We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 24 hour staycation that was a true get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 24 hour staycation that was a true get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We live locally and had an opportunity for a one night staycation when family were visiting and able to watch our pre-schooler. The Wickaninnish Inn is just down the road but from the moment we arrive we felt a world away. We had a spa treatment booked for 4:00 and wanted to use the steam room in advance. We were aware check in time is 4:00, but staff welcomed and accommodated us when we arrived at noon for brunch. Our bags were taken care of and during lunch someone from the front desk found us in the dining room to inform us they could check us in earlier than 4. After an amazing (see my food notes at end), we found a crib board in the library and went down to the Driftwood Café for a game and glass of wine. Again, a staff member found us around 2:30 to inform us that our bags were in our room waiting for us and we could make our way there at our leisure. We stayed in the Point building, our room was on the north side on the second floor - very private, quiet and wonderful view overlooking the cove. We had not been in the rooms since the renovations and we appreciate the improvements - we love that the shower/tub still opens into the room for the view but it now is glassed in (spotlessly I must add) for privacy. The steam room and couples massage was perfect - and at this point we felt like we had been away for much longer than a few hours.

Regarding the food - outstanding. I had the duck confit eggs benny at brunch and I am still thinking about it - amazing. Dinner was excellent. We each had six items from the chefs eight item tasting menu and switched it up so between the two of us tried everything. Everything was wonderfully prepared, seasoned and portioned. We left the meal extremely happy and satisfied. Our getaway ended with a relaxing and delicious breakfast the next morning.

I must add the every single staff person we encountered was friendly and sincere. We are so fortunate to have such a world class Inn in our beautiful back yard, and we cant wait to book our next get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara_bc_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    150
    54
    27
    15
See reviews for
185
809
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent a weekend in February at the Inn. Highly recommended for a retreat from city life. Best walk we found was right on Chesterman beach - no need to drive anywhere, just stay and enjoy the resort. We also did the Schooner Cove walk to the beach (8 minute drive from the resort) which is a boardwalk trail through the woods to the beach. Tofino is pretty quiet in the off season, more lively in the spring/summer (after March 1st) so some restaurants in town were closed, etc.

Food at the Driftwood Cafe was great, fresh west coast style cuisine. We actually preferred it to the Pointe Restaurant. Good wine selections, including wine by the glass. The restaurants did a decent job of trying to accommodate dietary restrictions (vegan and gluten free). Staff were friendly and attentive in all instances and management followed up with us whenever we had any comments whatsoever.

Did a yoga class which ended up being private (they book a maximum of 5 people per class but the morning we did it it was just the two of us). Also had a great massage in the spa. Allow time for the steam cave.

Room Tip: Try for a room on an upper floor, the view is stunning. We were on the third floor in the Point bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed with our do, he was made more than welcome and I think he may have enjoyed himself more than us, it that's possible. First day the weather was sunny, walks on the beach and trails all day, second day rain, almost snow. Hotel had raincoats and boots, we showered our dog and he sat in front of our fireplace to dry. The breakfast, lunch and dinners were so good they were not out done by the winter storm waves outside the restaurant windows. This stay is the best experience on the west coast of north America.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are looking for breathtaking sunsets, storms that are awe inspiring, long sandy beaches to be contemplative on as you walk, air full of the smell of cedar and peace...you've found it.

One of Canada's best kept secrets, the rooms, although casual have everything you could imagine. Bose stereos, fireplaces, with blankets to curl up in, books to read, CD's with local music to listen to, deep tubs, fantastic food and wonderful wonderful wine.

We've stayed in the main building, 3rd floor and in a suite in the beach buidling. It's all beautiful. So beautiful that we choose to elope there 3 years ago. Best decision of our lives - to get married and to get married there.

It's a spot of relaxation and healing. It's calm and blissfull. Highly recommend the massage in the "love shack", wine on your balcony, a walk at sunrise and sunset....and don't forget to go through the forest path...where I married the most wonderful man in the world.

Go there and fall in love.

S.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephLB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked a Premier Room at the Wick for late December to celebrate a special birthday for my husband. Every single aspect of our 3 night stay was perfect. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and offered a bottle of water. Our room was on the main floor with a double aspect view, fireplace and double soaker tub - so gorgeous we sometimes struggled to go out. We have travelled a lot and this was by far the nicest room we have had anywhere.

We were hoping for a storm or two, but the weather was mild and the sun shone as it always does for my husband when we travel to Tofino (even in Fogust).

We ate at the Pointe restaurant and the food is exquisite and the service friendly and professional. We had a couples Lomi Lomi massage in the beach hut which was relaxing and very special.

The Wick is not the place for a 'budget' holiday, but I think it provides value for what it offers and I cannot find fault with any part of our stay. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The premier room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapphire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about the Wick - suffice to say that they've got it figured out, in a glorious place of paradise. We visited in December for our honeymoon. The weather was rainy and overcast mixed with sun, and they provided all the rain gear and outlets to still enjoy our stay. The couples massage were the best we've had in an quaint hut overlooking the ocean. And the food at the Pointe is top notch - every dish was delicious, including the room service! Be sure to request the King Crab. The rooms and facilities are up to date and very comfortable. We'll be back for certain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My Wife and I eloped at the Wickaninnish Inn with their elopement package in October 2013. http://www.wickinn.com/package-type/elopement.

The Inn and the people are absolutely amazing. From arrival to departure they treated us like royalty and we couldn`t have asked for a better location or service.

We`ll be back for our anniversary and we can`t say enough good things about the experience.

Their restaurant is DELICIOUS and the hot stone massage was sublime!

Thanks Wick Inn. You guys rock!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanStGermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing