We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to escape from the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Crow Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Crow Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Levallois-Perret
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best place to escape from the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

Location :
Really exceptional. After a short drive on a narrow trail, you reach the house which seems to be here since beginning of times. Convenient as well is the proximity with Tofino and gardens restaurants : you can easily walk or ride to it, which is pleasant if you stay for somr days there.

Room :
You will for sure be very extreme in your opinion. Either you love it or not, and I mist say our couple was even split in its opinion. We will then try to keep very rational.
We stayed at the "Library" room. Very nice view on the islands and bays around. Makes you feel in a wolrd apart, where your only job is to watch what is happening in the nature.
For inside of the room : look at the pictures to make your own opinion.

Breakfast :
Excellent, served at 8:30 in your room : fresh fruits, juices, ... Really perfect and in style.

Overall opinion :
Perfect if you want to have a lonely rest / retreat. We also appreciated our host to let us manage our independance as we liked.

  • Liked — Locations, "spirit" of the place
  • Disliked — Decoration is always a question of taste
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
104
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

We stayed in the Queen room which was lovely and spacious. We really liked the decor in here - old traditional furniture, shells and wood from the local beaches. The breakfasts were good, and were brought to our room for us to eat in private.
The view from the room was amazing - straight out onto Tofino's mudflats. The sunrises were amazing from here, and they have a regular visiting racoon, the first we've ever seen and fun to watch! Stephen is a good host and will provide recommendations on request.
The botanical gardens are just up the road, and as a guest of the Red Crow you get free entrance, so definitely worth a visit. The best restaraunt we ate at was the Shelter Restaraunt - it turned out that we went there on opening night after a re-furb, but the atmosphere was great and the food was wonderful - the best place we ate at all holiday.
Whilst staying here we did the hot springs trip with Jamie's. We went out on a boat, and saw a grey whale on the way, which was great. The springs are great fun - a gentle 30 minutes walk through the rainforest to get to them, and a nice and relaxing stay whilst we were there. Saying that, there were only 2 other tours there at the same time as us (at one point, we were the only group) and I did hear that during peak season it can get so busy you cannot even get in the springs! We came back via seaplane - we were the only one's to do this, which meant it was a private trip, and it was definitely worth spending the extra money to do, as we got to see an aerial view of the area and it was amazing. The pilot also did a bit of a detour for us to try and find some whales, unfortunately we didn't see any but this was good of him. A fantastic trip and highly recommended!
Finally, on the way to / from Tofino make sure you stop at Cathedral Grove, where there is an 800 year old tree!
We really liked the Tofino area - we were only here 2 nights and wished we'd allocated more time here.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2007

This B&B is wonderful. My husband and I had a wonderful time canoeing and biking with the complementary canoes and bicycles. The view from every window of the king suite is beautiful. Great accomodations with a host who respects privacy and cooks a wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nosinabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

I cannot say how much I love this place, especially in the winter. It is sooooo cozy and clean. Steve the owner leaves you alone, but delivers advice, tips and excellent breakfast to your room if you want it. You wake up to the sun rising over the sawtooth mountains to the east, and the mist rising from the waters. The old cedars embrace the place and the hot tub in the forest overlooking the sea is magical. Next door is the Sobo restaurant - a 10 minute stroll away down the lane. If peace is what you want, this is the place.

  • Liked — Clean, unpretentious, quality, view, quiet, wireless internet
  • Disliked — everything is great
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thinkwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2006

After nearly 6 hours of dangerous driving conditions through hwy 4 the Red Crow was like the bright light at the end of our tunnel. The owner stayed up late to let us in (and served us breakfast earlier when we had to checkout sooner than planned 3 days later.) The King room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable with all sorts of thoughful knick knacks supplied (ie: alarm clock, beach mat, etc...) The view of the ocean from the private entrance is breathtaking and the seats were comfortable (although it snowed when we were there so didn't get to take advantage of it). The breakfast brought to your door is delicious and healthy. Would recommend the Red Crow and would return to stay here if we ever find ourselves in Tofino again.

  • Liked — Quiet Atmosphere, food service, scenery, location convenience
  • Disliked — Minor, can hear noises from upstairs kitchen
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank En_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

A perfect location to stay - overlooking the water. After a long journey we arrived and instantly relaxed with the peace and quiet. We had a large comfortable room (with art!) and a delicious breakfast each morning (served either in the room or outside)
A peaceful setting and we were blessed with sunny weather. We even took the canoe out for a paddle (lifejackets supplied)

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank NWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

Beautiful View - overlooking bay side - but spartan. Breakfast brought to our room was fine. THe man who owns this was very unfriendly and acted like we were putting him out to rent his room. Better value at other properties.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Go+Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santalupe, Owner/manager at Red Crow Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 April 2008
The Red Crow Guesthouse has spent the winter preening her feathers...new paint, new furnishings, & fresh detailing all under the loving direction of the original owners. We have to tell you, our waterfront suites & Garden cottage are looking fabulous and we are looking forward to our 2008 visitors. Cheers, Ann, Madelaine & Jarrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crow Guesthouse

Property: Red Crow Guesthouse
Address: 1064 Pacific Rim hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private entry waterfront suites with ensuites, down duvets & fireplaces; stunning views overlooking Tofino Inlet and tidal waterways of the bird sanctuary. Have your coffee on the verandah in the morning sun and enjoy the bird life in a most tranquil oasis. Additional 4+ person Garden Cottage in a glade of magnificent old growth cedars. Forest Hot Tub; Complimentary WiFi, Canoes & Bikes; Helpful and welcoming hosts. Walking distance to Tofino village & beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Crow Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing