We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We loved staying at the Wickaninnish Inn. The staff were very friendly, especially to our dog who was welcome throughout the hotel (that doesn't happen often in other hotels). The room was nice and had a gorgeous view. Our dinner at the Pointe restaurant was outstanding, even for me as a vegan.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVicky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    146
    54
    27
    14
See reviews for
179
794
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Just to give you an idea where we fit (not our status in life)- we are a late 50's couple from Vancouver BC and have travelled the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels so our expectations are fairly high - we are not "outdoor types" but prefer sitting by a fire and reading a good book - upon leaving Vancouver at approx 9:00 am and catching the 10:30 am ferry from Horsehoe Bay we arrived in Tofino at 5:00 pm with a couple of stops along the way - when we entered the hotel it certainly had a rustic feel to it and the view from the lobby was stunning on the water’s edge - it reminded us a lot of the big island Hawaii with the same black lava rock formations -the front end staff , as were all the staff during our stay were very cordial and professional and we were taken to our third floor room - the door opened and we were both struck with a déjà vu as the interior looked like a motel room where we stayed in Cranbrook BC when we were stranded by a cancelled flight - the room was dated and in dire need of refurbishment - some of the walls were spot painted where they were trying to cover up previous mishaps and the furniture reminded me of the set I had in late 60's as a student and couldn't afford much - there was a chair made out of old driftwood which again I guess is supposed to compliment the rustic feel of the place - to me it was an uncomfortable chair - the balcony overlooked the ocean’s edge and you could sit out and contemplate life if you so wished - we did enjoy the fireplace while reading and enjoying the scenery outside
We ate at the restaurant twice (breakfast and dinner) and both were exquisite - particularly the dinner which we both raved about (rib eye steak and pork medley) - you can expect to pay approx $200 with tip for dinner and $50 for breakfast for two
Overall our three day visit was very relaxing however overpriced when compared to other places we have stayed (Fairmont Kei Lani, Hilton Grand Wailea, Maui) - not someplace we would go again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Romantics2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Spent our 30th anniversary at this wonderful inn. We knew we were in for a treat just walking into the lobby to the magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean. The view from our luxurious room was just as great. We enjoyed one afternoon just watching storm waves crashing on the rocks below while sitting in front of our room's gas fireplace sipping hot chocolate. The inn sits on the edge of the Pacific Rim National Park and is within walking distance of a great beach. We were there to hike and explore the National Park. The experience of hiking the rainforest old growth areas was great. We enjoyed two dinners at the Inn's restaurant (Pointe). The meals were delicious local dishes which, although pricey, were well worth it considering the service, view and the sophistication of the meals themselves.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I have travelled and eaten all over the world, but the Wick is one of my all-time favorites.

The location is wonderful, the staff is young but very nice and 'enough' insofar as they take care of you but are not seen/heard very much. We ate almost every meal at the restaurant - all were great. We travelled with our 2 large (but mostly well behaved) dogs, and the Inn were really nice to them rather than just tolerating them. The spa services were also great.

There is plenty to do in Tofino, but having a car is advisable, particularly in the "off" season. The drive from Nanaimo is long, but quite beautiful. If you're going in the busy season (and without large dogs!) I'd advise checking out the flights from Vancouver to Tofino, unless you enjoy driving behind campers that don't appear to understand the purpose of pull-out lanes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiddleheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

My husband I decided to go away this Christmas, but did not want to fly. We found the perfect/magical place. I would recommend everyone to stay here. Especially if you love the ocean. It's beyond words. Plus dog friendly. I really mean dog friendly. They do not put you in a section like your at a kennel. The staff is incrediable and the spa is the best I have ever visited. I wish I could rate it higher. I can't wait to go back. It maybe a new tradition. It is spendy, but worth ever dime.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1SnickersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Came with my family for new years. We've stayed in the past and love the place, it's setting, location , ambience etc. Food was historically excellent. This time not so much. In spite of the fact that most of the folks healthy, and spry enough to make the journey to this far flung po ket of western Canada are youthful (physically and at heart) the menu was overly stilted with heavy dishes. There were only 2 salads on the menu (in room) and half of those had seafood. We just wanted some honest food we could sink our teeth into, but the items came with too much flourish. Order a simple bowl of seasonal fruit. The kitchen doused it with a honey/orange juice reduction of some kind. Hashbrowns with your eggs? Yes, but they come infused with other fruits and stuff that honestly detract from the overall food. The food was just trying too hard, had too many overlays, additions and creative complications. No e of this was more apparent than at dinner when, all the frills and flourish turned our quick meal into a two hour affair. With food coming out at a snails pace, we filled up on the bread. I mention food so much because this resort is isolated. You're a bit of a captive audience, in that if you're not eating here, you might not be eating. It wasn't always like this. I remember gleefully looking forward to off menu hamburgers so good you'd crave them 3 months later, dinners created with flair - but without overcomplication. The town has grown ip a bit and we did find a spectacular cheeseburger on the menu of a new local restaurant named "shelter". But for the amount we were paying here ( about $4,000 all in), we expect to be able to enjoy that burger, or uncomplicated fruitbowl from the comfort of our suite. Our NLT other complaint related to the hotel's availability of it's spa service. Aside from eating, walking the beach and getting romantic on your room, there is very little to do here other than go to the spa. When the hotel is full the hotel can not accommodate all the guests who wish to use the spa. The hotel tried valiantly to acommodate our spa request (and we compliment them fir it) but we didn't get to go very much, and that really took away from things for us. When I tried to fill the time at their fitness room, I was disappointed to find that their free weights stopped at 25 pounds... A proper workout requires at least 40lb dumbells. Let's just say I did a lot of reading instead. It was very cold or I would have had more beach walks. Hoping for some changes next time. I would have been back in a year but think I'll make it 2 to wait for some changes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

We have stayed at the Wick several times, this time we chose to stay at another great resort, but we decided to have Sunday brunch at the Pointe Restaurant. The food, as usual was terrific, but the service left much to be desired. A fundamental rule of serving is never to go off the floor with empty hands. We sat with dirty dishes on our table, we had to ask twice for coffee refills, and the main course too much too long to arrive! The scenery lulls one into a sense of acceptance, but even that couldn't compete with our wait time.

The atmosphere has changed, as if they have a whole new crew of staff that have not been trained. We think the price has outstripped the value.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baloovancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Ebookers so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing