We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watching surfers from my luxury bath (sight unseen)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

What can you say about a hotel room that has three huge windows? Walking into the room you are greeted by a full-sized picture window next to a fireplace. For me, trips to Tofino are about relaxing, and I spent hours and hours sitting in a squishy comfy chair, sometimes watching the sea or the surfers, and sometimes just reading. The second window is sliding doors onto the balcony; a balcony which is recessed rather than protruding and so is not at all overlooked. On the balcony are two adirondack chairs, and in your closet you will find a vast (and iconic) Hudson's Bay Blanket in case you are chilly. The chairs have slats with gaps between them, which is handy, because the back wall of the balcony is a full-sized window into your luxury bathroom. You can actually sit in the tub (it is designed to accommodate two comfortably) and watch the beach, while the backs of the chairs protect your modesty.
My partner and I try to get to the Wick every year, and it really does get better and better. Most establishments would rest on their laurels at this point, but the Wick always strives to improve. New this year are a remote for the blind at the bathroom window, and a dresser with a television that appears at the touch of a button (replacing the former, somewhat inelegant, armoirs).
Think you can't afford the Wick? We certainly couldn't at the height of summer, but rates change through the year, and our trip this month cost only $260 per night.
Customer service at this hotel is in a class of its own. A bottle of sparkling wine and basket of fruit greeted us in the room, along with vouchers for a free yoga class, and for coffee and house-made pastries at the Driftwood lounge (I think these bonuses were because we stayed 5 nights). My yoga class was delayed (the teacher's child had an issue at school - these things happen), and not only did they find another excellent teacher just an hour later, they also invited me to come back for a complimentary class the next day.
Other than the hotel itself, a highlight of this trip was encountering a fisherman on the daily walk down the beach. He had just deposited the head of the tuna he had caught that morning at the water's edge for the birds. We watched with him as first one crow and one eagle found the bounty. It didn't take long for word to spread. By about the five-minute mark there were 9 eagles and many crows negotiating their place in the pecking order.

Room Tip: I see from the reviews that most people prefer the original building but, having stayed in both, my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a wonderful two days staying in a one bedroom suite in Beach building. Everyone at the Wick is ready and willing to make you feel like you are the only guest staying there. A special thank you to Christine and Laura for taking such wonderful care of us. All our meals were first class and the atmosphere and servers were great. Our couples massage was excellent and by far the best massage we've ever had. Thanks for making my birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice location, view, room, accommodation. It was just perfect. We had a blast here, even though it was just for 3 days. What a lovely break. Beautiful room, beautiful view, nice outings, walk on the beach was refreshing. Restaurant was good too, even though, the evening hostess had an attitude towards us but the manager made things right, so it's all good. Our son loved the library and renting DvD's.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Eva-Lotta-Pingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked a Canopy level suite in the Beach building. A king sized bed, super bathroom with twofer tub, large shower, heated floor (lovely), and downstairs sitting and dining areas, small but well equipped kitchen, toilet and doors to small balcony. All very clean and comfortable. No teapot for this tea drinker. Heavenly view of beach through the trees out of the large window and from the balcony and from upstairs loft. Skylight over the bed, but screened and screen was dusty, so no hope of skywatching in bed! Skylight did open with remote control so we could keep bedroom cool to sleep. Blinds on skylight and big windows also operated with remote control Very friendly service at check in, help with luggage, showed us around suite. The hotel supplies anything you may need, and I foolishly did not check the gorgeously soft pillows. I should have asked for memory foam which I prefer. They had waterproofs hanging in closet for our whalewatching adventure, and would supply boots as well, not needed in our case. They did supply excellent waterproof binoculars for bird watching, etc. Nice gas fireplace in sitting area. So much peace and quiet, so relaxing. Did not use spa, but used gym with gorgeous views briefly to stretch. Library upstairs in Beach building, quiet and pleasant. Found menu in the Pointe restaurant a bit "precious", with enormously complicated seasonings, again we should have asked for food to be served more plainly - they will cook anything you want. The view from the restaurant windows is absolutely outstanding. The Wick is a very expensive hotel, and somewhat informally run - this means the staff are friendly and not buttoned up, and you can go around in informal clothing and not dress up for dinner (within reason). I always felt comfortable with my sneakers, pants and t-shirts. It does have the loveliest views of any hotel I have stayed in, and is the most peaceful and quiet. We left with regret, and are looking forward to going back, with our dog next time! Let's hope they start offering meditation classes along with the yoga. Some reviewers are obviously miffed because they didn't get what they expected for the price. It IS expensive, but they don't nickel and dime you, they are hugely helpful, just ask, because they want you to have a good time. But it's not a city hotel, it's a hotel on the beach with lots of trees, with state parks and rain forest around it. That's what you go for. My idea of heaven.

Room Tip: Higher is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A great few days at The Wick Inn. Fabulous room - slept well. Staff super. The food was perfect. I loved the low carb meals in the evening at The Pointe Restaurant. The meals seemed perfectly balanced. The spa was expensive but a lovely treat. Yoga was brilliant - great room and very good instructors. Make a point of taking your yoga clothes it was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had booked a suite for a special getaway, to mark birthday and anniversary celebrations. We were not overly impressed, on arrival as the standard of room decoration was a little tired, marks and scuffs on the furniture and fairly basic décor. The view was obstructed by the tree canopy and we did not have a good view of the beach or the sea, so far pretty ordinary.
We chose the tasting menu at The Pointe Restaurant and were told it had recently changed. I can only think the chef had not fully realized his vision for at least one course was completely inedible due to a salt overload and another was basically cheese on toast. Three of the eight courses were delicious but the others, not so much.
My wife was violently sick during the night and next day, and although we reported it to the desk, no-one was interested enough to follow up the issue.
A very expensive weekend treat left a bad taste in the mouth, literally. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DJ d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear DJ d,
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay at our Inn and your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant by way of Trip Advisor. Please accept our most sincere apology that we did not live up to your expectations and can certainly appreciate your disappointment as you were celebrating special occasions.
We were disappointed to learn that the view from your guest room did not meet your expectations as it is our standard to clearly describe all room types and their specific views to guests during the reservation process. We can assure you that our Front Office Manager will be following up internally with her team in this regard.
We are of course most concerned to learn that your wife became ill after dining at The Pointe Restaurant and appreciate you bringing it to our attention by way of an email earlier this week as the health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. As we have been unable to determine a specific food related cause for your illness and have not received any other reports of guests becoming ill after dining at The Pointe Restaurant that same evening, we feel that your wife’s illness was likely a result of either the Norovirus or the H1N1 Virus both of which have been circulating in the Tofino area and throughout the province this winter flu season. We can assure you that your experience certainly is not the standard at The Pointe Restaurant as our culinary team prides itself on providing outstanding cuisine utilizing only the freshest, locally sourced food products available.
As we take our guests’ feedback very seriously, a member of our Senior Management team will be in touch with you to personally discuss your experience with you.
Again, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and truly hope you will allow us the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Can't get much better high end, west coast accommodation than the Wick. It almost goes over the top into west coast pretentious luxury. Which may be by design but would take away any "charm factor". Our room was oceanside facing south in the old / original section, The Pointe. I think this is the preferred building over the newer facility. The room was on the 3rd floor and certainly lived up to the billing. Great views of the ocean. Sound of the surf etc. Couple things to look out for when getting these rooms. Make sure you are not in front a tree and far from the elevator.
Grab the rain gear and walk the beach, its great.
Borrow their complimentary lexus' for a couple hours - free. Great way to take a quick tour of the area.

Room Tip: becareful of trees blocking your view. get the oceanview - period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumpinhorsedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £226 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing