We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful room, very good dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
köln, germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful room, very good dinner”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

A wonderful stay.
The employees are a little too convinced that their hotel is the best all over the world and some are a little bit sniffy

  • Liked — surrounding area, room, dinner
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lieberwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    153
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
189
823
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

This hotel is a magical place. The rooms, the service, the food, the value all amazing. Dont miss the crab boil on the beach. I had a second floor room in the new wing... Great views. My parents had the room below, less private and less of a view.

  • Liked — Service was so friendly.. and the restaurant that hangs on the rocks in amazing.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Third time at the Wick and it did not disappoint. We bought a package deal through a charity event and stayed for two nights. Stayed in the main building this time, which seemed a bit outdated compared to the beach front building. Prefer the beach units. The staff were exceptional, always friendly and helpful when we asked any questions. We dined in the Pointe Restaurant and found the portions to be large, the food excellent. It was worth going just for the home made bread daily. We went to the spa which seemed average to me in terms of setup but the treatment was amazing (Tara for a great massage). Dined out twice, once at Sobe in town, average and expensive as well as lounge at the Long Beach Lodge, food was okay but took forever to get to us and then the waiter kept trying to take our food before we were done, service sucked but loved the view. This is the BEST place to stay In Tofino and worth the extra money.

  • Liked — Comfort of rooms and lounges
  • Disliked — Floral couch
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank agiustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

On a recomendation we booked this hotel for 3 nightas as part of our Honeymoon.
Arrival in Tofino, the chauffeur driven limo to the hotel was a nice surprise.
The room was amazing. On the 3rd floor of the main building with floor to ceiling windows.
The wildlife outside the window was incrdible with Sea Otters near the rocks, and Bald Eagles nearby.

Food in the restaurant was excellent, if any complaint a bit too fancy for every meal every day.

Tofino as a town is fun. It is pretty basic, but a great base to see whales, bears etc.

The beach outside the Wick is stunning for a run, or evening walk round to the island that gets cut off by the sea at high tide.

Back to the hotel for dinner looking over the water.

Definately going back, a great place for R&R.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Bnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

The setting is extraordinary, the rooms exceptionally comfortable, and if it hails and snows - as it did during our visit - you can be perfectly happy in the bathtub or by the fire in each room, watching the waves. But there is a rather strained anxiety to please about this hotel, which grates: the dogged insistence on opening the huge front doors for guests, for example, and the rather fussy menus. The food and wine are good - and both cost more on Vancouver Island for obvious reasons - but it would be good to have a cheaper place to eat than the restaurant in the evenings. The spa is also on the pretentious side, though you can use the steam room without paying for a treatment if you ask. That said, it is a wonderful place to play Scrabble, drink hot chocolate and watch storms. Do take a 4x4 if you're driving across the island, though, even in spring.

On my first visit here in 1999 I spotted a sea otter eating a sea urchin from the restaurant window. Unfortunately, he didn't return on either of my subsequent trips.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elpis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

After spending a night at another Tofino lodge, we stopped in at the Wick to see what all the fuss was about. We immediately canceled our remaining stay in the other place and moved to the Wickaninnish. The location can't be beat -- 30 seconds to a 1.5 mile hard sand beach. Our room was on the ground floor and had a view of the ocean, the islands, and the surge inlet just north of the hotel. Amazing! With the door open at night, I went to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks just outside the balcony. The staff were over-the-top accommodating and friendly. When we checked in, the front desk person took us to 3 different rooms to see which one we would prefer. The food in the restaurant was superb -- fresh, organic, and local. Because I'm a budget-conscious traveler, I don't think I would ever visit the Wick in high season. It's just too expensive. But we got a room at half price and, at that rate, I thought the accommodation and the service was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jbullock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Wanting a cool getaway from the heat and humidity of Nashville in August, my husband, a couple with whom we travel frequently, and I spent 5 days at the Wickaninnish Inn. It was all we'd hoped for and more. Our rooms had giant soaking tubs in the bathroom window, balconies and large bedroom windows looking on the ocean, plus comfortable beds, a gas fireplace, a large shower, and lots of little extras like binoculars, books and rain suits.

The food was excellent at the Pointe Restaurant, lots of salmon, crab and halibut, and we also enjoyed a crab feast on the beach one night. At low tide, the Wick has the best tide pools I've ever seen, filled with hundreds of starfish and anemones. The beach is flat and perfect for long walks. Although we weren't there during the storm watching season, we did have one day of rain and wind and we loved our walk on the beach that day as well as relaxing afterward with lattes and then reading [and napping] in front of the fire.

Tofino is also a fun little town, with good excursions to watch whales and bears as well as art galleries and food and wine of a much higher quality than we had expected in such a small place.

We had been to Vancouver Island before, but only to the Butchart Gardens and Victoria. The west coast of the Island is magnificent, and the Inn deserves all the stars and rave reviews that it's won.

  • Liked — Fabulous beach and unbeatable views
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing