We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, helpful staff, great food and stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and it was a great place to unwind. It's location on Chesterman. beach is great for long strolls and fresh air - check out the rock pools and the starfish too. The Hostel Spa was first rate and added to our relaxing stay.
The staff were very friendly and the food and views in The Pointe restaurant were outstanding. A great selection of wines too.
It is also a very short drive from Tofino which is a great location for several wildlife viewing trips. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nano0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I must admit looking at the photographs on the web and reading previous reviews, I came to the Wickanannish Inn with high expectations. Too often these expectations aren't met, but in this case they were if possible, exceeded. This is truly one of the great places to stay in Canada and the location and accommodation are simply stunning.
I had a room in the Pointe Building facing the west. These rooms overlook the islands and ocean, and you are literally only a few metres from the breaking waves. The rooms themselves are large, spacious and equipped as you would expect from a quality property. There are many small touches such as binoculars, wet weather gear, reading material etc that add to the comfort.
The staff are not only efficient and accommodating, they are genuinely friendly as well.
The Pointe Restaurant is high quality and the views are exceptional. The food is superb, but the portion sizes are rather small and as a result you tend to have additional courses which can push up the cost.
One thing I like compared to many other similar Canadian hotels, is that parking is free including the valet parking. WiFi is also free, although the web bandwidth around Tofino is somewhat limited and thus reduces download speeds.
The Wickaninnish Inn is a great base to explore the Pacific Rim Park and Tofino and is an outstanding destination in its own right. An absolute gem!

Room Tip: The Inn has 2 separate but adjacent buildings, the Pointe and the Beachfront. As inferred by the nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love this place. Its easy to leave all your stresses behind watching the waves and the fog advance and recede and eagles converse in the trees. The biggest decision for us here is how far to walk on the beach, the biggest decision for the dog is how often she wants to chase the ball before she lays down in the nearest sea water. The staff in this hotel make this an easy and memorable stay. We've chosen this Inn and restaurant(always creative) over the years because of its reliability to make us comfortable and what more do you want?

Room Tip: We don't spend much time in the rooms but you should choose water view, we have stayed at the Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leda287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at some wonderful places over the years and this ranks with the best of them. Obviously, you get what you pay for (if you are lucky) and this is not cheap or particularly easy to get to but it is well worth the effort. The Relais & Chateaux designation insures your investment. Photographing eagles from your balcony, walking the beach, or a visit into Tofino were all highlights as was the Pointe Restaurant. Renting a car on Victoria Island was not as much fun and getting a flat tire on the twisty mountain road on the way back to the airport and driving 50 miles on the temporary spare still didn't diminish the trip. The only place in North America that I have liked as well was Triple Creek Ranch in Montana.

Room Tip: It's hard to beat ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Love this place! We were lucky to hit the Feast Tofino menu and enjoyed a spectacular dinner for a very reasonable price. Three types of fresh house made bread to choose from, all great. The taste menu included a pork belly amuse followed by Dungeness crab with zucchini, sorrel and flowers. Next was baked ling cod with wild onion, buttermilk and sumac. We added in the lamb course which included lamb tenderloin with roasted rhubarb, kale, soused tomato and basil....so many flavour layers in this dish, words can't do it justice! Truly one of the best plates I've ever tasted. Dessert was called fennel granite which includes poached apple, fennel mousse and fennel and almond crumble. This dessert was light and delicious...perfect finish to an unbelievable dinner. Our server was amazing, his passion for the food was evident and he was very knowledgeable about where each component came from. Suggested wine pairings were also a hit....easy to see, I'm a really big fan!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oceanbound80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The service was amazing. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were there to celebrate a birthday and for the entire three days we were there, staff offered a "happy birthday" at every opportunity. The views were amazing. We stayed in the Beach hotel (as opposed to the the Pointe). Easy access to the beach. We left the patio door open all night so we could listen to the waves. Just wish we had time to stay longer. It was definitely worth it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I love the Wickanninnish Inn. I've stayed there beautifully, and the Pointe side of the property is stunning. Chesterman Beach is stunning 2.5 kilometres of mostly empty beach, just for you.

The view from the Pointe Restaurant ... a 270 degree view of the Pacific. Stunning.

The spa was amazing. The massages were out of this world.

Only problem was the dinner one evening, I was served undercooked scallops. Not good for a Relais and Chateau. When it was redone, still rubbery ... but slightly more cooked. And they still charged for the dinner. Disappointing.

The other is that the pillows were way too soft. That was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yellow_Mzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Yellow_Mzungu,
Many thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our Inn and sharing your experience with our online community.
While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we were most disappointed that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations with respect to the scallop dish in particular. Please accept our most sincere apology that both your originally served and replaced dish were not cooked to your preference. I can assure you this certainly is not our standard at The Pointe Restaurant and I am truly sorry that we fell short in resolving your concerns during your dining experience and ultimately did not provide the experience The Pointe Restaurant has earned a reputation for providing to our guests. We also note your preference for firmer pillows and will ensure you receive them on your return once we can confirm your specific details of what you would prefer.
As we would truly appreciate the opportunity to personally speak with you, a member of our senior management team will be in contact with you shortly.
Again, we are truly sorry that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to address your concerns with you personally.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,093 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £195 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing