We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tin Wis Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamie's Rainforest Inn(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tofino Motel HarbourView(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cox Bay Beach Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$341
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Beach Lodge(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,409 results
Traveller rating
1,121
171
70
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,121
171
70
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach buildingdriftwood cafepoint restaurantancient cedarsrelais chateauxpremier roomtasting menuchesterman beachsecret coveturn down servicesteam roomrain gearpicture windowon the rocksfrank islandvancouver islandloft suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,201 - 1,206 of 1,409 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2008

On a recomendation we booked this hotel for 3 nightas as part of our Honeymoon.
Arrival in Tofino, the chauffeur driven limo to the hotel was a nice surprise.
The room was amazing. On the 3rd floor of the main building with floor to ceiling windows.
The wildlife outside the window was incrdible with Sea Otters near the rocks, and Bald Eagles nearby.

Food in the restaurant was excellent, if any complaint a bit too fancy for every meal every day.

Tofino as a town is fun. It is pretty basic, but a great base to see whales, bears etc.

The beach outside the Wick is stunning for a run, or evening walk round to the island that gets cut off by the sea at high tide.

Back to the hotel for dinner looking over the water.

Definately going back, a great place for R&R.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Bnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

The setting is extraordinary, the rooms exceptionally comfortable, and if it hails and snows - as it did during our visit - you can be perfectly happy in the bathtub or by the fire in each room, watching the waves. But there is a rather strained anxiety to please about this hotel, which grates: the dogged insistence on opening the huge front doors for guests, for example, and the rather fussy menus. The food and wine are good - and both cost more on Vancouver Island for obvious reasons - but it would be good to have a cheaper place to eat than the restaurant in the evenings. The spa is also on the pretentious side, though you can use the steam room without paying for a treatment if you ask. That said, it is a wonderful place to play Scrabble, drink hot chocolate and watch storms. Do take a 4x4 if you're driving across the island, though, even in spring.

On my first visit here in 1999 I spotted a sea otter eating a sea urchin from the restaurant window. Unfortunately, he didn't return on either of my subsequent trips.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Elpis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

After spending a night at another Tofino lodge, we stopped in at the Wick to see what all the fuss was about. We immediately canceled our remaining stay in the other place and moved to the Wickaninnish. The location can't be beat -- 30 seconds to a 1.5 mile hard sand beach. Our room was on the ground floor and had a view of the ocean, the islands, and the surge inlet just north of the hotel. Amazing! With the door open at night, I went to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks just outside the balcony. The staff were over-the-top accommodating and friendly. When we checked in, the front desk person took us to 3 different rooms to see which one we would prefer. The food in the restaurant was superb -- fresh, organic, and local. Because I'm a budget-conscious traveler, I don't think I would ever visit the Wick in high season. It's just too expensive. But we got a room at half price and, at that rate, I thought the accommodation and the service was a bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Wanting a cool getaway from the heat and humidity of Nashville in August, my husband, a couple with whom we travel frequently, and I spent 5 days at the Wickaninnish Inn. It was all we'd hoped for and more. Our rooms had giant soaking tubs in the bathroom window, balconies and large bedroom windows looking on the ocean, plus comfortable beds, a gas fireplace, a large shower, and lots of little extras like binoculars, books and rain suits.

The food was excellent at the Pointe Restaurant, lots of salmon, crab and halibut, and we also enjoyed a crab feast on the beach one night. At low tide, the Wick has the best tide pools I've ever seen, filled with hundreds of starfish and anemones. The beach is flat and perfect for long walks. Although we weren't there during the storm watching season, we did have one day of rain and wind and we loved our walk on the beach that day as well as relaxing afterward with lattes and then reading [and napping] in front of the fire.

Tofino is also a fun little town, with good excursions to watch whales and bears as well as art galleries and food and wine of a much higher quality than we had expected in such a small place.

We had been to Vancouver Island before, but only to the Butchart Gardens and Victoria. The west coast of the Island is magnificent, and the Inn deserves all the stars and rave reviews that it's won.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcgabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We recently stayed at The Wickeninnish and would like to say - Wow! Understated elegance. Everything done perfectly in a laid back, unpretentious style. How refreshing to eat in the very classy restuarant and be able to wear jeans and t shirt if you wanted.

We stayed in Room 309 which we can thoroughly recommend for a special occasion. When we were shown our room our jaws hit the floor. It was such a beautiful room with amazing views of the sea and rocks. The movement of the sea and the sound of the surf just don't come across on the photos. Make sure you book early though. We were told that this is the most sought after room and you need to book at least a year ahead if you want a particular date.

We mentioned when we booked (approx. a year before) that we would be staying for our 25th wedding anniversary and were pleasantly suprised that when we arrived there was a card wishing us a happy anniversary. When we ate at the Pointe restuarant (which we found to be reasonably priced and far superior to many restaurants we had eaten in during our holiday) we were touched to given a glass of champagne at the start of our meal and a plate of hand made chocolates to help us celebrate. Again with no prompting from us.

This hotel has got the magic touch of knowing how to do things well and more importantly when to stop. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinx1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews