We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina West is a winner!”

Marina West Marine and Adventure Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Marina West Marine Adventure Centre offers a wide variety of marine excursions including Whale Watching, Bear Watching, Hot Springs Tours and fully guided Charter Fishing. Let our fully certified and very experienced guides take you on the trip of a lifetime!
Eagle, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
“Marina West is a winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I made my third trip to Marina West in August and as always it was great. The people there are so friendly and helpful. The motel is nice, the restaurant has the best view in Tofino and the boat moorage is excellent. I spent about 30 days there last summer, in 3 trips and everything was always first class. The manager Graeme is very helpful. The fishing for salmon and halibut is outstanding and there are lots of dungeness crabs to be caught. This is my 4th year going there and I am planning on even more time next year.

They have whale watching and other wildlife trips. They have sea kayaking and other activities. It is a must do in Tofino.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hot springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

we saw over 30 whales, lots of otter, had a fantastic guide, enjoyed his local knowledge and a wonderful time at the hot springs. really a glorious and well worth trip

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMolly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 1/2 hours pass like a blick of an eye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We booked the whale watching tour about a week befor coming to Tofino. Because we are staying at the Middle Beach Lodge they gave as a discount of 10%.
Jeff let us decide at the beginning if we want to go out on the sea and see the greywhales or if we wanted to go up the river because Orcas has been seen there.
After 2 seconds thinking we decided to go for the Orcas.
After about 15 minutes driving up the river we already could see a grown Orca with its child. It was absolut sensationell!
After following the Orcas about 15 minutes we changed our course and could see two black bears a few meters away from us. They didn't seem to care about us and let us be a part of their hunting.
Driving back to the sea we passed the Orcas again and were as close as you can get without irritaten the animals. The cameras were clicking like wild.

As grande finale we drove out on the sea and could observe at least four grey whales along the coast. Our guide Jeff gave us all the important information about the animals and drove the Zodiac boat with percision through the heavy waves.

My wife and I can recommend this whale tour to everybody coming to Tofino. We would do it anytime again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank samuelsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle id
1 review
“Marina West Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Once again, we had a great trip to Marina West. We kept our boat there for 10 days. The marina is very nice. It is clean, the staff is very helpful and it is in a beautiful location. They also do adventure tours, such as bear watching, whale watching and sea kayaking.

I highly recommend the marina.

Martin

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Terrific fishing excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just completed a father/son 2-day fishing trip with Graeme as our guide (2 dads, 2 sons -11 years old). He went out of his way to ensure that we all had a great time. He was very good with all of the boys' queries, so much so that we thought that he should have his own television fishing show for kids. With the dads, he was equally hospitable. He took us to great locations for not only fishing, but also for watching all kinds of different wildlife around this incredibly prestine area. We also caught a ton of fish! We weren't avid fishermen before this, but I'm sure that we'll make it an annual tradition with Marina West.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina West Marine and Adventure Centre also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Marina West Marine and Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing