
A peaceful setting and we were blessed with sunny weather. We even took the canoe out for a paddle (lifejackets supplied)

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank NWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

Beautiful View - overlooking bay side - but spartan. Breakfast brought to our room was fine. THe man who owns this was very unfriendly and acted like we were putting him out to rent his room. Better value at other properties.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Go+Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santalupe, Owner/manager at Red Crow Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 April 2008
The Red Crow Guesthouse has spent the winter preening her feathers...new paint, new furnishings, & fresh detailing all under the loving direction of the original owners. We have to tell you, our waterfront suites & Garden cottage are looking fabulous and we are looking forward to our 2008 visitors. Cheers, Ann, Madelaine & Jarrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, British Isles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2006

The setting is beautiful with a view from the Queen suites across Clayquot sound. The rooms were spotless and provided everything you could possibly need. The breakfast delivered to the room every morning were great with fresh hot bread and fresh fruit.

It's not glossy, but is perfect for anyone who wants peace and quiet and who doesn't need cable TV (or any TV). It's about a 20 minute walk into town - but there were bicyles for guest's use.

Helpful?
Thank ManxTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2005

Just returned from 3 weeks in canada, including 5 nights at the redcrow (Sept 19-23). My advice is to book early for this gem, as there are only two rooms. The location is fantastic, on the Mears Island side rather than the rolling pacific, so calm waters, views of mountains and islands and dozens of different birds - including a bald eagle sitting in a tree opposite (bring your binoculars). Room was spacious and well equiped, felt like someones home rather than a hotel and breakfast is delivered every morning by the host. if you have an early morning start, as we did for an unforgettable bear watch, you can have continental left for you (including your own toaster). You have a veranda to sit and soak in the piece and quiet. The trip was rounded off by a visit from a bear and her two cubs in the grounds - exciting and a little scary for us Brits! We did check out a number of other resorts in Tofino and whilst they may have the ocean view, I doubt they could have as much individual character as Redcrow. Do check out the Pointe, Shelter and SOBO eating places - all wondeful (SOBO is right next door, closes early and is served from a camper van). Beware - Tofino can suck you in, and 5 days may not be enough!

Helpful?
5 Thank loujue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2005

We have just returned from a restful 4 day stay at the Red Crow in Tofino. The Inn faces east and you received the morning sun as you watch the tide come up. On our last morning, we watched in awe as a large black bear crossed from the shore and meandered over to one of the islands not very far off shore. From our deck, the bear was no more than 20 metres away. The owner, Stephen, says that they see the bear about once a week when the berries become ripe. We watched as the bear effortlessly turned over rocks looking for crabs to eat. Our room, the King suite, was very large with a full bathroom, King bed, breakfast table and large comfy sofa and chairs. We really enjoyed the attention given to providing guests with playing cards, bath robes, stereo/CD player, hair dryer, cribbage board, fridge, kettle and coffee maker. On Stephen’s recommendations, we ate at the Thai restaurant the RainCoast café, which was excellent and Big Daddy’s Fish Fry where we had 2 big pieces of halibut for $14.00. The Inn has canoes available which are great for visiting Islands just offshore and picking oysters. This was the first time we had stayed in a four star B & B and was definitely worth the price. I plan to surprise my girlfriend with another stay in the winter.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2005

Following our recent stay at the Red Crow, we can only say that while it is not a bad place, it is not worth the price paid. At $170 CAD for the King Suite, one would expect at least breakfast (that was extra), a whirlpool or a TV. However, all these things were lacking. Instead, we got a large but otherwise very standard room. The views and hot tub were nice, however, we have stayed at other B&Bs (albeit not in Tofino) and received far more for our money. Not a bad place to stay by any stretch but not a 4 or 5 star place to stay either.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crow Guesthouse

Property: Red Crow Guesthouse
Address: 1064 Pacific Rim hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private entry waterfront suites with ensuites, down duvets & fireplaces; stunning views overlooking Tofino Inlet and tidal waterways of the bird sanctuary. Have your coffee on the verandah in the morning sun and enjoy the bird life in a most tranquil oasis. Additional 4+ person Garden Cottage in a glade of magnificent old growth cedars. Forest Hot Tub; Complimentary WiFi, Canoes & Bikes; Helpful and welcoming hosts. Walking distance to Tofino village & beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Crow Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing