We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Can't say enough about the Wickaninnish Inn. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. The loft suite was spacious, modern, comfortable with beautiful views. The kitchen was more than adequate. The Inn blends into the surrounding rain forest making you feel part of the local environment, not an intrusion to it.

Walks on the beach were easy with the rain gear and boots provided by the inn; although we were lucky not to need the rain gear that much.

If you're planning on exploring you must have a car. We rented one from the little airport. It was a little pricy but there wasn't a lot (any actually) of competition. The young woman at the Budget in the airport was extremely friendly and came to the inn to pick us up.

The restaurant was world class. The mark up on the wines was a little much but there was a nice selection of BC wines which were much better than I expected.

I look forward to returning sometime in the future. Winter storm watching might be interesting!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thank you for a lovely stay, we were on our honeymoon and found this hotel very good, the rooms are wonderfully maintained and kept, beds are luxurious with mattresses 18" thick! Bathrooms have bath tub overlooking beach. Showers are lovely, tVs that hide away in cabinet. The list goes on.

House keeping staff are excellent leaving lovely displays with towels and robes, thank you.

reasons for 4 star and not 5.

1st meal was pork belly and this was awful, just strips of fat, with virtually no meat. I have enjoyed this dish many times in the UK but this was poor. received free desert because if this.

The menu is limited if you do not enjoy fish and your stay is over two days.

No swimming pool

No jacuzzi tub in bathroom.

We loved our stay despite a few niggles, may I suggest that room 211 has the conifer outside topped as it's detracting the view from the room to the sea and the tree itself offers little promise for future grandeur.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tilly001200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Tilly001200,
Thank you for posting a Review of your recent stay at our Inn and your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience with our online community.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us for your Honeymoon and are pleased you appreciated the amenities provided in your guest room. We try to anticipate our guests’ needs and provide items which we feel would enhance their stay.
Please accept our most sincere apology that the pork belly dish was not to your liking. While we are pleased that our team at The Pointe Restaurant did provide you with a complimentary dessert, as it is our standard to replace any dish not to our guest’s satisfaction it would have been our pleasure to replace this dish for you upon request. We can assure you that your comments have been provided directly to our Executive Chef, as well as to our Director of Food and Beverage. Should you have any additional information you care to share with us, please do not hesitate to contact us via Trip Advisor`s private messaging system or directly at sandy@wickinn.com at any time.
Thank you for your comments regarding a swimming pool, jacuzzi bathtub and the view from Room 211. As your comments are very valuable for future upgrades to our Inn, we have taken the liberty of providing them to our Management team.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire team we thank you for your Review and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Tofino is as far west as you can get in Canada & if you want to see this spectacular setting in style, you'll pick the Wick.

Granted it's roughly an hour flight or a 5 hour drive from Victoria, but once you get here, you'll understand "the bother".

The setting is on a spectacular beach & rocky coastline with lush rain forests, eagles & beginning surfers. The hotel is both kid & dog friendly. But you'll see more couples of various ages, all here to unwind.

We booked an end room on the second floor with an ocean view, king bed. This came with luxurious amenities like a fireplace, great linens, a jetted tub with an ocean view, tv that recedes Into a cabinet when not in use, even loaner binoculars.

The hotel offers bicycles to loan for free, as well as a car, but for that you have to possess a Canadian passport. Taxi service is available which you'll want. As the price points for meals at the hotel as exorbitant, though the setting is spectacular.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, part of an anniversary weekend.

The staff here truly went above and beyond to make sure our entire stay was as comfortable as possible. We were always greeted by name, and often even our dog was welcomed warmly.

Hotel did an excellent job making our pooch feel welcomed - a bed, bowls, ball chucker, poo bags and towels were provided in the room. Grounds well equipped with dog-wash stations and towels - the water supplied for rinsing the sandy paws was even warm! Nice touch.

Food was excellent. The chef even called our room to check in and see if we had any special requests for dinner, and later customized his menu to suit the desires of my partner. Completely blew me away, as they prepared her risotto perfectly and completely from scratch, though it wasn't even on the menu. I had the best scallop entree I've ever tasted - one of the best meals I've ever eaten.

Spa is pricy, but glorious. Opt for the private cabin if you get a massage, and make sure to take some extra time to enjoy the steam cave before/after your appointment. Best hot-stone massage I've ever experienced, hands down.

I've stayed in Tofino many times, but never before at the Wickaninnish. It's not a cheap stay, but I believe it to be well worth the splurge, and I look forward to returning sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor gets better views; and make sure to take advantage of turn-down service at night! Bikes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustang67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the moment we entered this wonderful hotel till the moment we left We were treated in a very special way,the staff remembered our names took an interest in what we wanted to do they were sooo helpful.there was the use of the courtesy car to take us where we wanted to go and to pick us up.The staff in the restaurant were very professional and caring nothing was too much trouble,and the setting amazing.We loved our stay and would love one day to return.Our suite was perfect with beautiful views of the sea. We booked this hotel after looking at the website and reading reviews and it was sold to us,we were choosing hotels for us and 2 friends so we wanted it to be good,it was all we wanted it to be and even more the only downside was having to leave.Thank you all at The Wickanninish Inn.

Room Tip: We think that every room will have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diagram49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to disconnect Tofino is your place. While wifi is everywhere, even in the hotel, it's incredibly slow. Don't expect to download movies. It's not the fault of the hotel, the island gets it's Internet via microwaves. But it's actually a benefit to give you the focus you need to enjoy the beauty of the location.

Let me start with the service, everybody is super friendly and very helpful in some cases too friendly. The location is like none other right on the ocean. We were in room 310 which is the corner with has outstanding views. The room is large with a large bathroom, featuring a tub for two. The hotel has three eating areas, a top notch restaurant, a bar and a fireplace lounge. Each with separate menus. My favorite dish was the shrimp gnocchi. Lots of local beers too choose from and a good wine selection. Bikes are available for free. By far the best experience you will get in Tofino.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and it was a great place to unwind. It's location on Chesterman. beach is great for long strolls and fresh air - check out the rock pools and the starfish too. The Hostel Spa was first rate and added to our relaxing stay.
The staff were very friendly and the food and views in The Pointe restaurant were outstanding. A great selection of wines too.
It is also a very short drive from Tofino which is a great location for several wildlife viewing trips. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nano0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £176 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing