We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Truly excellent hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I love Tofino having visted twice before so we had decided this time we would definitely stay at the Wick. It didnt disappoint. The room was certainly one of the best I have ever stayed in, not just the view or the fact you can see it from your perfectly positioned bathtub and picture window! My son was impressed by the TV which only appears electrically from its hidden location when you press a button. The closet contains everything you need from wet weather gear to a ruck sack. The location of this hotel has to be one of the most dramatic and scenic in the world. We loved it.

I am not picky but I will just say for me the only let down was the breakfast service. It could not be more different from the service in the Pointe on an evening which was exceptional. But at breakfast I really don't need 20 minutes or more to chose from the breakfast menu. The first day we were there the breakfsast experience took an hour and unfortunately only 15 mins of that involved eating.

The rest however was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room in the Pointe Building.
See more room tips
Green Features: Really strong on the environment here and you can see why they would be. This place is a natural wonder.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleGuy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Manager at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Poonani,

Thank you for posting a Review of your recent stay at our Inn on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience with our online community.

I’m so happy to hear you had a lovely stay at the Inn and in Tofino, and that your son picked up on one of my personal favourite details – the hidden TV!

We appreciate your feedback on The Pointe Restaurant’s breakfast service as well. Many guests prefer to linger over the view from The Pointe during the day, though we could certainly speed this up if a guest would rather have an expedient meal. Our Driftwood Café also offers a selection of pastries and breakfast options for guests who are on the go.

On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your kind Review and hope to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn, The Pointe Restaurant and perhaps the Driftwood Café!

Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    153
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
189
836
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pensacola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I travel to Tofino each summer to celebrate our anniversary and enjoy the relaxation of The Wick. It is such a special place with its own unique Pacific Rim decor, the setting in the rainforest as it meets the Pacific Ocean, and expansive, flat Chesterman Beach where we take our daily walks. Service is attentive and personal. The main dining room , The Pointe, is 270 degrees of glass windows overlooking the ocean waves rolling over the outcroppings onto the beach full of surfers. There is also a smaller cafe in the Beach building for a quick breakfast , lunch or casual supper or for beachwalkers to stop in for a capuccino, As relaxing and low key everything is from bike riding, nature walks and just exploring the beach, make sure you book a treatment in their spa. Our side by side couple's massage in their cedar sanctuary has become a yearly tradition not to be missed. Thank you to all who work to make the Wick so special to all of us who travel so far to experience its magic.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view although the Pointe building overlooks open ocean whereas the Beach buildi...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Wick tries to be sensitive to being green. Their towels and sheets are highest quality, but they suggest towels be hung up to dry and not washed and replaced everyday. Brita water filter pitchers are placed in the rooms for fresh water.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Remote and not easy to get to, but worth it! Very romantic and cozy. Room was lovely with great views of the ocean. Binoculars are provided so you can spot the many bald eagles in the treetops. The area is simply beautiful and has great outdoor activities: lots of beautiful hiking. This is truly a special hotel in a very special place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were celebrating special birthdays and were kindly upgraded to an absolutely gorgeous room, wow having a bath whilst looking out over the Pacific, what a treat.
Every little extra you could think of was in the room, binoculars, rain coats etc.
Not a cheap option, but absolutely worth it for a special treat, the restaurant is a must!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spend 16 days in Canada in August 2014, starting in Banff, going to Lake Louise, Jasper, Kamloops, Vancouver and Vancouver Island (Tofino)

Boy did we save the best for last, we stayed three nights in a ground floor beach apartment (no13)

It was fantastic, excellent facilities and great for relaxing and chilling out just what we wanted before our return to the UK.

Wi fi connection was perfect throughout the stay,

If I could give this hotel a six star rating on trip advisor I would service was excellent.

Great location, fantastic beach and easy commute into Tofino shoulou want to leave this fantastic locationd y

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Third stay at this wonderful hotel, 2008, 2012 and 2014. Chesterman Beach even in fog is great! it added a new dimension to our stay. Driftwood Cafe, is now the place to have a coffee, get something to eat, although I think come our next stay it might be a by reservation only!
In 2012 the downside was the WiFi connection in our room, this has been fixed, but with more internet devices we get a new problem, lack of bandwidth. hopefully the hotel can fix this, it would also be nice to get WiFi to the Cafe area. Whilst writing this I am in another hotel about an hour away, friends are in Tofino tomorrow, perhaps we meet up for coffee at the Driftwood Cafe

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WasteAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Wickaninnish Inn. The service, food & location were all amazing. Bear hunting on Mike's boat was so exciting (we even saw a mother bear with her cub), cycling on the beach was an experience not to miss as was the nature trail taken by knowledgable Cat. Don't miss having a spa treatment (Isabel was excellent) & the Pointe restaurant lived up to its reputation. For people who enjoy a combination of luxury and natural beauty you would be hard pressed to beat the Wickaninnish Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,028 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,631 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing