We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUBLIME, EVEN SACRED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you wish to "gift" yourself, or someone else, and Heaven of Earth appeals to you, then this land is appropriate. Have you ever had a moment in life where words elude you? When you know the moment is infinitely precious by defies description. This review reflects that. Other reviewers pay tribute to the property itself, the restaurant, the staff, all of which / whom are terrific or well beyond that. But it is nature in full force that is the star here, revealing itself in dozens of ways, all stunning, mesmerizing and meditative. Yes, one will likely hear or feel "gulps" at prices; still, the gift of being present on sacred lands in nature will erase anxieties quickly. You will have a chance to shed much and touch your own nature through nature's embrace of you.

Room Tip: My personal preference is always a top floor and away from elevator and people (not anti social, jus...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
There are newer reviews for Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

It's reasonably expensive but well worth the price. On checking in, it's the first hotel where we've been introduced to the wardrobe, blankets, picnic gear, torches, rain macs. They really go the extra mile to make you feel special.

The breakfast is quite pricy, however after leaving, we found out (via email correspondence with the hotel, as they replied directly to our feedback) that there's a cheaper breakfast option at the 'beach' accommodation rather than at the 'point'. Although if there wasn't, it wouldn't put us off returning again & again.

Enjoy your stay... we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo_and_Franny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband booked a surprise birthday weekend for me, and well, seems the entire town wanted to help me celebrate. Lily, a trainee at the front desk, helped him with the most perfect accommodations, dining, services, and well, just nice people wishing me happy birthday wherever I went. The room (212 in the Pointe ... Original building ) may have just had the most perfect view ever. Beautiful example of west coast architecture with more amenities than one could hope for (tub and shower had such a great view too). Discreet turn down service and valet ( two things which always make me uncomfortable, but were handled quietly and with no weirdness). The dining was unbelievably good (three choices of amazing home made bread, white bean, kale stew type thing with home-made apricot fennel sausage and a delicate slice of perfectly cooked halibut, the most gorgeous orange and black presentation of papardelle negro, carrot orange purree with salmon and butter poached crab, crazy good chocolate cherry desert and a delectable semolina pistachio cake.... Ooooo so good). The beach was amazing, the storms are epic, the art is quite local and well- curated, even stumbled across. local printmaker and carver. Efficient friendly service at every corner with a beautiful setting that made me feel very very special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrucil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding here and we're very excited about our experience. Unfortunately the excitement did not last for the entire stay. While the price is quite a bit for a special occasion one is willing to splurge. However, it would seem that the experience of the hotel combined with rooms themselves do not warrant the 500+ a night price tag. The beds were quite comfortable, the pillows were too soft but everything was clean and tidy. As for the main event of the wedding the special beach that was rented was not groomed at all and looked like it had seen better days. The same could be said for the food served at the reception. After the canapés were served down at the beach we were served a five course tasting menu in the room upstairs. The meal seemed to take forever and the food was subpar and cold by the time it arrived at the table. Many of the items lacked seasonings, we're poorly presented and appeared as if they were sitting out long before they were ever served. Many of the guests commented these same remarks and was really and unfortunate experience for such a prestigious hotel. Needless to say expectations were not met and there was a strong overall need for organization throughout the entire hotel. The remainder of our day surrounding the wedding was much the same brand of mediocre. Morning coffee in the driftwood cafe was a true test of patience as service was very slow but the coffee itself was good. Brunch at the pointe restaurant was nice however in a nearly empty restaurant sitting by the window should not be a problem as the entire time we were there those tables remained empty. The views are incredible and walking along Chesterman beach everyday was truly a wonderful experience. While we would not return to the wickanninish inn for and future travels to Tofino, we would visit again and try out some of the other resorts that seem to have a better reputation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank L0VeSfO0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear L0VeSfO0D,

Many thanks for providing us with feedback following your recent stay at our Inn by way of Trip Advisor and please accept our most sincere apology that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry we did not have an opportunity to address any of your specific concerns during your stay.

We were of course most disappointed to learn that you did not feel you received a good value for the price paid for your guest room and both the venue and meal for the wedding you attended were below your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering quality service and outstanding value in all areas of our operation and I am sorry this was not your experience.

It is our goal to provide a wedding experience that not only meets but exceeds the expectations of both the wedding couple and their guests and as such all of our weddings are custom designed by our Special Events team who work very closely with the wedding couple to create a magical and memorable wedding day for them based on their particular vision. Our private beach, White Shell Beach, has never been groomed nor have we had such a request previously but there is a first for everything and I appreciate your perspective on this.

As our culinary team prides itself on providing world class cuisine utilizing the freshest, local food products available, it was disappointing to learn that you felt the meal lacked flavour and presentation. In terms of timing and service of the meal, it is our understanding that 8 courses (including the intermezzo and amuse bouche) were served over a three and a half hour period. While we do want to ensure each of the courses is enjoyed by all guests and not rushed, it is important that each dish is timed appropriately and delivered as quickly as possible to our guests. Slow service and delivery of cold food certainly is not the standard at the Wickaninnish Inn and of course of great concern to us. We appreciate bringing your experience to our attention and you can assured we have already followed up internally with both our culinary and service teams in this regard.

We also appreciate your comments regarding your seating in The Pointe Restaurant for brunch and while we are always able to seat parties of 2, 4 or 6 guests at the window, it is necessary to seat larger parties in our Rainforest Section where we have appropriate space to do so. We do apologize if this information was not specifically relayed to you personally at the time.

In terms of guest room pillow preferences we do offer a variety of options to our 100% down pillows which we are always pleased to exchange and if there were features or elements in the room you felt were missing we always would appreciate added perspective and input. As feedback from you, our guest, provides us with the insight needed for continual improvement, we would appreciate the opportunity to understand and learn more from your experience. Should you care to discuss your experience personally with us, please feel free to provide your contact information to us through either Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or by emailing us directly at sandy@wickinn.com and we will arrange for our owner to contact you directly.

Again, we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to address your concerns personally with you.

Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at the Wickannish Inn for 3 days in September. When we arrived, we were immediately made to feel very comfortable by the charming staff. We stayed in a premier king room, and were given an excellent hotel and room orientation guide. The room was double aspect in a great location looking south and west, so the sunsets were amazing. The room was fully refreshed every day and it is hard to find fault at all. The room was complete with everything we would normally need, from Binoculars to day use water carriers.
The main restaurant has a 180 degree view of the beach and Pacific. The food and service could not be bettered in our view.
Equally a small café offered quick and simpler food, but of an equally good standard.
Bike hire and guided walks are available, but it was just a 1 minute walk down onto the beach where at low tide it is easy to walk out across the sand bar to an adjacent small island.
Tofino village is only a few minutes drive as are numerous hiking routes.
We enjoyed almost unbroken sunshine, but we understand that sea mists can be an issue at certain times of year. Tofino is also one of the wettest places in Canada.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room on upper levels
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It is very expensive, but the Staff were very friendly and the views from the room were stunning. We had an issue in the restaurant but they did not charge us for the food, again very good service. The cycles were very handy for getting into town which is very laid back and has great trips to take.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the beach
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camberleytone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We're far from rich, so it was a stretch for us to spring $600+ per night for a Premier Room at the Wick this past summer. But we're very glad we did. The views alone made the expense worthwhile. We spent much of each of our four days here in our room or on the deck, taking in the ocean and rocky shore. Didn't hurt that the weather was sunny and delightful each day. Regular visits from a bald eagle who liked to perch on a big boulder right out from our room. Food and drink were very good. Especially enjoyed the clambake on the beach. Service friendly. Fellow guests friendly too. There's a great vibe here. And the couples hot stone massage in the spa? I'm still reliving it. Aaaaaaahhhhhh. This is a terrific choice for a relaxing, romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Don't skimp. Check the rooms online and go with the best view and space to spread out. After all...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,795 reviews
128.2 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £238 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing