We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the Beach - West Coast Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Beach - West Coast Style”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have stayed here 4 times, twice with our small dog. The accommodations are cozy and comfortable and beautifully in keeping with the West Coast theme. Being located in a pacific rainforest, on arguably one of the most beautiful beaches on the West Coast, the ambiance and attention to detail from all the staff makes for a relaxing experience. We have stayed both in the Pointe and the Beach rooms. Both are lovely. The Pointe building is closer to the water and contains the restaurant and spa so in storm season, you would not have to venture outside if you chose not to! The Beach rooms are quite a bit bigger and still have a wonderful beach view. I imagine there are no bad rooms here! Linens and towels very high quality - beautiful soaker tub overlooking the beach in 302 where we stayed this time. Our relatives claim that 309 has the best view - lots of light and windows (the Pointe). The spa treatments are all top-notch - opt for the Cedar hut overlooking the beach for a spectacular couples massage. You can even do a yoga class. The amenities for your dog include a kennel, comfy bed, treats, a ball-chucker, bowls & even dog-sitting services at a very friendly rate. The staff go out of their way to make your stay everything one could expect of a 5 star property. As returning guests, we were greeted with a lovely fruit tray and welcome note. If you want to spurge on a romantic get-away or just escape to a tranquil place and walk for miles on a pristine beach, watching the waves and surfers roll in - this is THE place! Check out the Pointe Restaurant review separately.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Beach building are quite a bit bigger but not quite as close to the rocks. We stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    157
    60
    28
    15
See reviews for
195
856
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Without exaggeration, this must be one of THE locations for a luxury hotel. The big picture window facing the ocean, heated bathroom floor, hot tub and log fire. Gorgeous and somewhat romantic too.
The Pointe Restaurant or our travel agent sadly messed up our booking meaning that we eventually got to eat there after dark and we didn't get to see that panoramic view over dinner.
However, the food was excellent even if our 'overkeen' young waiter insisted our chosen bottle of Rioja came from Italy and that the dessert wine should be served at room temperature! That did make us laugh!

Room Tip: We liked the beach rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was on the first part of our 16 day Canadian Adventure to celebrate 35 years of marriage. The property was beautiful and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. I loved being surrounded by local art. The rainforest walk was a gentle introduction to the area. The beach was wonderful. I found the website to be very helpful. The Concierge hooked us up on a fishing charter and a Whale watching tour. The Pointe Restaurant was small but spectacular. They even had time to cook our catch of Salmon! That was a real treat for my husband and me. We had a lot of fun after "The Wick", but this was the best of the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannali, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have wanted to stay here for 20 years, and was not disappointed.I had a south-facing room at the Pointe on the second floor.Almost everything was perfect with the room,only minor grievances too small to mention. I particularly liked the hot tub with the ocean view,very comfortable bed and so quiet you would not know there was anyone else staying here.The staff all went out of their way to make my stay as enjoyabIe as possible. I would like to mention that you should make sure your transport options are confirmed before arrival as it is an isolated spot, about 5km from town and the taxi service can not always be relied upon.Luckily I had my own car so all of the many walks in the Pacific Rim NP were easily accessible, and restaurants and tour companies in Tofino.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratt, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The views from Wickaninnish took my breath away! The staff are intensively attentive and the rooms spacious with a wonderful view from every square inch. We felt delightfully alone, able to meander the beach for hours. The area is so open, even though there were others there, we had no "crowded tourist" feel. And the area is incredibly beach friendly. Would love to go back with our family and dogs.
The Inn is somewhat isolated (in a great way) but have loaner bikes to take the short trek into Tofino, where there is plenty to do and see. The first morning we were there, a bald eagle sat on a tree near the hotel and watched us. The shore was littered with starfish and other sea life. And did I mention the view?!
As others have mentioned, the food at the resort is rather high, but the rooms have a fridge and the town is an easy jaunt away, so we managed perfectly on our own without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this beautiful hotel right on the beach and it didn't disappoint. The staff were aware that we were re-visiting and couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I particularly like the way they escort you to your room so that you are aware where everything is - and everything is provided including waterproofs, umbrellas (we didn't need either fortunately), rucksack and uber-smart coffee maker. We had a fantastic ocean view, complete with bald headed eagles - a large room with decor that matches the wood and stone of its location. There's a fireplace which is handy for a chilly evening and a large balcony to enjoy the view. The bathroom was similarly large and well equipped with twin wash basins, bath and separate shower with smellies from the Wick's own spa - Ancient Cedar.

Room Tip: You could stay at the beach hotel but we recommedn the Pointe as it's much quieter. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It does not get better than this! This is by far the best place to stay in Tofino! It is the epitome of luxury. The staff go above and beyond for everyone, so friendly and personable. The location is unreal - every room has a beautiful view, beach, ocean, rocks, tree's loved it all! Ive stayed in both the Pointe and Beach building - all depends what you're looking for. The beach building has a more calm feeling whereas the Pointe building has more dramatic views. Restaurant and Spa - both unforgettable! I will be back

Room Tip: Storm season is a great time to go if you're looking for reduced rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCoaster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
128.2 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing