We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful, welcoming hospitality on stunning ocean point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Restful, welcoming hospitality on stunning ocean point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We loved our four day stay at Wickaninnish Inn. While October is rainy and stormy, the environment makes for a unique stay where walks on the beach, through the forests or in the small town of Tofino are all delightful.
Sleeping with the door open, the waves crashing on the rocks and waking to a colourful sky is great for the soul!
You feel remote from urban life with fresh air in abundance. The Inn's restaurant has very capable wait staff and outstanding food. They even prepared the salmon we caught to our own liking.

Room Tip: Don't think there are poolrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    150
    54
    27
    14
See reviews for
185
809
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Super surprise that my sweetheart organized for my 60th bday booking the Wick. Champagne delivered upon check into a gorgeous room in the Pointe. Lovely table in the restaurant by the window watching waves crashing on the rocks. Lovely dining room..sorry to say the food was not quite as expected quality wise and although waiters were very friendly and professional the service was way too slow. Fantastic going back to our room with candles scattered around the room, flower petals and bath ready in such a fun pampering atmosphere. Location superb and beach amazing. All in all a lovely stay and experience!!
A bit surprised that no free shuttle to town. Will we return: YES!!!

Charmaine and Larry

Room Tip: West ocean view in the Pointe spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lldekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear lldekker,

Many thanks for providing us with feedback of your stay at our Inn via Trip Advisor and please accept our most sincere apology that not all aspects of your stay were to your expectations.

While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in celebration of your birthday, we were of course most disappointed to learn that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations with respect to prompt service and quality of food. We understand that prior to your departure you had an opportunity to discuss your concerns personally with Adrian Gatt, The Pointe Restaurant Manager, and we trust that they have been addressed to your satisfaction and we are thrilled to know you look forward to returning to the Inn.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant in the not too distant future.

Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is probably the best place we have ever stayed! The hotel is marvelous the rooms were like no room we have ever been in and we have done a lot of travelling. You are greeted by a cd player with music playing as you enter your room, candles beside the bathtub, binoculars to watch the wildlife and ocean and the most magnificent views from every window in every room (we looked at about 6 rooms before we chose the one we wanted) . Rain coats and umbrellas in your room to walk by the ocean for those rainy days, the beds were so comfortable. The most amenities in our room even a fireplace. We can't wait to go back. Make sure you book your dinner reservations before you go as it is a popular restaurant and we couldn't get in. The beach in magnificent. I really prefer the west coast after also travelling to the east coast. The rooms were exceptionally clean!

Room Tip: I always like to be on the top floor but even though there was some noise above I really like the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarvelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wonderful welcome, complementary valet parking, stunning views, tastefully decorated, wonderful room, super friendly and helpful staff -just fabulous -we loved it! Only area for improvement is perhaps advertising on what's on offer, Like a recent reviewer we commented about food options on our feedback form (ours was on dinner options) and was informed via e-mail (really appreciate that approach!) that alternative choices to the main Pointe restaurant menu were available when we wanted a simpler menu one night. Never mind we ate at the restaurant on 2 out of 3 nights and it was great. 3rd night we got fish and chips up the road and ate on our balcony. It is wild landscape away from it all and we just loved it and would definitely come back! Highly recommend a bear boat trip with Mike booked through Stormlight Outfitters -simply the best!!

Room Tip: request a 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wickannanish Inn would be a delightful destination all on its own, but with the addition of a breath-taking setting, the Inn is decadence indeed. Lovely rooms, wonderful food both in the main dining room and in the cafe, beautiful woodwork throughout, views to leave one awed, and a friendly and extremely dedicated staff - what a marvelous vacation getaway. We had two rooms for our party and a service dog along for the trip. The staff was helpful in every way imaginable - from retrieving an earring that had slid into a sink drain by accident to providing specially cooked chicken meat for our dog, we could not have asked for better service at every turn. The chef prepared amazing meals and was able to make a few adjustments to seafood recipes to accomodate a non-meateater in our party. The regional mushroom dishes were prepared to perfection and the seafood was exceptional. All around a perfect vacation - can not recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: request a room with a deck view to the ocean - well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZGSkiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you wish to "gift" yourself, or someone else, and Heaven of Earth appeals to you, then this land is appropriate. Have you ever had a moment in life where words elude you? When you know the moment is infinitely precious by defies description. This review reflects that. Other reviewers pay tribute to the property itself, the restaurant, the staff, all of which / whom are terrific or well beyond that. But it is nature in full force that is the star here, revealing itself in dozens of ways, all stunning, mesmerizing and meditative. Yes, one will likely hear or feel "gulps" at prices; still, the gift of being present on sacred lands in nature will erase anxieties quickly. You will have a chance to shed much and touch your own nature through nature's embrace of you.

Room Tip: My personal preference is always a top floor and away from elevator and people (not anti social, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

It's reasonably expensive but well worth the price. On checking in, it's the first hotel where we've been introduced to the wardrobe, blankets, picnic gear, torches, rain macs. They really go the extra mile to make you feel special.

The breakfast is quite pricy, however after leaving, we found out (via email correspondence with the hotel, as they replied directly to our feedback) that there's a cheaper breakfast option at the 'beach' accommodation rather than at the 'point'. Although if there wasn't, it wouldn't put us off returning again & again.

Enjoy your stay... we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo_and_Franny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing