We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tofino Ospray Lodge
Ranked #16 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had an awesome time. The atmosphere is classy and comfortable. Would go back definitely whenever in Tofino. The prices are great and service was fantastic. The view is awesome as well. A must place to go and see.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A lovely B&B located only a few minutes walk from the center of the village and waters edge.
Deb was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious and the accommodation very comfortable (the sheets were amazingly soft!) I loved Lou the dog!
I would definitely recommend staying here for anyone wanting to explore Tofino in a comfortable and friendly environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything we wanted in a fishing B&B, was nice and clean comfortable beds nice common room to relax after the day with a fridge,nice view of the mountains with a deck that we could enjoy. Hot breakfast and a lunch to take out on the boat, everything was a home run! Thanks Shawn and Debbie for rolling out the red carpet, we will be back! Mark

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark440742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assendelft, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful guesthouse, nice peaceful and quiet location with a beautiful view. Very nice hostesses, who try to give you anything you need. They, a nice older couple with a lot of experience who like to give there guests all they need for a nice holiday and a nice stay at Tofino. They give very much good information about Tofino. It's restaurants, things to see, things to do. But there hospitality goes further than being a tourist office. The welcome was perfect, just being at home. A warm welcome, like you could aspect from your family. The rooms, bathrooms and the livingroom where perfect. Nice decorated, clean, ecological, all you need. Even when you are traveling alone like I did. I met lots of people there from all over the world. We all had the same experience.
I heard and I have been reading on a other site, that people have been complaining about this B&B,I still cannot believe them. People who complain, should not visit this B&B. This B&B and it's owners should get a 10+. Alex from Assendelft the Netherlands sep 2013.

Room Tip: Perfect quiet location with a perfect view. 3 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've stayed at several B&Bs in Tofino and I must say this was the least pleasant experience of them all.

Pros: Good Location. Right in town. Walkable to all restaurants.
Cons:
Most B&B places typically would ask you what time you would like to have your breakfast at. We were simply told that breakfast would be served at 8am, which is early for a group of young working professionals wanting to sleep in on their holiday.
On the first morning, breakfast consisted of 2 small pancakes and 2 pieces of sausage the size of your index finger. These were the thickest and densest pancakes i've ever had. No fruits to go with it. Just butter and maple syrup. My friends joked that it felt like we were forced into a diet bootcamp. Our plates were taken away and were not asked if we wanted more coffee or anything. Coffee was nothing spectacular either and when my friends wanted more, they felt the hostess was a bit reluctant to do so. Friendliness and generosity was certainly lacking.
The two single-beds were hard and pillow was flat. tough to get a good sleep even after a day of surfing.

Me and my friend who stayed in the two single-bed room woke up with some bites on our feet and ankles. They are tiny bites, what looks to be in a line and i'm hoping they aren't what i think they are. If so, i better no have brought them back with me.

Overall, I would not stay here again. there was a 'For Sale' sign on the front yard. So maybe the owners just didn't really care about their reputation anymore since it's probably their last season running this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny9049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixFinaddict, Owner at Tofino Ospray Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
On the site that you booked your room on, it clearly states what is served for breakfast. Coffee and juice are both self serve which was explained to you when you came down for breakfast.
We do not serve breakfast buffet style, and as with any food service establishment we have portion control, to avoid waste. Most of the other properties in town, are more costly to stay at, and do not include breakfast at all.

If you want, "high end coffee," you should be booking in a high end resort, where you will be paying much more for your room to cover your coffee.

As far as the bites that you mention, we have had many people stay before and since you were here, including my family, with absolutely no problem. That is a very serious UNSUBSTANTIATED accusation to make, which you are probably making since you slept in and missed breakfast the last day of your stay.
Since you were here to surf, they would have been sand fleas bites from the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

In my opinion two main things make or break a bed and breakfast:
1. the bed
2. the breakfast

We rented a suite for myself and two daughters which has a two bedrooms and a private bath. My elderly mother rented another room which had a private bath in the common area (not ensuite as stated on booking.com). So we were spending lots of money to stay at the Ospray for two nights. So how did this B&B do against my criteria?
1. the bed: my bed was on older bunkbed style frame with the top bunk removed. It had a double size mattress on a steel frame with no box spring. It was a very hard and uncomfortable bed. I didnt sleep much the first night and had to take a sleeping pill the second night to compensate. Not at all what I would expect in a B&B. Pass/Fail rating on beds: Fail
2. the breakfast; Even though we were the only guests for breakfast we were told that breakfast would be served at 8:00 am sharp the next morning no exceptions. We were not asked when we might like it. No big deal but a little surprising. Breakfast day 1: was watermelon with yogurt on top, plain scrambled eggs, stale white toast and bacon. Coffee was supermarket variety, disappointing for coffee lovers. Day 2: Out of box pancakes and link sausage. no fruit. no eggs. So no home made blue berry pancakes or breads or fruit salad here, just the bare minimum to be able to call it a bed and breakfast. Pass/Fail rating on breakfast: Fail

I noticed when we pulled up that the place was for sale. Debbie told us a few times in a few different ways how her heart isnt in running the B&B anymore and it shows. Most people who run a B&B want to put on a nice breakfast and provide you with a great bed/sleep. I think most people going to Tofino are making a special trip at considerable expense and will expect that any B&B in this town will at minimum have a comfortable bed and a somewhat special breakfast.

Room Tip: Stairs are a long climb for elderly guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixFinaddict, Owner at Tofino Ospray Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
As to the statement that each room has an ensuite bathroom, that was an over site of the site that you booked on, and has since been corrected.
When you booked the other room, you never mentioned it was for your elderly mother who has a problem with stairs. If it had been, you would have been informed the rooms are all upstairs.

You were not our only guests, we had another guest who came to fish and had his breakfast with you one morning, and the other morning I made him an earlier breakfast at 6 am, and loved the breakfasts on all seven mornings of his stay.
It states right on the site you booked from what we serve for breakfast, and it doesn't even say fruit. And why would you complain about not getting fruit the second day if you didn't like it the first day? You were served eggs the first day so we don't serve the same thing two days in a row. We do NOT serve stale bread!
We serve our guests the same coffee we drink every day, and there are many specialty coffee shops here in Tofino who would love to serve you some for $5.00 and up for a cup.

The B & B is my business and has nothing to do with Debbie. It is for sale as I own several other businesses and am downsizing.

It sounds like you expect high end ammenities for a value priced accomodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

First time we have visited Tofino to fish. A great location close to town and for dining. Deb went out and got exactly what was requested for breakfast. Fishing was great and we achieved what we expected and obtained our limit on both days. our group of six decided on the last day that we will be coming back next year. we will be back.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixFinaddict, Owner at Tofino Ospray Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Ken, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we can't wait to see you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
3.4 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tofino Ospray Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Ospray Lodge

Property: Tofino Ospray Lodge
Address: 450 Neill St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect warm hospitality and modern clean rooms at our newly renovated 3 room lodge. Our convenient self check makes your arrival easy no matter what time it is! Our guests appreciate our convenient in-town location, within walking distance to all shopping and fabulous dining. Only a short 6 minute drive to Chesterman Beach. Posturpedic beds and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tofino Ospray Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tofino Ospray Lodge Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing