We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, food must improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We have stayed for six nights at the Wick and really loved the location, the room - especially the view from our room!
Beware that some rooms in the beach building have really a quite obstructed view of the ocean - you see more trees than beach or ocean. Luckily we've stayed in the old/main buildign.
The complete staff was very, very friendly and helpful - especially Noriko the Concierge! We loved every minute there and sure will be back.
Only thing we would encourage them to change is the flexibility of the kitchen team. We have asked for a slight change in food - and it was not possible. We also had the impression that the food (especially dinner) is not always on a very high standard. We had Halibut twice - first time it was just delicious, second time totally boring and uninspired, not to say: totally below standard. We had this experience a couple of times and I must say: there are better restaurants (especially worth the money!) around.
Also there was no "special of the day" or something of that nature - and also a quite small selection of main courses - they need to work on that!
Other than that, I would really recommend the Wick - it is terribly expensive, but I would say worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

The Wick is a great spot for a remote, natural, leisurely vacation getaway. Wife and I selected it for part of our 15th anniversary trip and couldn't have been more pleased. We were in the Chesterman Beach Loft and the room was perfectly appointed. New, modern kitchen with all appliances and accessories of home, great bathroom with tub view of beach/ocean, great bed and linens. We often made meals in our room and just enjoyed looking the the natural beauty of the beach below. The Wick offers free bicycle usage and we took advantage of this twice and wandered around not only the resort area but also into the town of Tofino. Ate at the restaurant one evening. Service was great, food was above average but not spectacular, ambiance of restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed here last august and forgot to write a review.

I must say, I read the review from the lady about the babysitting and not liking children, I would have to that was not the case for us!

We had a wonderful babysitter who our kids( 2 and 5 at the time) just loved, she even came to see us off on our last day!

They have a crab boil right on the beach for dinner then the kids get to make yummy smores! My kids loved it there!

The rooms were very lovely and clean with a really nice fireplace!

We had dinner in the restaurant and I found the food fantastic and the staff really friendly ( and not in a creepy way).

We are going back again this year!

Lovely setting!!

Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
Thank LondonLondon095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed 3 nights here in the older building west facing room. (305). We had a wonderful view and slept with the balcony door open all night. The room has a gas fireplace that we put to good use. The bathroom is really nice. The room is super clean. The hotel offers complimentary apples all the time and bottled water at turn down service.

The beach is easily accessed. The restaurant was pricey. The fish was exceptional. The chicken dish wasn't as good. The desserts were disappointing (we had the tray of chocolates).

The concierge, Mark, was super helpful. We appreciated the shuttle service to and from town. We wish it went later than 5pm, though. We also would have loved to have had a pool here.

We enjoyed shopping in downtown Tofino, walking along the beach, and also a 2.5 hour whale watching trip.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

You could not ask for a more luxurious retreat in nature. The second floor room was plush and well appointed. We really liked the staff and the spa experience. Definitely go kayaking!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemmingwayCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Overall we had a super time staying at the Wick!
Staff - All staff were great and friendly, but not overly so or snobbish. They seem very happy to work there and are mostly young/student types. Person who took our reservation did not quote the advertised sale room rate, I had to specifically ask. Make sure to check their website for advertised deals and remind them!

Room - We had a deluxe room on the 2nd floor of the Beach building. I think location of your room will affect enjoyment the most. Our room was right beside the lobby and directly overlooked the outdoor dining patio. Ppl in the lobby could also easily see into our room as could ppl walking to and from the beach. However, you could see into virtually all the 1st and 2nd floor Beach rooms.

Given that our room was atop the dining patio and next to lobby, we had a huge break in the trees thus leaving us a superb beach/ocean view. I think its luck of the draw how obscured other beach views were...some windows had alot of trees directly in front, but were farther from the trail thus more private.

We were also given a tour of the same deluxe room in the Pointe building. You get total privacy as all rooms look out to the ocean and rocks, some don't have beach views. However these rooms were 1/3 smaller and not as updated. All amenities are the same, bed, desk, fireplace, bathroom. The dx room in the Beach building was much larger, had heated bathroom floors with dual sink, closeted toilet and slate surrounds. Pointe bathroom had cheaper looking white ceramics and only a single sink. Pointe only has deluxe and premier corner rooms (as we were told by staff).

Dx rooms had coffee maker, kettle, microwave, bar fridge and gorgeous dual soaker tubs.

Other - We did not eat at the restaurant or go to the spa. The beach is a 1 min walk from the Beach or Pointe bldg. They give you raincoats and boots to wear. It is a 2.5 hour drive from Nanaimo with minimal traffic. The gym is not bad at all, universal gym, weights, treadmills, ellipticals, fresh water, towels and fruit. Nice flat screen tv's to watch while working out.

We paid 280 and 240/nt with the sale and would come again for the same rate. I would definitely not pay full price or the summer rates given the lack of privacy at the Beach bldg or the lack of upgrades in the Pointe bldg. However if you like people watching, its great for that!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaverteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I just got back from a weekend at the Wick and can't wait to go back. I am a travel agent so spend a lot of time mired in the details, reviews and various amenities of hotels and have stayed at quite a few.

The Frank Island Suite (room 30) is one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The decor is very west coast (think cedar and stone), and compliments the view of trees, rocks and ocean in the huge windows perfectly. The enormous two-person soaker tub right against one of those huge windows was a major highlight. The Aveda bath products, heated stone bathroom floor, thick soft towels and heavenly showerhead had me not wanting to get dressed! The minibar was well-stocked, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I fell in love with the little daybed in a nook surrounded by windows - I could have spent all day reading there...speaking of reading, I thought the locally-themed selection of books was a nice touch. We were continously discovering these thoughtful touches - rain slickers and hudson's bay company blankets, cd player with a small selection , etc. There really is nothing like opening that sliding door and falling asleep listening to the waves crash ashore meters away.

If you're planning on catching your favorite shows you might be disappointed - the TV was a foot away from the couch, off to the side and at floor level. Kinda weird, but we didn't have the urge to turn it on - much better to curl up with a book and a glass of wine on the balcony anyways.

Service was impeccable, not in any way smarmy or overdone as some reviewers have complained. I found everyone to be gracious and accomodating in the best possible way.

The spa was lovely - I just had a pedicure, but wow what a pedicure. It started with a copper basin of hot water with marbles in the bottom, enjoyed while wrapped in blankets on a wooden chair watching the ocean with a cup of tea...

The restaurant has a stunning view and very professional staff. We each had a glass of wine left after dinner which they let us take up to our room with us. We had room service breakfast both days - not an extensive menu but I was happy with my homemade croissant, aged cheddar, salami and potato cake 2 mornings in a row.

I wouldn't really recommend this place for people with children...maybe it's just the winter season but I found the atmosphere a little hushed. I enoyed it but your 3-year0old probably won't.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank press3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £173 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing