We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
1,201
183
74
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,201
183
74
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach buildingdriftwood cafepoint restaurantancient cedarsrelais chateauxtasting menupremier roomchesterman beachsecret coveturn down servicesteam roomrain gearpicture windowon the rocksfrank islandvancouver islandloft suite
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 10 days at the Inn and were very pleased with the experience. We booked a Frank Island suite on the third floor and it was a great choice for us. Very nice views and at the corner of the building with a small but usable balcony and great picture window view. Lots of other windows looking both at the beach and forest as well.

The staff was very friendly, well trained, knowledgeable and helpful. We took a bear viewing trip and were very pleased with their advice on the selection. There are plenty of places to walk and hike (and it is a pleasant round trip drive on highway 4 up into the mountains and even to the other side) and a variety of other activities so we did not feel we overstayed our visit.

The room service was very good and efficient with breakfasts being reasonably priced for what you get. The pastry chef makes all the bread and pasties and is outstanding.

We ate at the Pointe restaurant and thought it was consistently excellent for food and service.

One mild complaint is that there is not a lot of soundproofing between rooms, providing another reason why we were happy to have the Frank Island suite at the end of the hallway.

Room Tip: Third floor Frank Island suite was very good as described above
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said about the Wick? It is a fantastic hotel - one of the best I have stayed in across the world. Location is the best in Tofino - and the best of our trip to Canada. The rooms are outstanding, with lots of additional touches like rain coats, rucksacks, beach towels and mats and blankets all made available with the room. We stayed in room 201, which had an amazing view of the secret cove and the sea. So good that we kept our blinds open at night so we could wake up to the view. The bath had the same view. Facilities/amenities are also great here. The staff were very helpful - big mention for Marcus in the Pointe restaurant whose service and attention was outstanding.

The onlydownsides related to the Pointe restaurant. There was a significant difference in the service in the morning and at night. The breakfast service was quite poor. Staff were slow to serve us and to take orders. We were not offered coffee/tea and had to ask and it was just all a bit disjointed. Dinner service was totally the opposite and outstanding in every respect. However, there is a dress code which states no Baseball caps. There were two men in there on the evening we ate both wearing caps. This is a restaurant which has an excellent reputation, but - sorry Wick - this really lowered the tone and affected our experience. I did raise this with the Hostess on my way out, but you need to enforce that rule a bit more strictly as it does bother people.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 or 301 offer a fantastic view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is not a great weekend away or short trip from Seattle! If your flight into Tofino is cancelled due to fog you still have to pay for your room and spa reservations.

We were flying out for a quick trip from Victoria and were told flights into Tofino were cancelled. To remedy this, Orca Air would fly us to Vancouver for a 3 hour delay connecting to a flight to the east coast of Vancouver Island then drive us 3 hours across to Tofino. So instead of arriving at 1:15 we would be arriving at 8 missing out on a day in Tofino. We opted to drive the 5 hours to Tofino but encountered an accident at the cathedral of trees, road was blocked for over an hour. With a half hour stop for dinner the road trip turned out to be 7 hours. Long day!

I would recommend if you want that quick relaxing getaway from Seattle, pick something closer to Victoria, San Juans, or east coast of Vancouver island. The West coast is beautiful but hard to get to and weather very moist.

We've been to the Wick many times but this will be our last. Terrible cancellation policy. I could understand if there wasn't a waiting list to get a room or to get spa treatments. But its high season and very easy for them to fill our vacant spots.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank woodinvilletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Woodinvilletravels,
Many thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our Inn via Trip Advisor and please accept our most sincere apology that we did not meet your expectations on this visit.
We are, of course, truly sorry that your stay was shorter than expected to due fog in the Tofino area resulting in your flight from Victoria being cancelled and the delay you experienced driving to our Inn due to an accident on the highway. We certainly understand and appreciate your disappointment as your time with us was significantly reduced.
We are, however, pleased to advise that recently Kenmore Air announced direct round trip service from Seattle to Nanaimo which provides another travel option for our guests in the Seattle area and which significantly reduces the driving and travel time to Tofino. We would suggest exploring this option for a future visit to Tofino or Vancouver Island.
In regard to our cancellation standard, due to our remote location on the west coast, unfortunately we do not have the walk-in guests that a large hotel located in a city centre has and, as a result, typically are unable to resell guest rooms on short notice, even during our summer peak period. We are, however, flexible with our cancellation standard should the guest be unable to stay with us due to extenuating circumstances such as a death or health issue.
As we are most disappointed that you will not return to our Inn, we would appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss your experience with you, therefore, a member of our Senior Management Team will be in direct contact with you shortly.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We came up before for our 20th anniversary 6 years ago and had a lovely experience. Now it seams everything is about making a nickel and a dime hear and there. No hot tub or soak at the spa, only a steam room which you have to book and pay $10. Yoga $28. Really for $780 per night for a room! Long way to drive on a long and windy road, would have been nice to soak.

Sunny all the way from Victoria and in the mid 80s. Tofino, socked in with fog and 58.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable. Avoid a suite, not worth the extra money and the living room small with uncomfortable couch to watch TV.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mark W,
Thank you for providing us with feedback of your recent stay at our Inn.
While we are pleased you enjoyed your 20th Anniversary at our Inn 6 years ago, as it is our goal to continually improve and exceed the expectations of our loyal and returning guests, it is most disappointing to learn that we did not meet this goal on your recent return visit to our Inn.
We appreciate and thank you for your comments regarding our steam room and yoga charges. Our steam room is complimentary for our guests who also have Spa Appointments booked. However, for guests who do not have appointments booked or outside guests, we do charge the $10.00 fee to cover such items as the personalized locker, the availability of the many quality Spa products which the guests may use and the use of an unlimited number of linens during their visit. In addition, while we previously offered the steam room on a complimentary basis, we found the space becoming overwhelmed and often filled with younger guests and it was not the relaxing environment we were hoping for. Now that we do charge for a steam, the visitation has become much more adult in nature and the relaxing environment we were hoping for has been achieved. While it can be perceived as a bit of a nickel and diming situation, it really is more a way to manage the volume and guest profile. Comments such as yours do come up from time to time but usually with the above explanation the cost is better appreciated. Any thoughts you may have on an alternative approach would of course be welcome to avoid the nickel and diming perception.
While you are correct in that our guest rooms, guest room balconies and public areas are non-smoking, we do have available smoking areas on property for those of our guests who wish to smoke and apologize if you were not aware of these areas during your stay with us.
In relation to alcohol on the beach, unfortunately this is beyond our control as Chesterman Beach is a public beach and liquor laws in BC are such that alcohol is prohibited on all public beaches.
We pride ourselves on delivering quality service and outstanding value in all areas of our operation but most especially for our accommodations, food and beverage and spa experiences. We would welcome any suggestions that would enhance the value to price relationship for you and would appreciate the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience. Accordingly, a member of our Senior Management Team will be in contact with you to personally discuss your stay with us.
Again, we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your return visit to our Inn and sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to speak with you personally.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you are traveling to the Tofino area be sure to book a room early at the Wick. Outstanding scenery, restaurant and service above reproach are hallmarks of this Relais & Chateau property. The staff was always ready to help and provide suggestions for activities during your stay. You will not be disappointed with your time here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews